We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and comfortable stay, a couple of niggles...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hoylake
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and comfortable stay, a couple of niggles...”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I stayed here with my two children (14 and 11) and the room was perfectly fine for the three of us for the night (would have been a bit stir crazy if it was any longer!). The hotel looks nice inside and out and you certainly feel like you're getting better than a basic economy hotel, so full marks there. Hoylake isn't great when you're trying to entertain two kids, but the new development at New Brighton just down the road certainly occupied everyone's interest. The room wasn't too hot at night and the shower in the bathroom was a great size. My daughter complained that the sofa bed wasn't great but she was asleep minutes after said complaint!

Having said all that, there were a couple of things that weren't so good. First, the staff seemed a little inexperienced and fell short of the standard I expect from IHG when I stay there on my own on business...there were five staff behind the reception desk when we arrived and none of them seemed keen to check us in. On the way out despite there being three staff and only one dealing with another guest I was surprised to have to hand my room key to one of them as again nobody seemed keen to acknowledge me. Secondly, the breakfast. I know the Express Holiday Inns are the economy version of the brand but it really doesn't cut the mustard. My son bemoaned a lack of bacon and filled up on cheap pastries, the coffee in the machine was undrinkable and the fruit juice was more like diluted cordial than what it claimed to be!

Overall we would stay there again, but would prefer to pay a few quid more and get a better service and breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrcrangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    184
    85
    19
    18
See reviews for
143
190
19
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, England
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We spent 2 nights at this hotel this weekend. We booked despite the very negative comments by others in respect of the breakfast. So our expectations were very low when we went down to beakfast on Saturday morning. In the event we were pleasantly surprised. We felt that the breakfast was good. OK so bacon does not feature on the menu. We rarely eat bacon these days. The breakfast offered was of good quality and quantity. We enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would not hesitate io book again. We attended a family christening on Sunday morning after check-out and there was no problem at all when we asked if we could leave our car at the hotel while we attended the church across the street.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank johno2499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

This hotel is nice, clean, modern and is everything you need to get your head down after hard day work.

Rooms look new with a great bathroom and they even did a room service pizza from the Marco Pierre White Restaurant which I decided to take up on my first night.

Breakfast is what you get in any Holiday Inn Express with usual options but the sausages were great so had made a few sandwiches to set me up for the day.

On my second night I ate in the Restaurant and had a great Lasagne with a few Peroni beers for that true Italian experience :)

Staff are friendly and manager Matt who spoke to me at the bar after my meal looks like a hands on manager who runs a tight ship.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _CA10JLA_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

That's all I have to say... Except that the breakfast is very poor - left under the heat lamps does nothing for it - go to one of the many cafes in Hoylake for a decent breakfast.

It was clean, but nothing more than you'd expect from a chain hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Adam C,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to note that you liked the cleanliness at our hotel. We are committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. I am sorry that our breakfast did not live up to your par. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest experience.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
219 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Was excited to stay here as recommended by 4 family members.

First thing I found where staff lacked any customer service or personality. No smile, welcome, just 4 blank youth in HI Express just staring into thin air. As a Priority Club member was offer 2 free drink vouchers, then wasn't given them, so wasn't going to make a fuss over a couple of free drinks.

Room was warm with no air con and we had a connecting door, which to be honest I could hear every word of the guests next door which and some point a cringing moment.

Breakfast was awful, scrambled egg was dry and slightly off colour and the sausages hardly cooked and soggy.

Wouldn't stay again but shame as Hoylake is so lovely.

The Green Lodge Hotel, next door is a 241 pub was lovely food and there do B&B from £49.00 will stay there next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank copleycop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear copleycop,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club member and for leaving us a feedback. I am disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay with us. We work diligently to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am sorry to hear that there were certain aspects of your visit that did not meet your expectation in particular the noise, quality of breakfast and customer services. We want our guest to have a pleasant and professional experience when interacting with our staff. Please accept our sincere apologies for any shortcomings you may have experienced. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed 2 nights - With Breakfast included.

Overall revamp of the old king's gap hotel is fantastic - We visted as we were at a wedding local to hoylake, Staff are freindly and the service pretty good! Rooms are nice its a few years since ive stayed in a holiday inn and to be honest wasnt expecting the room to be as good! Modern and contempory feel, The room we had was excellent! Only crib been that we were directly above the rear doors of the kitchen and staff ciggy area!

My only complaint would be the Breakfast buffet is a free for all and pretty poor!

The staff just couldnt keep up with the replenishment of the buffet offer.The food was just edible but the choice was limited... as often guests would find a sauasge but would be missing eggs or some other items for there breakfast... Most people head down between 8am-9am,so maybe a bit better planning for these busy times would be better for all involved including stressed out waitress!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmb0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Good value, great location and room.

Slept really well but breakfast was terrible.

From the coffee machine that overflows the cups to the cheap hot breakfast ingredients.

Only 3 items for a hot cooked breakfast. Scrambled eggs (bland), deep fried and really cheap sausages and decent beans.

Guys I am not the only one saying it, sort your breakfast out its not good at all.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mansmanreality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoylake
3.6 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
782 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
7.5 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
1,616 reviews
6.6 mi away
Travelodge Wallasey New Brighton
2.7 mi away
Hillbark Hotel
Hillbark Hotel
#1 of 1 in Frankby
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake

Property: Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake
Address: The Kings Gap, Hoylake CH47 1HE, England (Formerly Kings Gap Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Hoylake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hoylake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new build 56 bedroom hotel gives you something unique;a mix of cosmopolitan, blending with the original VictorianHouse which will house our fabulous Marco Pierre WhiteFrankies New York Italian, bedrooms and meeting rooms.The supporting infrastructure offers an eclectic mix ofrural, urban and coastal activity from sailing at the seasidetown of West Kirby to playing golf at the neighbouringRoyal Liverpool Golf Club, home to the Open Golfchampionship in 2014 following its success in 2008, tosightseeing, shopping and exploring the City of Liverpool,hailed as the best European Capital of Culture on record,also ideally placed to visit the Historical City of Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Gap Court Liverpool
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing