We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village Hotel Wirral
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bromborough
England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is geared up more towards the leisure facilities and its members rather than hotel quest. Members of the public using the facilities so very busy. Pool was over loaded with kids on Saturday and Sunday and many where not quests at the hotel but families who where members of the leisure club. Pub connected to hotel is full of blokes watching football and the entertainment of the live band on the Saturday evening was poor. The coffee bar in the lobby shuts at 7pm. No where for you to sit and go in the evenings with kids, unless you sit on a hard chair in the closed coffee shop with party goers from the private party's at the hotel or gym members rushing by. Food in the restaurant ok, buffet breakfast nice, hotel family room was nice and big,clean, but the hotel needs a refurb. toilets in lobby stink. we felt the hotel could do a lot more for the people staying there. This hotel used to have a residents bar and a nice comfy seating area away from the lobby where you could take your drinks and sit with your kids. We felt that alls we cold do was sit in our room. Wouldn't go again with kids.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sha97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    455
    353
    168
    104
See reviews for
267
686
36
285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last year for a 'relaxing spa break' with a friend. Including breakfast, meal and spa treatments. I didn't choose it can't believe I agreed to the choice.
We walked in to see the restaurant was shut for refurbishment! Where are we to have our meal?! In the pub instead which was full of blokes watching football. Not where I envisioned our evening meal! So we ordered a fillet steak which was terrible, then a 'Phoenix nights' style couple came on singing.

Then the night time came- we didn't sleep ALL night and must of complained so many times. This is because we had been given a room in the same corridor full of 20 year olds at an engagement party. They were running up and down, banging, shouting all night long. Didnt get a wink of sleep and seeing as I came to relax after having a baby, I got more sleep at home!! The only good thing was the spa treatments. We ended up getting all our money back for the stay and only paid for the spa treatments.
Avoid! Unless you want 24hr party people/ rubbish food/football hooligans on your stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittenx1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bromborough hotels

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Small hotel in a small town ! The rooms are small, but neat. Even though I was staying at the hotel for a 2nd time, the hotel seemed to be completely unaware of the same, and gave me a room which did not have a very good view. Quite sure the hotel was hardly occupied and hence believed that a room with a better view could have been given, particularly since I was a repeat guest.

The gym is excellent, used regularly by the local residents too. The Italian restaurant "Buca" serves good fare. Staff efficient. Breakfast was a typically English one, with little or no variety.

Overall, a decent experience, which could have been even better had a room with a better view been offered ......

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chakraberty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

OVERALL good hotel could not complain at all. good value for money. food not bad for price. leisure facilities excellent. in very good area not far from anywhere. we will return again next timre in area good choice

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie452016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Reading some of the other reviews on here - I was wondering what the hell we had booked!!! But - all I can say is, don't believe all you read.... We had a great time!

Starting with a negative (just a minor negative) the bedroom furniture was a bit 'worn' - however, the room was incredibly spacious and very clean! Apart from this - we had nothing but positives to say...

We stayed as a family group for one night (party of 9) and from checking in, the staff were attentive, friendly and helpful.

We made full use of the extensive leisure facilities and the kids loved the pool. The squash courts were great, gym a good size and steam room / saunas really good.

We ate at Bucca di Beppo - an italian / american restaurant at the front of the hotel and this was fantastic! We were all made to feel welcome by the staff and the meals were incredible! The kids particularly enjoyed the restaurant who had a singer 'crooning' all the rat pack favourites from the corner of the restaurant - he was great...

The pastas / grills and pizzas were all very well received by our table and no one was disappointed with their meal choice (i would certainly recommend the creamed spinach as a side dish! This was incredible!!!)

All in all, prices are what you would expect in a large hotel (in my opinion). We visited the victory pub for a night cap and this bar had a great lively / friendly atmosphere.

Breakfast was good enough with all the usual cooked breakfast items on offer along with fresh fruit and pastries if you would prefer them!

I would certainly recommend this hotel - it's great fun and somewhere you can spend a night or two with the family to unwind! Thanks to all the staff - we had a great time!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank col35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I have stayed here a few times and have always enjoyed the quality of the rooms and the service. This time was no exception. Pre-booked through work, and although it was expensed, I asked for a deal. The room and breakfast were charged at less than a zero-starred B&B, and the quality was great!

Fantastic value - especially if you book in advance. Rooms are very clean and modern, and the service was good as always. Location is also very handy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muddles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

stayed for 1 night on 30/12/2012.nice swimming pool.needs to be cleaned more often.dirt around pool and in side.pool attendents just sites around doing nothing.should be tidying up.thats the only bad point i have to say.pool temperature nice and warm.rooms nice.food we had the carvery on sunday as much as yo can eat very good.breakfast very basic but nice only 4.95 each cant moan at that.unless your posh.staff very friendly would recomend this hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vitacarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bromborough
3.6 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Bromborough Hotel
Travelodge Bromborough Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bromborough
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sunlight
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
7.0 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
774 reviews
8.1 mi away
Village Hotel Liverpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Wirral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Wirral

Property: Village Hotel Wirral
Address: Hotel Wirral Pool Lane | Bromborough, Bromborough CH62 4UE, England (Formerly DeVere Village Hotel & Leisure Club Wirral)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Bromborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bromborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Wirral 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Wirral is only minutes from the M53 and is an ideal location from which to discover the Wirral Peninsula and all that North Wales has to offer. Then there's the historic Roman City of Chester in one direction, the bustling city of Liverpool in the other. Between them, they'll provide hours of fun and entertainment for all the family. Village Hotel Wirral has 117 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Squash Court, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Wirral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devere Village Hotel And Leisure Club Wirral
Village Hotel Leisure Wirral
Village Hotel Bromborough
Village Hotel Wirral Bromborough, Merseyside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing