We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cadnam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely 2 night family break here on a two for one deal.

The service was great, particularly by Beth who checked us in, took our dinner order in the bar and opened up the pool the next morning(!).

The room was clean and yes things were a little dated but were comfy. We had an extra bed for our 2 year old and cot for the baby. The four poster was small but comfy.

Breakfast was fine, and we ate in the lovely bright orangery and the bar food was tasty. Our only problem was that orders weren't taken til 5.30 which is a bit late for very small children. And this is in the bar not restaurant.

The pool was lovely and warm even for a baby, although again the changing area felt a little tired.

Would def recommend a visit if you can get a good deal.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FECush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (867)
There are newer reviews for Bartley Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

819 - 825 of 867 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

A party of sixteen sat down to Sunday lunch. The food was well prepared, was ample in quantity and very tasty. The hotel was busy with staying guests, but the staff found time to be attentive to our lunch requirements.
Worth a revisit later this year

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramkei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

On arrival the hotel looks lovely. Reception, lounge and bar areas well presented and cosy. Our room was right at the top of the house- no 20 and was freezing on arrival! The heating was off and the windows open! Not great when its 0 deg outside!
The bed was tiny! Smallest double we've ever slept in and bathroom and room both very outdated. Shower was hot but no pressure!
Like others have mentioned the food was ok but very overpriced.
Servers at breakfast were young staff and we often had to ask a few times for things we'd ordered.
Staff were really friendly and the lodge is in a lovely location. We were expecting a nicer room from the hotel photos online thats our biggest grumble!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason-brown-stuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bartley Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you overall had a good stay and that you found the staff friendly. We do have various categories of rooms available in the hotel which allows our guests to upgrade if preferred.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife booked a Red Letter break for the weekend in the New Forest. Converted Manor House with newish extension. Room was a bit small, bed a bit old and WiFi a bit slow. Rubbish bins needed emptying and some light bulbs were missing, so housekeeping needs improving. Apart from that, comfortable, relaxing, creaking floors, warm swimming pool, pricey but good restaurant, good service, pleasant stay. With a bit more work could be excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room away from the swimming pool aircon.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bartley Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for your comments following your recent visit. We appreciate guest feedback as it helps us monitor our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I was best man at a wedding recently that was held entirely at the hotel, the hotel is a great mix of old world charm and modern hospitality. The day was impeccably handled by the staff, the food was excellent at the reception and the setting beautiful.

We paid a little extra for one of the rooms with a four poster bed, the room was nicely presented (although not massive) you do need to have an engineering masters to work the multi-head shower! :)

Would definitely consider taking the family for a couple of nights to explore the local area.

My one minor negative would be the cooked breakfast could do with being a little larger as standard and not charge a couple of pounds more if you want a decent size one.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StooH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Using a Red Letter voucher we stayed for 2 days. Very welcoming, warm, friendly hotel. Swimming pool and sauna are clean and warm. Breakfast is average and dinner quite pricey so we ate out. Rooms are well decorated and comfortable. A good place to stay and explore.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerryP39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I had booked a 2 night getaway courtesty of 'Red Letter Days' as they had a special half price offer on, this would be a christmas present to my boyfriend. He had the choice of the Bartley Lodge or 2 others in the local area, we had a look on the website at each one and Bartley Lodge seemed the best and we weren't disappointed.

The hotel itself is beautiful, set in lovely grounds and situated along a drive away from the main road. Reception staff on check in and out were very helpful and friendly which is always a bonus. Infact every member of staff we came across were lovely.

Stayed in room 2 which is situated on the first floor and faces the front of the hotel. Only complaint being that it was quite noisey early in the morning with deliveries arriving etc. Other than that no problems with the room at all.

Although we didn't have dinner in the hotel, breakfast both mornings was lovely with a wide variety of choices. The swimming pool and sauna were both great although on the small size, but we were lucky enough to have this to ourselves so not a problem.

All in all a lovely stay away, well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Maybe rooms at the rear of the hotel would be a little quieter.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadnam
2.8 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
839 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
812 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
572 reviews
8.6 mi away
Moorhill House Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burley
702 reviews
8.0 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bartley Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bartley Lodge Hotel

Address: Lyndhurst Road, Cadnam, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO40 2NR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Cadnam
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cadnam
Price Range: $101 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bartley Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Travelocity, HRS, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Bartley Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bartley Hotel Cadnam
Bartley Hotel Southampton
Bartley Lodge Hotel Cadnam, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing