We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont let other reviews put you off!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Vere Beaumont Estate
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Old Windsor
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dont let other reviews put you off!!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

On reading some of the reviews i was slightly nervous to be going,i booked this a s a package with thorpe breaks for my husbands 40th birthday present.on check in the staff were attentive and polite,we entered our room (in the old part of the hotel the white house)it was small but extreamly comfortable,lovely en-suite.we decided to go to the local Harvester pub for our evening meal just because we fancied it!!the menu in the hotel was lovely.had a lush sleep in the cosy bed and after a refreshing sleep(not alot of airport noise!!!)went for breakfast.....yes the walk was a distance from room but a plesent one...and the breakfast was lovely and plentyful,hot and tasty.all in all a good experience and cant wait to go again......

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eldreddebbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaumontHotel, General Manager at De Vere Beaumont Estate, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your kind review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your husband enjoyed his 40th Birthday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    959
    975
    717
    546
See reviews for
1,245
972
53
817
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (996)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my husband last Friday. we were visiting friends in London and stayed here the night before. We had a superior room which was very clean and able, with tea and coffee making facilities, The estate is beautiful with nature walks, squash courts, tennis courts and lots of space to walk around or sit and relax . They also cater for children. Even though there was a conference on at the time the she hff were excellent and very attentive. The hotel has a lovely swimming pool and well equipped fitness centre. The food in the restaurant was buffet style with plenty of choice - there was also an a la carte menu but we had bought a deal which included the buffet meal. The restaurant had plenty of staff to deal with the number of customers. There are lots of places to just sit and relax and a bar area where you can get food and watch sports on the TV. Overall a fabulous stay just a shame we couldnt stay longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary_EBurnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaumontHotel, General Manager at De Vere Beaumont Estate, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your review, it is refreshing to hear such nice feedback, as the hotel sits within lovely grounds which rarely gets commented on by many of our guests, so thank you for referencing this in your review. I do hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was booked as a family reunion, with 4 rooms booked at the same time. One room was far away from the others and not a very good standard. It was clean, but the double bed was soft with only 2 small, soft pillows. Even Travelodges give spare pillows in the wardrobe. The TV was old and virtually unwatchable. The food was part of our package and was reasonable but nothing to write home about. A big conference was taking place at the same time and so the waitresses were hard pressed at breakfast. We had to ask for our drinks. Bar drinks were very expensive. This is a conference centre masking as a hotel. It met our needs for geography, setting and package price but that was all. Reception staff did what was required of them but had quite a brusque manner and dour demeanor. This place could be so much more......

Room Tip: Wear comfy shoes as you will do a lot of walking. 4 minutes walk from our room to the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rutlandlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaumontHotel, General Manager at De Vere Beaumont Estate, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your review, it is true that the hotel caters for large events as well as guests staying at leisure and for that reason at peak times such as breakfast the restaurant does get busy, which clearly during your stay affected the service levels, for which I apologise. It is disappointing that your rooms were apart, and in our more traditional décor, and not to your liking, however our 414 rooms range from the traditional basic offering to the White House suites which have a more modern and stylish décor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel, two adults and two teenagers as part of a package with thorpe park,very good value, modern cosy room, very clean room, comfortable bed, good shower, great facilitys in room, excelent breakfast, lovely grounds, it is a very big complex but you are given a map everywhere is sign posted, read bad reviews the night before coming to stay at this hotel and have to say they are totaly unjustified, very impressed with hotel, and will deffinately stay again, hotel is very close to thorpe park, just outside thorpe park there is a hungry horse pub we had a great meal there worth a mention

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnysideup66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaumontHotel, General Manager at De Vere Beaumont Estate, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your review, - it is great to see such favourable feedback and I am so pleased you had a lovely stay with us and a good time at Thorpe Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a work meeting. On arrival the reception looks very luxurious and you feel like it is going to be a plush hotel. My room was a good distance from reception ( as it seems most rooms are) and was a 'family room' just for me, so there was plenty of space with a small sofa as well as a fair sized bed. But this room could have been anywhere as it was a basic standard, with faults - window hinges were broken so it needed a good wrench to close it again. The travel iron in the room had a light cover missing so wires and electrical connections could be seen ( not ideal for a room where children would stay). Usual 'mood lighting' meaning you can't see anything even though every lamp is on. Only 2 small pillows and no biscuits to go with your cup of tea.

Food- buffet breakfast. My first morning the restaurant was not busy however despite seeing several staff milling around cleaning and wiping not one asked if I wanted tea or coffee. Most seemed eager to avoid attracting any attention and did not look at the guests. The tea I eventually managed to get was cold and stewed. Food was basic mass catered. Second morning just as bad with items of food running out- no eggs! Although I did manage 2 cups of tea so possibly an improvement.

However the cleaning staff were all very polite and wished you a good morning as you passed which was nice.

Overall despite having a fantastic location and some wonderful buildings and grounds, this place is just a mediocre mass market corporate hotel that is not cheap.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiliaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaumontHotel, General Manager at De Vere Beaumont Estate, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your review, the hotel does cater to both the Corporate and Leisure market, however understandably the corporate market does require certain aspects of uniformity within venues and we try to balance this with the needs of our Leisure guests and families, however clearly there are some shortcomings with our service elements in the restaurant which need addressing and I have passed on your comments to the departments required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Old Windsor hotels

West Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I visited for one evening with my University and was pleasently surprised when I saw the grounds and the exterior of the hotel. Unfortunately inside was like a travel tavern, most of the original charm has been removed and replaced with bland rooms and sober decoration. My room was big, clean and comfortable which brings the rating slightly higher however the bar was expensive, £5.50 per pint and the evening meal was disconcerting as the waiter did not know if he was serving pork, lamb or beef. In fairness the al a carte menu did look better. Breakfast was a buffet with all the usual options you would expect. I wouldn't go here for a romantic weekend and wont be back unless University re-book it. We went to the pub next door in the evening - much better value.

Room Tip: Choose room carefully or book elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newsy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaumontHotel, General Manager at De Vere Beaumont Estate, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your comments, I was disappointed that you didn’t have a memorable experience whilst staying at Beaumont, you have highlighted a training need within our restaurant which I have followed up with my Executive team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Drinks are completely overpriced, £2.60 for half a coke that was flat and £4.60 for a pint of Carling (normally the cheapest). Staff were rude and very unhelpful and avoid the restaurant, our food was cold, undercooked and again completely overpriced. We also headed to the Harvester for dinner on our second night and loved it, reasonable food and drink prices and very friendly and pleasant staff for whom nothing was too much trouble. The only good thing was its closeness to Thorpe Park so just use the room you are given and avoid the main hotel and its poor facilities. Very very unsatisfied, hotel is too big and in-personal and you are made to feel like a chore rather than a valued guest. AVOID AVOID AVOID!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrs d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeaumontHotel, General Manager at De Vere Beaumont Estate, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your comments, I was disappointed to read that you were very unsatisfied with your stay and I do hope that you highlighted and raised the issues mentioned in your review to the Hotel or Duty Manager so that we had an opportunity to rectify the meal issues and take necessary action with the staff you found to be rude and unhelpful? We try very hard to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable stay and that our staff are trained to be service led however clearly on this occasion we have not met your expectations and for that I must apologise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Windsor
2.8 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.7 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
5.0 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 18 in Windsor
2,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
2.7 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Beaumont Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Beaumont Estate

Property: De Vere Beaumont Estate
Address: Beaumont Burfield Road, Old Windsor, Windsor SL4 2JJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor > Old Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Old Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Beaumont Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In picturesque Windsor, lies the historic and unique Beaumont Estate: an inspirational estate offering a luxurious family hotel, a stunning wedding location, along with being a leading conference venue, all set in spectacular and extensive grounds with 414 bedrooms. Our leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool and gym, along with squash and tennis courts open to all of our guests aged 2-12. During the holidays, The Beaumont Bears Club offers a wide range of facilities ideal for helping to keep the kids entertained; a movie room, indoor activity room, outdoor adventure play area, and much more. The Restaurant offers an extensive buffet or A La Carte Menu and we also have the Tempus Bar & Grill which is open daily from 12pm offering a more casual dining experience. Located just 3 miles from Windsor Castle with Wentworth, Legoland, Thorpe Park and Ascot all under 15 minutes away. The M25, M4 and M3 motorways are within easy reach, London can be accessed by train within 20 minutes with the nearest train station is 5 minutes away. Heathrow Airport is only 15 minutes away by car, Gatwick Airport can also reached within 40 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your De Vere Beaumont Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaumont House Hotel Old Windsor
Beaumont Hotel Old Windsor
Beaumont House Windsor
De Vere Beaumont Estate Old Windsor, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing