We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a special hideaway...”
Review of Tylney Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tylney Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rotherwick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I have stayed at Tylney Hall twice now and I love it! Once you drive up and see the stunning main house you cannot wait to get inside. The consierge are fantastic along with the Reception staff. The rooms are beautiful, huge bath and shower room filled with yummy molton brown goodies, gorgeous bed which I could stay in all day! The grounds are beautiful and a walk around the lake is a must. The food is great too!!
I cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: Any room is a good one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetheegyptsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, General Manager at Tylney Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you very much for visiting TripAdvisor and for sharing your recent experience. Very pleased to learn that you found Concierge and Reception staff fantastic and that you also enjoyed the Molton Brown toiletries plus the food standards and grounds.
Thank you for taking time to pass on your comments

Kind regards

Mark Robinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,538)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,017 - 1,023 of 1,538 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

My partner & I recently visited this beautiful hotel . We weren't staying , just popped in for coffee and thoroughly enjoyed our experience. Huge thanks to the waiter Neil for being so friendly. It us a truly stunning mansion and well worth a visit . As it was such a lovely day , we spent the rest of the afternoon exploring the stunning grounds and gardens. We will definately be back.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, General Manager at Tylney Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Delighted to read that you "just popped in for coffee and thoroughly enjoyed the experience" and for also mentioning how friendly you found Neil.
We do hope that you will choose to return in the future and thank you for taking time to feed back on TripAdvisor

Kind regards

Mark Robinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Although I have eaten at this hotel before for business dinners, this was the first time I have stayed here.

Stayed one night with my wife and 3 other couples to celebrate 60yrs of friendship with guys who were in the same form as me at school. The service from our moment of arrival was superb. Our room (we had been given an upgrade as part of a special Sunday package) was spacious with a welcoming bowl of fruit and some chocolates.

I know some people have said the hotel is 'tired', but I found it extremely clean and 'full of character' with the room decor showing a high degree of attention to detail. We enjoyed a swim in the indoor pool and sampled the (cosy) sauna.

We had a large table for our celebration dinner in the evening and found the table d'hote menu easily met with everyone's approval. The food was very good and well presented with little extras thrown in between courses. A gentle stroll around the extensive gardens and grounds was also enjoyed the next morning.

Only small gripe was that the bed had a very heavy duvet making it feel quite hot in the room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, General Manager at Tylney Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Your feedback has been very well received and I am so pleasd to read that your school reunion was successful and that you all enjoyed the hospitality, services and facilities throughout the hotel.
Thank you for taking time to visit TripAdvisor and feed back so positively, your comments will be shared with our team members.
Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back for your next landmark reunion.

Kind regards

Mark Robinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband booked us into this hotel for a weekend whilst we visited Highclere. What a fantastic place....it has all the charm you would expect from a country mansion, character oozing from every corner. Although we were in the cottages in the grounds of the hotel we were delighted as it took us around parts of the hotel we probably wouldn't have seen. There is a full sized pool, and the gardens are manicured to perfection...as well as ducks waddling around, the hotel has its own greenhouses.
We loved it here. The rooms were spotless and up to date with all mod cons. Good wifi signal and it was free.
The breakfast was really very good with all you would expect from a 4star hotel. Good service too. Staff were helpful and friendly.
This is an expensive place to stay. A two night stay cost around £650 ... Inclusive of an evening meal ...
But as this is a 4star establishment .... And worth every penny ... Book this place and enjoy. Ps good access to all the Hampshire attractions too.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5BellaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, General Manager at Tylney Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for visiting TripAdvisor and for your very kind comments regarding the hotel's facilities.
Particularly pleased to read how much you enjoyed the country mansion character and of course how helpful and friendly you found our staff.
Also pleased to read that you thought the gardens were manicured to perfection and that the ducks waddling around added to the character.
We hope that you choose to visit again at some stage in the future and thank you for taking the time to feed back.

Kind regards

Mark Robinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed here for one night while on business while in Hook. A lovely surprise in the English countryside. It's a bit out of the way, but the GPS found it easily enough. Very charming old manor with many unique features. Definitely more character than the typical chain hotels. The library was a nice spot for a meeting, and some tea. Great selection of English cheeses. Also tried it again at night for a pint - nice and quiet. The gym is a bit small but serviceable. Wonderful gardens with a number of paths that you can use for a 1 or 2 km run. Staff were all very friendly, but a wee bit slow at times. Full English breakfast in the morning was great. Overall a very nice visit

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJFfromNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, General Manager at Tylney Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Your review has been gratefully received and I am delighted that you not only did you manage to find the hotel easily through GPS but that you also found the hotel to be a lovely surprise .
It is always motivating to receive positive feedback about our product and services but even more so when there is particular mention that staff were all very friendly.
Very glad that you enjoyed your beer, local cheese selection and English breakfast.
Thank you for taking time to feed back, and good luck with the running.

Kind regards

Mark Robinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

The imposing country mansion offers so much, but fails to deliver. The interior is showing entirely too many signs of wear and in need of a revamp. The rooms would be acceptable for an inexpensive hotel, but certainly not acceptable in a hotel of this price. The furniture and bathrooms are rather tired and, in some instances, plain shabby. The staff are friendly, but service is rather hit or miss. Not worth the money I'm afraid.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, General Manager at Tylney Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for your feedback that we were obviously disappointed to receive and I am sorry that
you did not find your total experience completely satisfying.
I have noted that you found the service to be "rather miss or hit"; this comment has been taken constructively and will be shared with management and team members with the aim of achieving a greater level of consistency.
I am, however, glad that you found staff members to be friendly.
I have also noted your comment "that in some areas you thougth the furniture and bathrooms were looking rather tired". For your information there is an ongoing programme of refurbishment that includes all public areas of the hotel and also bedrooms, again I am sorry that your room did not meet your expectations.
Once again, thank you for your overall comments and for taking the time to feed back.

Kind regards

Mark Robinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a Eden garden. Everything is almost perfect. The place is old typical English manor. Enjoy the huge park outside in the summer of the fireplace with a nice drink in winter.

This is one of my favorite hotel and will come back eyes closed every time

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank luk78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, General Manager at Tylney Hall, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback, and I am delighted that you have described the Hotel as a "Garden of Eden" with "everything almost perfect".
We hope that you choose to visit again in the near future, and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Mark Robinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotherwick
4.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
9.9 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
1,242 reviews
5.4 mi away
Audleys Wood Hotel
Audleys Wood Hotel
#3 of 13 in Basingstoke
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
22.1 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,158 reviews
20.9 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 3 in Egham
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tylney Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tylney Hall

Address: Tylney Hall, Rotherwick, Hook RG27 9AZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hook > Rotherwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rotherwick
Price Range: $220 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tylney Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tylney Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tylney Hall Rotherwick, Hook, Hampshire
Tylney Hall Hotel Rotherwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing