We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Accommodation”
Review of Barton Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barton Villa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dukinfield
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Value Accommodation”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

In the past when visiting friends in Dukenfield we stayed in travel lodge type accommodation so we were pleasantly surprised to discover, on-line, that Barton Villa was located there. We arrived to a friendly welcome and were given one of the attic bedrooms. The room was large enough to contain a double and single armchair with room to spare and had a great view towards Ashton. The room was very clean, the beds were comfortable and the en-suite shower room was large and modern. However… the stairs to the attic bedrooms were fearsome: incredibly steep and very narrow. Taking luggage larger than an aircraft cabin case up those stairs is a serious undertaking. We chose not to attempt to change rooms, everything else was fine, and so I would not wish to slate the hotel for this. I’m sure another room could have been found if we found that we were having difficulties. We had a good cooked breakfast the two days we were there, in pleasant surroundings, provide by friendly cheerful staff. Barton Villa, in the main, is a beautifully restored Victorian villa that appears to be well cared for. A mention must be made regarding the resident’s lounge which is incredibly comfortable and the large car park. It is about a twenty minute walk up the hill to Ashton-under-Lyne where there are shops, a market hall and transport links. Ultimately if you’re visiting the area Barton Villa is an excellent place to stay: and good value too!

Room Tip: If you have any mobility problems or travel with outsize luggage, give the attic rooms a miss!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 33JohnMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    32
    7
    6
    9
See reviews for
22
40
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
west midlands
Level Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

stayed in the main part of the hotel,lovely clean hotel,lovely room with comfortable bed. plenty wardrobe space,coathangers,drawers,mirrors.free wifi,and a wet room---a first for me,hadnt seen one!!!! lovely clean towels,plenty loo roll,soap--no toiletries but not a critism,slept well,that could of been the brandy-lol!! breakfast wasnt too early, busy in kitchen but well worth the wait,lovely freshly toasted bread, freshly cooked breakfast- delicious. enjoyed it, a lovely overnight stay in a lovely place, reasonably priced family run hotel--liked your choice in triple glazed doors too, thanks.

Room Tip: annexe rooms sounded bigger from what friends said,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michele h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

A lovely big room with a massive beds and was clean. The room was lovely and cool especially in this warm weather. The staff were very friendly. Breakfast was ok. There was free wifi included. Perfect location for our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for an annex room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Nice B+B on the outskirts of Manchester, near to the Saddleworth villages for a short drive or into the City centre. These is no bar or restaurant for he evening meal so you have to look after yoursef but we knew that when we booked.

Room Tip: No Bar or evening meal so you need to look after yourself
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbiecross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Stayed here for one night. Stayed in the annexe, room was huge and clean, bed was comfortable, breakfast in the morning was fabulous. Staff were great no complaints at all. Very reasonably priced as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Stayed here overnight with colleagues for work. The proprietor could not have been more helpful. We asked for advice on nearby pubs and restaurants, he gave us recommendations which proved excellent and marked their locations on a map he printed out for us. I was in the annexe, in a very comfortable spacious room with an en suite bathroom with a shower over the bath. No shower gel, just soap, and I could only find two power points so had to juggle kettle, bedside light, laptop and phone chargers - but that was manageable. Spotlessly clean. Breakfast is served from 7-8.15, we wished it was later as our first meeting was nearby at 9.30 and we thought maybe everything would be gone if we came at 8 am. Which we did, and most of it was, but we were swiftly offered hot food of our choice, freshly prepared to order, so no complaints there and the poached eggs were very good. Accommodating, obliging, helpful people run this place which has been in the same family for over 40 years. The afternoon teas sound good too! And it has its own car park. I'd happily stay here again.

Room Tip: I was in room 2 in the annexe, I'd recommend it, spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

The room was clean and roomy, although everything else was such a let down!
Breakfast was only served between 8.30-9am but you will be up by then as im sure the bed was made of bricks, very uncomfy even sleeping on 2 duvets! damp and mould to the entrance of the annexe,
bar only open to functions which was very dissapointing!!
Would not reccomend

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Moomoo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dukinfield
1.1 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
#1 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Hyde) Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Broadoak Hotel
The Broadoak Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Hyde
2.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Denton) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barton Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barton Villa

Property: Barton Villa
Address: Crescent Road, Dukinfield SK16 4EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Dukinfield
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dukinfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Barton Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Barton Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing