We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit,total of six diners.”

The White Hart - Cadnam
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Cadnam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: International, British, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Second visit,total of six diners.”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Food very good, with the exception of the bramble sweet which was solid on one corner. We pointed this out to the staff, & the reply from the Chef was " I used the blow torch too long on that side" There was no offer of any type of refund or compensation. The service was very slow, goodness knows how they cope when it is busy. I think that complaints should be managed more suitably, as our experience could put others off. However, the overall experience was good, but a bit pricy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    140
    58
    29
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great English country pub with superb menu”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Fantastic pub, newly refurbished and handy off the M27 in the New Forest. Child-friendly with a fantastic garden. Really good menu, all our food was pretty great. Only two disappointments: rubbish chips, and slow service. It was lunchtime on New Year's Eve, so possibly not indicative of normal service but that's why I'm rating it as only 4 out of 5 on this occasion. Otherwise excellent and we'll certainly be returning. Cheers and a happy new year!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelyogini89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Revamp is ambitious and only partially successful, but nice pub”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

6 of us went there on Sunday night. The vegetarian sharing platters were easily the best bit, with superbly executed red pepper panna cotta and houmous and aubergine rolls. Mains were slightly disappointing despite the enticing descriptions, with a vegetarian deconstructed samosa nothing special, and a Jerusalem artichoke, chestnut and spinach pie stodgy and uninteresting. Meat was OK pub grub, good chips, but for a place trying to be a bit more upmarket - not fantastic. That said, the bill wasn't especially big, and the beer was good, the service friendly and the ambiance very pleasant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south coast
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere!”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We have eaten here many times but this was our first visit since the refurbishment. What a transformation! Love the new layout! We hadn't booked so were lucky to get a small table in the bar. We chose from the light menu which was tasty and plentiful in quantity. With drinks about £60 for four with coffees.
We'll be back in the New Year!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigglesbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Enjoyed this venue before its refurb but now it is even better. Great choice of food, great service friendly atnosphere.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JPF1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Hart - Cadnam also viewed

Cadnam, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to The White Hart - Cadnam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing