We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The very definition of average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Vere Beaumont Estate
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Old Windsor
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Everything can be described as 'okay' without anything standing out or any major catastrophes.

The food is produced in mass quantities and is okay. The staff are okay. The rooms are okay (with 5 core channels and small double beds). The settings is okay.

I'm struggling to find anything worth recommending at this hotel but struggling to find a reason to say you should completely avoid it, apart from perhaps if you sleep with the window open then the jumbo jet that sounds like it is going to land in your room at 5.30AM is disconcerting. Personally I wouldn't stay again unless someone else was paying. And I wouldn't have the window open.

Room Tip: Try to get one in the same postcode - most rooms are miles from the main restaurant etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dan_w77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,005)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,437 - 2,443 of 4,005 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed here prior to visiting Thorpe Park and managed to get a deal, so we chose here due to circumstances, and I feel the reviews are a touch harsh, or they have upped their game recently. We arrived late on after a day in London and check-in was fast, welcoming and without problem. However, they really are not child friendly when it comes to the food - no kids menu and the 'bar snacks' were quite expensive. £16 for a simple burger and chips.... more really than you would want to pay for bar snack for a family of four, especially as a pint was nearly £6 - so you would easily have paid £100 for a family of 4 for food and drinks. Be warned!!

We got a takeaway brought in and we all ate well for £25 inc drinks.... there were lots of other families taking deliveries when i received ours, so it seems the choice for most. There are a couple of food places close by, so don't put it off staying here, there's always other options.

We slept soundly, rooms were clean, large enough, plenty of towels, etc. No complaints what-so-ever!

Breakfast was really good, loads of variety from cereals, cooked food, breads and cheeses, fruit, yoghurts - pretty much all you could want. They were busy, so service was slow, but the food was replaced quickly. The staff were working hard to get everyone fed.

So, worth us stopping due to our deal, but they need to work out how to make families feel more welcome in an evening for dinner.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Do you like very soft beds, thin pillows and food prepared in mass quantities? If so then Beaumont Estate is the place for you. Aside from that, the property itself is very nice, peaceful and surrounded by walking paths and greenery. The rooms are a bit boxy and small but the housekeeping staff do a good job making sure everything is neat and tidy. Bathroom is fine, but the water pressure in the shower was low.

Public transportation to town (Old Windsor city center) is available only by private taxi and costs anywhere from 8 to 13 GBP one way (steep!) for what is only a 10-12 minute drive. This is also where you go to get the train (90 minute journey) to London's Paddington Station (around 10 GBP off-peak) or train to London Waterloo.

The estate has a really good fitness center and indoor pool so you should have no problem maintaining your workouts. There is one "pub" outside, around 10 minute walk from Beaumont but don't expect a traditional pub-like atmosphere there, just a quick bite and change of location. The Beaumont bar is fine enough but not cheap so be prepared to spend some cash on your pints of Guinness.

One thing to note: the bedrooms are considerably far from reception, fitness, restaurant so make sure when you first arrive you figure out the "shortcuts" by going outside and cutting across areas. This will save you up to 10 minutes. Otherwise, it's a long, long winding maze of corridors, during the day are filled with heaps of dirty linens and towels.

One big advantage: the hotel is only 30 minutes from Heathrow.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPNY206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Good facilities and lovely gardens and near windsor
Gym and pool good and included in price.
Gardens lovely to drink in but bar inside lacked atmosphere and was full of children and families eating, very busy. Another bar would be lovely overlooking the fantastic grounds.
Grounds with play area for those with children excellent, had our grandchild, also lovely for us as a couple to walk in.

Room Tip: We were upgraded only problem window up high so no view! Bed comfy and bathroom facilities excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank triper2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

OMG, I had to drive( 1/2 mile) from reception to "my block" and back 3 times before the door to my block was opened. On the way I passed staff diving behind hedges to smoke and a lovely skip loaded with mattresses.
If you want the "slightly dodgy council estate/pre 2012 Butlins experience " hotel stay then it may be perfect for you
Try phoning room service and see what appears if at all.
The staff on duty during the evenings BBQ were great as was the food. The Chapel is a great location for a event with commanding stained glass and architecture.

Room Tip: one that is less than 1/2 mile drive from reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonLuke70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaumontHotel, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Beaumont Estate, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of our hotel following a recent stay with us.

I was delighted you had a great time at the Bar-B-Que and that the food was great too.

Thank you for your kind comments about our Wonderful Chapel, it is, as you mentioned very commanding with its stained glass.

I apologise for the problems you experienced with the door, but was pleased that it was all sorted out for you and I apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback with us.

Kind Regards

Tracey Campbell- Guest Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed for one night with our two grand children as we had a two day pass for LEGOLAND. We had booked connecting rooms. It was school half term so we knew it would be busy.
We arrived around 6pm after the first day at LEGOLAND and were allocated rooms 73 and 74. Poor rooms on the side with no views and close to high bushes making the rooms dark. The toilet did not flush in the twin room and no water pressure in the bath for hot water. It is a long way from reception, several minutes walk, and very irritating that during the whole stay they never answered the call from our rooms. I therefore went to reception and reported the fault. Two hours later no one had arrived to repair so again back to reception. I insisted on changing rooms and I am pleased to say we were given far better rooms on the 2nd floor and nearer to reception and the main building. The toilet door would not shut though in our room as someone had fitted a wooden seal on the floor blocking it !!
The rooms do not match the overall standard of the hotel and management need better quality control and supervision.
Breakfast was really excellent and very well laid out for families, both quality and quantity plus choice.
We were tired so sleep quality was good for us in average beds.
After breakfast though we could not get back into the rooms as the electronic keys would not work. Two housekeepers tried but failed with their keys. Maintenance arrived after 10 minutes and then after another 10 minutes they got the door open and said the lock was faulty and we could not close the door again. This did not worry us as we were leaving anyway.
The hotel covers a huge area so we would suggest paying particular attention to get the right rooms if staying for any length of time.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 73 and 74; too far away and no views, poor quality TV and low water pressure. We changed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaumontHotel, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Beaumont Estate, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel following a recent say with us whilst visiting Legoland.

I was delighted that despite some initial problems with you room that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you all had fun at Legoland.

I was pleased you enjoyed breakfast and that you thought not only the quantity but also the quality was excellent.

I hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back to Beaumont Estate in the near future.

Kind Regards

Tracey Campbell- Guest Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I recently stayed at the Beaumont Estate Hotel with my two daughters and grandaughter . We were visiting the Royal Windsor Horse Show and were booked in for 2 nights. The hotel is very well appointed and convenient for both the RWHS and Legoland. We were made to feel very welcome and our rooms were very clean and tidy, tea and coffee facilities included. The restaurant was buffet style or a la carte in the evening and for breakfast there was everything one would expect . OK it was very busy and some unforgiving people thought the hotel was just for them and would have complained about anything, if the buffet is busy at peak times then obviously some of the choices ran out but were quickly replenished. The grounds are stunning and gateway for an early evening cocktail! I have 2 points to raise to the hotel though, small but enough to warrant a comment ----- the twin beds are way too small......2ft 6ins in this day and age? I was aware that it would be very easy to fall out of bed and I' m only a size 12 so goodness knows how a larger person would cope!! Secondly the positioning of the TV on the wall at the bottom of the beds......too low!!! Kept banging in to it!!! Other than that .... Good choice for the money.

Room Tip: Get a room not too far away from reception if possible as the trek can be tiresome and confusing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noddy900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaumontHotel, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Beaumont Estate, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel following a recent stay with us,

I was pleased that you found your recent stay with us to be great value for money and that you found your room to be very clean and tidy. We pride ourselves on our high standards of cleanliness and attention to detail.

I apologise that you found our single beds to be smaller than you anticipated and I hope this did not cause you any inconvenience.

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, I can assure you that we always use our guests feedback to help us improve our product andour service.

Kind Regards

Tracey Campbell- Guest Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Windsor
2.8 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.6 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
2.7 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,439 reviews
2.7 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Beaumont Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Beaumont Estate

Address: Beaumont Burfield Road, Old Windsor, Windsor SL4 2JJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor > Old Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Old Windsor
Price Range: $116 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Beaumont Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In picturesque Windsor, lies the historic and unique Beaumont Estate: an inspirational estate offering a luxurious family hotel, a stunning wedding location, along with being a leading conference venue, all set in spectacular and extensive grounds with 414 bedrooms. Our leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool and gym, along with squash and tennis courts open to all of our guests aged 2-12. During the holidays, The Beaumont Bears Club offers a wide range of facilities ideal for helping to keep the kids entertained; a movie room, indoor activity room, outdoor adventure play area, and much more. The Restaurant offers an extensive buffet or A La Carte Menu and we also have the Tempus Bar & Grill which is open daily from 12pm offering a more casual dining experience. Located just 3 miles from Windsor Castle with Wentworth, Legoland, Thorpe Park and Ascot all under 15 minutes away. The M25, M4 and M3 motorways are within easy reach, London can be accessed by train within 20 minutes with the nearest train station is 5 minutes away. Heathrow Airport is only 15 minutes away by car, Gatwick Airport can also reached within 40 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your De Vere Beaumont Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaumont House Hotel Old Windsor
Beaumont Hotel Old Windsor
Beaumont House Windsor
De Vere Beaumont Estate Old Windsor, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing