We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel convenient for local attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De Vere Beaumont Estate
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Old Windsor
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Having previously stayed here on a work conference we used this hotel as a base for 2 nights after going to Ascot Races and then a full day at LEGOLAND.
We (family of 3 with 5 year old daughter) booked a family room directly with the hotel chain and obtained a better rate than via Third Party booking agents.
The hotel is quite spread out so be prepared to have to walk a fair distance from the reception to your room but the car parks are also spread out across the site so you shouldn't have too far to carry your bags but it is quite easy to get lost in the various corridors!
I hadn't experienced it when I previously stayed but the hotel is under the direct flight path into Heathrow so the aircraft noise can be quite noisy so you will need to keep windows closed when sleeping.
We stayed B&B but other than that did not eat at the premises so can only comment on breakfast. This is served on in a buffet environment so you can have as much or as little as you like to fuel you for the day.
Rooms are a decent size clean and well maintained.
The hotel is located in Old Windsor so a short walk to the Thames but you will need to drive or get a taxi if you wanted to visit the main town centre which includes the Castle. If eating out and looking for value there is a Harvester close by on the main road.
Overall a nice stay in a family friendly location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gladallover69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaumontHotel, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Beaumont Estate, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a reviewon Beaumont Estate, I was delighted your recent stay with us and that we met all your expectations. I was pleased to see you managed to explore the local area and enjoyed all the facilities we had to offer.
I hope you get the opportunity to return to us in the near future.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write a review.

Kind Regards
Kim Norris-Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,925)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,674 - 2,680 of 3,925 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

As a family we were really excited to be staying in a four star hotel. You'd expect certain luxuries and attention to detail. On approaching the Beaumont our hearts sank as we realised that the old building shown in most of the pictures on their website is not what the hotel is about. The majority of the hotel is made up of vast blocks of rooms like a motel. From the reception we needed to drive to our room as it was so far away. We had interconnecting rooms of a twin and double. These were clean and functional but nothing special at all. On the website it mentions air conditioning, there was none in either of our rooms. It was a hot night and as we were on the ground floor we could not have our patio doors open for personal security. We needed to ask a chamber maid for extra pillows as there were only one each on the beds, this she did happily, but surely this shouldn't be necessary? When it came to breakfast the next day we walked along the maze and miles of corridors to the restaurant. After queuing up for a table we were taken in and seated. It was like a school canteen, only tea and coffee were served at your table, everything else you had to help yourself to out of large steel containers. I fully understand the concept of a buffet breakfast but this seemed to be done on an industrial scale. It reminded me of the Butlins scenes of the 1960's with hundreds of people all sitting down together to breakfast. Not really the four star experience we were hoping for!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaumontHotel, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Beaumont Estate, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I apologise your recent stay with us didnt meet your expectations. Depending on the rate you paid at time of booking would determine where your room was situated in the hotel, without your room allocation unfortunately i am unable to comment on your specific room.
I was disappointed our buffet breakfast wasnt to your taste and that it was busy on the days you were here with us.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write a review.

Kind Regards
Kim Norris-Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I was worried about what to expect after reading the reviews but overall I was very pleased with our stay. The reception staff were very helpful when we arrived and as our room wasn't ready we went out into the extremely large garden to have a picnic we had taken and the kids played on a really good playground. Our room was very spacious and clean with a modern bathroom. We had plenty of room and enough for an extra blow up single bed, as agreed with the hotel we could take as we have 3 children under 5. We went for breakfast both mornings before 8am so not to queue and was pleasantly surprised at the amount of food on the buffet. We also ate at the hotel both evenings. The food was good perhaps just slightly expensive as was the alcohol. This was probably the only downside to the hotel. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Booked this hotel prior to a LEGOLAND visit. Lovely location just a couple of minutes from the river and scenic countryside. Upon arrival the place has a bit of wow factor with a long drive, lovely grounds and attractive buildings.

Stayed in the Old school part of the hotel - The rooms were decent sized, nice bathrooms, generally quite acceptable though the window a little high up with not much of a view or natural light.

We were not really here long enough to explore fully as we left early in the morning for LEGOLAND but there's a small outdoor playground and swimming pool which were both accessed and enjoyed. The staff always seemed friendly, with a smile. Checking in and out was simple and hassle free.

Overall, would certainly stay here again but not necessarily to visit LEGOLAND, as there's enough to explore and entertain little ones in this place itself.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaumontHotel, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Beaumont Estate, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review on Beaumont Estate. I was pleased your found all of our staff friendly and that your whole check in/check out experience was simple and hassle free. I am delighted you managed to enjoy our facilities, grounds and surrounding areas.
I will look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write a review.

Kind Regards
Kim Norris-Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights with family. The room was very stuffy with no air conditioning. No mini fridge. The breakfast was very good and included in the price. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. Found the hotel to be too large, the walk to the room was far too long. By the second night had managed to navigate the way to the room but passed many 'lost ' looking guests on route. The swimming pool was overcrowded and deep, there was no life guard on duty. The outdoor play area for the children was good. Would not book the hotel again.
Although the staff were doing their best it does not alter the layout of the hotel which would be better managed if it was split in to two separate hotels ,without long 'hospital like corridors ' linking a grand old hotel to a newer but in need of updating 'add on block' .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaumontHotel, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Beaumont Estate, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I was disappointed to read you were disappointed with your recent stay with us. Our hotel is very large and our rooms are situated all over the Estate to enable guests to experience our fabulous views. I can only apologise you didnt find it suitable for your needs, I am delighted that you found all our staff helpful and friendly.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write a review.

Kind Regards
Kim Norris-Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel purely for the cost factor. We wanted somewhere in windsor to stay as we've never been to this area before + a great base for the surrounding area i.e Lego land, Eton Thorpe park +50 mins by train into waterloo. The hotel is vast. We parked our car in car park 1 and our rooms where in car park '' f ''. When we check into the reception the receptionist said to park up their but i said we would be fine where the car was and left the car there. Can i just say that was a mistake. It took us 15 mins to walk from the reception to the room. I soon moved the car up to car park " f ". The rooms where clean and tidy and well serviced by housekeeping. The hotel was very busy on saturday/sunday as i presume with lego land just being down the road, it was full of families with small children. Personally that didn't bother us, but with adults wanting a quiet break away, this hotel is maybe is not for you. We would personally not hesitate to book this hotel again . This hotel doesn't offer room service but give menu's for local takeaways which can be delivered to the reception. The hotel is an old boys boarding school with a lot of history which is still there today. A visit to the chapel is a must.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

we booked this hotel through a trip to legoland in windsor the room we were allocated was miles away from the main hotel.. Not a good nights sleep as the mattress had a big dip in the middle {well worn} the restaurant was a joke it was like feeding time at the zoo..!!!! our plates were not cleared between courses so we had piles of dirty plates whilst we ate our desert, staff were not attentive at all but as soon as we left the table to go back to our room we were pounced on by a female member of staff to ask if we had paid our bill... Also we had drinks with our meal 3 soft drinks and a beer £12.40 rather excessive we thort.. we will not be returning

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STEVECEDAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Windsor
2.8 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.7 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
2.6 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,349 reviews
2.7 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Beaumont Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Beaumont Estate

Address: Beaumont Burfield Road, Old Windsor, Windsor SL4 2JJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor > Old Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Old Windsor
Price Range: $106 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Beaumont Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In picturesque Windsor, lies the historic and unique Beaumont Estate: an inspirational estate offering a luxurious family hotel, a stunning wedding location, along with being a leading conference venue, all set in spectacular and extensive grounds with 414 bedrooms. Our leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool and gym, along with squash and tennis courts open to all of our guests aged 2-12. During the holidays, The Beaumont Bears Club offers a wide range of facilities ideal for helping to keep the kids entertained; a movie room, indoor activity room, outdoor adventure play area, and much more. The Restaurant offers an extensive buffet or A La Carte Menu and we also have the Tempus Bar & Grill which is open daily from 12pm offering a more casual dining experience. Located just 3 miles from Windsor Castle with Wentworth, Legoland, Thorpe Park and Ascot all under 15 minutes away. The M25, M4 and M3 motorways are within easy reach, London can be accessed by train within 20 minutes with the nearest train station is 5 minutes away. Heathrow Airport is only 15 minutes away by car, Gatwick Airport can also reached within 40 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Vere Beaumont Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaumont House Hotel Old Windsor
Beaumont Hotel Old Windsor
Beaumont House Windsor
De Vere Beaumont Estate Old Windsor, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing