We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cadnam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Got assigned a room on the new wing which is absolutely lovely. Friend got a room in the old wing which is not as great since everything is older. The decorations and furnishing in the old wing really feels like good old England and the new wing more lke a boutique hotel.

The meals were so very lovely. I had lamb for dinner for 2 nights in a row. They taste really really good. Breakfast is not to be miss either!

I will return in future again but will definitely make sure I get a room on the new wing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coalai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (884)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

830 - 836 of 884 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

A lovely old house set on the edge of the forest with fantastic but expensive food. Room was very small for a double but we went on a Red Letter day break and it didn't cost us anything so can't complain at all! Very cosy place with loads of soft seating areas and bar food as well as restaurant. Loads of families there but amazingly behaved kids of all ages-ours would never have done that when they were younger! Only complaint was a foul smelling air freshener that was in the bathroom when we arrived but not for long! It set off my asthma but was quickly removed and not replaced during our stay after we left a note. Would definitely go again despite freezing weather during our break, we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigerfan86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We booked this for our family - 2 adults + young child + grandmother - the website assured us that the room could sleep all with an extra bed (and the price was accordingly high). When we got there, the room was really tiny, they forgot about the extra bed, after 1/2 hour of calling and waiting, finally brought in a bed which broke when one normal size adult sat on it! there was also a wedding on and the noise from it was a real nuisnace that went on till midnight. We got there too late for the restaurant so we ordered room service that took an hour to arrive, after several reminders (my husband had to finally go down and make a fuss at the reception) - tired, unappetising sandwiches. Some of the staff were nice and understood our pain and tried to help, others could not care less. We booked 2 nights but checked out after 1... never again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RTJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bartley Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

I am sorry that you were disappointed by your recent visit and appreciate your time to write this review. We will investigate your comments further and implement staff training where required. Please be assured that we do try to allocate rooms away from the function rooms to non-wedding guests to try to prevent disturbances from the celebrations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed there the last weekend in March. The room was clean but the bed was a small double?? 2 bed spushed together. The staff were pleasent but they didnt seem to have enough on for the amount of people that were staying there. breakfast was Lush and you had a good choice. Not enough soft fruits/melons on offer. The dinners were fab. We had no complaints and there was a good choice. I wouldnt call it a swimming pool more of a splash pool.
But over all fab for the money and would stay there again :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweet1661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We attended a wedding reception here at the end of March. The wedding reception was fantastic, the venue was lovely, the building was amazing and the bride and groom looked made for each other.

Unfortunately, the room was rubbish! £128 'special rate' for a night's B&B. We booked a four poster bed and all of the room's furniture was cheap, ugly pine that MFI most likely sold off when they collapsed. The room was cold and needed two plug in radiators to service it. The bed was small and uncomfortable. The shower had virtually no power so left you feeling cold and deprived.

Breakfast the next day was chaotic. The full cooked breakfast was tasty but the staff were incapable of arranging tea and toast to arrive within 5 minutes of the cooked food. They needed prompting to realise we were waiting. Bizarrely, we were subsequently offered several other people's breakfasts, pots of teas and coffee as a result of poor communication between staff and a lack of table numbering - very basic issues that you wouldn't expect for the price and really quite embarrassing.

This could be a gem of a hotel with the right management and the right attention to detail.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TonyH_Bournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bartley Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay. I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable day at the wedding reception that you attended. We appreciate feedback from our guests and I will ensure your comments are investigated further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights in March this year and thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We thought it was excellent value, our room was very comfortable and dinners and breakfasts on both days good with plenty of choice. We enjoyed the lovely indoor pool and sauna on both afternoons - fairly quiet on both days but this was term time. Staff were friendly and helpful throughout. We intend to return later in the year for another short break.

Room Tip: Read up on their website ... Rooms are given one of four names (to do with job titles of people who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LibraWorthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely 2 night family break here on a two for one deal.

The service was great, particularly by Beth who checked us in, took our dinner order in the bar and opened up the pool the next morning(!).

The room was clean and yes things were a little dated but were comfy. We had an extra bed for our 2 year old and cot for the baby. The four poster was small but comfy.

Breakfast was fine, and we ate in the lovely bright orangery and the bar food was tasty. Our only problem was that orders weren't taken til 5.30 which is a bit late for very small children. And this is in the bar not restaurant.

The pool was lovely and warm even for a baby, although again the changing area felt a little tired.

Would def recommend a visit if you can get a good deal.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FECush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadnam
5.4 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
824 reviews
2.8 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
847 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
581 reviews
8.6 mi away
Moorhill House Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burley
714 reviews
8.0 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bartley Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bartley Lodge Hotel

Address: Lyndhurst Road, Cadnam, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO40 2NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Cadnam
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cadnam
Price Range: $102 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bartley Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Bartley Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bartley Hotel Cadnam
Bartley Hotel Southampton
Bartley Lodge Hotel Cadnam, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing