We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Vile Really” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawthorn Hotel

Hawthorn Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hawthorn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Radcliffe B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty Vile Really”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

First of all I would like to say the staff at this hotel are really nice. Can not fault their service at all. Now for the hotel. We stayed four girls in a room. When we first entered the room it seemed ok. Quite out dated but ok. Then we entered the bathroom. The smell in there was disgusting. I think there is a problem with the drains as it smelt of poo. We couldn't ask to be moved as the guy at reception had already told us he was full. The place just isn't clean. The pink bathroom accessories from the 1970s were all dusty, the tiles were dirty and it just stank. It doesn't cost much to go ikea or wherever to buy a few nice things, spruce it up, give it a good bleach! Then the towels which were left again dirty, one if myn had a big mascara line down it. The chair in the room had a blanket over it this fell off and it was what was supposed to be cream but was brown! The whole place was dirty and needs a good deep clean. We didn't even have a shower as we just didn't dare to. Disgusting.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarySiobhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    8
    8
    3
    8
See reviews for
6
8
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here from the 19th Nov 2012 to March 2013.
Five of us 4 rooms, we all really looked forward to getting back to hotel each day after a days work, we stayed 7 days a week, it was relaxing, clean and very friendly.
Breakfast was excellent, be prepared to wait for it its cooked fresh and plenty of it, really sets you up for the day.
Good safe parking, we loved it here and hope to go back there one day.
Tony

Room Tip: All rooms are good we had 4 of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

On recommendation we booked the Hawthorn for a 70th Birthday celebration. The management could not have been more helpful. The facilities were great and the catering was wonderful. the bar staff were very pleasent and there was no rush at th end of the night for people to finish drinks. Overall a very good night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianD614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

I much prefer staying here than at the nearest travelodge type hotel - I have stayed here many times and the staff are always helpful and friendly. Yes, the location isn't the greatest but that isn't the owners fault.
The rooms are basic but clean, breakfast is lovely.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BusinessMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by my stay here. All staff were courteous and helpful, breakfast delicious and rooms warm, clean and comfortable. I was travelling for business purposes so only needed somewhere basic to lay my head, but the Hawthorn has a very nice family feeling that you don't experience at travelodge etc!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BusinessMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here for New Years Eve 2012. An unpretentious hotel, very clean, and very pleasant staff. Breakfast was unhurried and cooked fresh to order, all in all a pleasant experience. The hotel was adjacent to our party venue, so the location was handy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mic1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Glasgow
Level Contributor
122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 405 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

clean, tidy rooms, nice lounge bar and dining room, and very friendly staff, great cooked breakfast with , cereals juice etc. would stay here again no problem. Plenty of free parking with a number of good pubs in the area, not far from Bury .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hoops-Morton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radcliffe
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Bury Hotel
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Manchester Bury Bolholt Country Park Hotel
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Prestwich) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Red Hall Hotel
Red Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walmersley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
7.2 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Bury
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Hotel

Property: Hawthorn Hotel
Address: 143 Stand Lane, Radcliffe, Bury M26 1JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bury > Radcliffe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Radcliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hawthorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing