We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in good location to explore the New Forest & Seaside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cadnam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Bartley Lodge is a pretty hotel set in beautiful grounds. During our stay we found if a good location for getting out and seeing the New Forest. Staff in general are courteous although at times we found lacked a bit of initiative (watching us lay a table outside without offering to help). Some though were very friendly, making an effort to share some local knowledge and ask how trips went. The weather at the moment is unseasonably warm making the bedrooms quite hot. The hotel did what it could to prepare for this rooms were aired and fans provided. The onsite pool definitely helped and the long opening hours were useful to ensure it didn't get overly busy. We booked on a buy one night get one free deal including breakfast and dinner. We found this good value for money and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UV1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (884)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

801 - 807 of 884 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just returned from a 4 day break at the Bartley lodge hotel, a really lovely hotel in great surroundings.
Our room was on the top floor (no 16) which was a bit of a trek being 8 months pregnant but a spacious room with everything we needed. We took our 3 year old daughter and she had a single bed in the same room. There was plenty of space to unpack your clothes.

The only down side was the room was really warm of a night and if you opened the windows you got the noise and cigarette smoke from the terrace below.
We were also disappointed with our evening meal on the Friday night, it was very average and the restaurant had no atmosphere. The breakfasts and lunch were great but i am glad we never did the dinner, bed and breakfast option as it was nice to eat outside of the hotel of an evening.

The hotel was about 5 minute car journey from Peppa Pig world and about 25 minute drive from Burley which is a lovely little village and we hired bikes from here. Would highly recommend going to this village.

Cadnam didn't have anything to do outside of the hotel and required you driving to get to a local shop (ASDA) if needed.

But a very enjoyable stay and would highly recommend you visiting.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nugenthorne_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed as part of the Peppa Pig World deal believing that the saving would be worthwhile. However it is not worth it for the poor quality of the hotel. The place is tired and dusty - not 'vintage cool', just tired.
Our room was the worst aspect, we arrived at 6pm and it was 29'c in our room (no 24). Ventilation was poor, we were right above the steamy swimming pool/sauna and old sash window only opened a tiny bit. No air con and only noise fans to help us. The family rooms are all in this section and even from the corridor you can feel the extra het. Hotel was full so no chance of moving rooms sadly. No extra fans available also. A few staff tried to help us but most were incompetent and got requests wrong, such as our request for a bath towel leading to someone bringing up 3 bath mats and 1 hand towel. We would have laughed but we were too tired having slept poorly in a room which didn't drop below 27'c all night! Our daughter in over 2 but any younger and there is surely a cot death concern sleeping in that temperature? Our son in the bottom bunk managed not much sleep either.
Food was generally average but nothing special.
Because we were on an agency deal the staff couldn't offer any compensation nor get hold of anyone who could. Today I received an offer against my next break with them - next break ... You must be joking!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank TheDoctorG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bartley Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Bartley Lodge Hotel. I am sorry you were disappointed by various aspects of your stay and that you were dissatisfied by our offer of a discount on a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Where to start. From the incompetent check-in to the apalling dinner & breakfast and chaotic check-out, the stay was laughable ... if it hadn't cost so much that is. We were served pasta in Hienz tomato soup; our room had the overpowering stench of cheap air freshner; and the poor staff had cleatly received no proper training in order to deliver a good service. A disappointment all-round.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank E16LY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bartley Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Bartley Lodge. I am sorry you were disappointed by various aspects of your stay. Please be rest assured that the sauce that you were served in the restaurant would have been fresh as we do not use any tinned products for our sauces. Your comments regarding the staff training is being addressed with our new general manager at the Bartley Lodge Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

For the rate that I paid for my stay at Bartley Lodge, I would consider it to be less than good value.
Everything about this hotel is of a mixed quality, some of the staff are very efficient and friendly, some are not. The food in the restaurant was of a very good quality at dinner, however, at breakfast it was average. It has to be said, that the view from the dining room is splendid.
The room that I stayed in was becoming rather tatty, the carpet was stained and not of a high quality, the bathroom was dated and not as clean as I would have liked.
My biggest grumble must be levelled at the room temperature, it should have been apparent to me on arrival, with four fans tucked away in the wardrobes, it wasn't going to be a comfortable night's sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alpha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bartley Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for your review following your stay at the Bartley Lodge Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your dinner and the view and apologise for your disappointment at breakfast. I will ensure the general manager investigates your comments regarding the room so these can be rectified where necessary. We have been fortunate to have a very hot spell, and have invested in more fans for the bedrooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Old coach house, very nice room with four poster bed, wood paneled lounges and dining room, excellent location for exploring the countryside. Food very good and a great choice on menu. Catered well for people in wheelchairs.

Room Tip: Four poster corner room very light and spacious, very quiet at back of hotel, views to open fields a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolidayGirl092010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My family and I went to Peppa pig world for the weekend and in our weekend package was a night stay here! On arrival we were very excited by the beautiful building (very posh as the kids said). The reception was great and walk to our room was lovely and entered a bright clean room! The shower was amazing and we all slept well. The breakfast was very good and staff friendly. A great stay just a shame we didn't know there was a swimming pool as we would have brought our swimsuits! Would stay again if in the area.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadnam
5.4 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
824 reviews
2.8 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
847 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
581 reviews
8.6 mi away
Moorhill House Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burley
714 reviews
8.0 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bartley Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bartley Lodge Hotel

Address: Lyndhurst Road, Cadnam, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO40 2NR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Cadnam
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cadnam
Price Range: $102 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bartley Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Bartley Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bartley Hotel Cadnam
Bartley Hotel Southampton
Bartley Lodge Hotel Cadnam, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing