We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary”
Review of Tylney Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tylney Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rotherwick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We returned to Tylney for our anniversary and found it better than ever. Lovely setting, beautiful room in the main house, friendly and efficient staff and good food. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the attention to detail was impressive.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, General Manager at Tylney Hall, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thank you for your recent review and so glad to read that you found your "Anniversay Stay" to be better than ever. Your comments regarding our staff, the attention to detail and quality of food and service are very much appreciated.
Thank you and we hope that you find time to return before your next Anniversary.

Kind regards

Mark Robinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,426)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

867 - 873 of 1,426 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

My partner booked us in to Tylney Hall as a surprise and I wasn't disappointed. The service was first class and everything I'd expect from a four star hotel. Our bags were taken promptly to a very clean and comfortable room with a lovely bed. The shower was a treat! We ate in the Oak room in the evening and the food was lovely. I really enjoyed my stay and would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Sonia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, General Manager at Tylney Hall, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thank you for taking time to comment about your recent surprise stay and I am very glad to learn that you enjoyed your visit.
It is particularly pleasing to know that so many aspects of your experiencie were enjoyable and I hope that you choose to visit us agin during the course of 2014.
Thank you also for saying that you would be able to recommend, this is very much appreciated.

Kind regards

Mark Robinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Went with friends for Sunday lunch, location and setting wonderful.

Quaint insde with an abundance of helpful, friendly and attentive staff.

Food very good and traditional roast served at your table.

It was amazing how many people, the day we were there, were celebrating birthdays, so very good for a special occassion.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, General Manager at Tylney Hall, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

I have read your recent review and am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch so much.
Thank you for your very kind comments concerning the food, and of course our team members. So glad that you found the staff to be both friendly and attentive.
We hope that you return in the not too distant future

Kind regards

Mark Robinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Met with a group of female friends for afternoon tea to celebrate a friend's birthday. Service is fabulous..doorman, cloakroom service, waiters. Indulgent from beginning to end. Great choice of different teas, delicate fresh sandwiches great scones with generous amounts of jam and cream and lovely cakes. The atmosphere is lovely top class service in a relaxed environment.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, General Manager at Tylney Hall, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Your review of your afternoon tea experience is very well received, and I am delighted to learn that the birthday celebration was a success.
It is always pleasing to receive positive comments and these will be passed on our team members.
Thank you for taking the time to comment and once again so pleased to read that the visit was enjoyed by all.

Kind Regards

Mark Robinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Went there for new years day with a small intimate family group (4 adults, 3 children). The building, the location, the grounds and the service were amazing. Would have rivaled a London 5 start hotel. It was everything you would want for a special meal. The food was good, but uninspiring. Nothing particular to complain about, but nothing to rave about. I would go back again. Fantastic wine list which was well priced.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kiasusee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, General Manager at Tylney Hall, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you for taking time to visit TripAdvisor and I am delighted to read that you very much enjoyed your visit on New Year's Day.
Your comment about the food has been constructive and I apologise if you found this to be a little uninspiring, but glad that you feel that there is nothing to complain about.
Thank you for your positive feedback concerning the staff and service, this is very much appreciated.
We hope that you choose to visit the Hotel during the course of 2014.

Kind Regards

Mark Robinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Some friends had made the reservations and there was a mix-up and we were moved to a different from from the first we checked into. No problem there. It was in the main house. The problem, though, were almost comical: the room had been serviced for one person, not for a couple. There was one of everything: one towel, one bottle of water, etc. No big deal but it took a very long time for more towels to be provided. The big surprise was that the bed consisted on a queen-sized mattress on a full-sized box spring. Really!! Someone could hurt themselves by sliding right onto the floor pretty easily. While the meals were very good and the public rooms and gardens lovely, our room was very tired.

Room Tip: From our experience, don't stay in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanFranciscoLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, General Manager at Tylney Hall, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you for your feedback and I would like to offer my apologies for the disappointments you experienced with your recent stay.
The room being prepared for single occupancy is an oversight as the amenities are always doubled up when rooms are let for more than one person. I am sorry that this was not corrected straightaway.
I am also sorry that the mattress did not fit the bed base as you have described. This will be followed through with our Head Housekeeper and corrected accordingly.
Thank you for taking the time to visit TripAdvisor and for passing on your comments.
Once again, please accept my apologies.

Kind regards
Mark Robinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed overnight and the refurbished room was excellent. The evening commenced with Champagne and canapes, which were as good as I have ever eaten, in the lounge area while being entertained by a great but non intrusive jazz trio. Dinner in the Oak room was exceptionally good with appropriate wines generously served with each course and a pianist playing in the background. Afterwards we danced till 01.00hrs to a great band which played both "standards" and more modern current music. More champagne was served for the toast and a Piper completed the ceremony. The Breakfast buffet was extensive and personal orders were taken in addition. Throughout service was of a high standard. We did not use the spa but the indoor pool it looked very attractive on inspection. Of course the outdoor one was not in use!!

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcsmith001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, General Manager at Tylney Hall, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you for your review following your stay with us for the Celebration New Year's Eve programme. Although the arrangements have been tried and tested over the years, it is always motivating to receive such positive feedback from the guest experience.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the occasion and hope that you choose to return to the hotel at some stage during 2014.
Thank you for visiting TripAdvisor and for taking time to review.

Kind regards and best wishes for New Year

Mark Robinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotherwick
4.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
9.9 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
1,200 reviews
1.2 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,126 reviews
9.9 mi away
Aviator Hotel Hampshire
Aviator Hotel Hampshire
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
2,030 reviews
21.1 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tylney Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tylney Hall

Address: Tylney Hall, Rotherwick, Hook RG27 9AZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hook > Rotherwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rotherwick
Price Range: $208 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tylney Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tylney Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tylney Hall Rotherwick, Hook, Hampshire
Tylney Hall Hotel Rotherwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing