We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hoylake
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Very different from the other Holiday Inn hotels we have been - a little more stylish than your typical no-nonsense, boring, business hotel rooms. The room was clean, quite big and very comfortable. Lovely clean bed with choices of soft and hard pillows.The breakfast was also good. This hotel is very close to the beach. Looked great during sunset.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank archana b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thanks you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Matt Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    175
    81
    18
    17
See reviews for
137
187
18
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

The staff were great nice & friendly, we stopped over night for a friends party which was held there. Food was great, room was good,a bit noisy during the day but very peaceful at night. What amazed me most was the general area, the beaches were lovely & it was not commercialised at all.
The beaches were stunning and I would like to return again when the weather is warmer. We had some lovely pizzas from Frankies.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BWynne_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and Frankie's Bar and Grill and I am delighted to read your comments.

I do look forward to welcoming you back to Hoylake in the very near future.

Many thanks

Matt Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights over the Easter period. Comfortable clean bedroom with small but well equiped bathroom. Good bedlinen with a choice of pillows. Self service breakfast with a choice of cereals, toast, croissants and scrambled eggs, sausage & baked beans. Basic but ok. Only downsides were no tea or coffee in room when we arrived. Plus noisy neighbours at 3am but the hotel can't be blamed for that. Would visit again as a great improvement on New Brighton Travelodge where we usually stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whites2088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us. I am sorry that your stay was marred by the conduct of other guests, but i do hope that this would not deter you from visiting again.

Many thanks

Matt Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BINGLEY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Check in was good and greeted well. Room terrific value for money, bed very comfortable bathroom excellent, very clean.
Restaurant next dood Frankies a nightmare. Front of house very good but in the kitchen who knows, stale bread sent out , 46 minuets to wait for main course and restaurant not busy.

Overall I would heartily recommend the hotel , great value .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAPER_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us and while I am delighted to read your comments about the hotel, I would like to apologise if Frankie's did not live up to your expectations. We will address your comments and ensure that this wait does not happen again.

Thanks you once again for your review.

Matt Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

I did not part-take of any of the food during my stay at this Hotel but would recommend the very nice Chocolate drink on one occasion as I arrived late and after an almost 5 hour journey from the appropriate drink m/c. Did have some problems sleeping as there was a constant humming noise coming from a particular part of the Hotel where I was situated and due to a long journey was too weary to say anything however the room is very nice, basic, agreed a lack of hanging space so living out of a bag and I do not leave any valuables in my room anymore. A pleasant venue overall. Alice is nice and said goodbyes on departure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read your comments and thank you for the constructive commments that we will review.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Many thanks

Matt Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Just had a 2 night stay at this hotel, which I must say is very very clean:)) good size room, lovely staff and fab walk in shower! Breakfast is basic, but OK, and Frankie's next door is lovely, especially if you want to have a few drinks without the hassle of booking a cab:))The staff were lovely with my 6 year old. We will be back soon.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a bath if you need one as most rooms only have showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leoped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay. i am delighted to read your comments, especially your comments on Frankie's Bar & Grill.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hoylake in the near future.

Many thanks

Matt Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

I started on Trip Advisor as I wanted to counter negative reviews with a more objective and balanced approach, but as my title suggests for this stay I am struggling to find the positives.
It will be fair to comment that we stayed during the Easter Bank and this is naturally a busy time for hotels with family visits, wether that excuses the issues I have is another matter. We have stayed for years in the Premier Inn and we wanted to try somewhere new.
But first to the good things, the staff are cheerful and friendly, the rooms are bright clean and modern and the en-suite is large and of excellent quality.
Now to the problem areas;
Check In. At check in we were told that our daughter could eat free at Frankie's next door as it was Easter and the definition of 'child' was up to 16. The restaurant denied this and said it was 12.
Room Cleaner. There was very little toilet paper in the en-suite, I asked a cleaner for another roll (she initially did not understand me until I pointed to one) as there was no spare on the hook, she gave me a new roll but no spare was put on the hook during our three night stay.
The gel dispenser in the shower as nearly empty, I left it protruding one morning in the hope that it would be replaced - it was still like that on our return that evening.
The room. We had a family room and it is small, once the sofa bed (my daughter said this was very comfy) is laid out you cannot use the desk. The desk is odd in that there are no drawers so you have live out of your suitcase during your stay (there is some hanging space).
The bed. Much smaller than Premier Inn and also much softer.
Noise. The biggest single issue here at the Hotel is how noise penetrates through the walls of the room. We could here conversation, TV and snoring through the walls and ceiling, the dorrs bang and corridor conversations even when at normal conversational level easily come into the rom via the closed door. We could not sleep properly until the last person entered their room, and we were awoken by the first people getting up (or so it seemed). At the endof three nights I was strung out and very tired.
Breakfast. the tables are self clearing, few guests bothered so it resembled a war zone, staf were workng very hard cleaning after lazy guests. The choice of cold food is fine but the hot breakfast consists only of Scarmbled eggs (which were nice), baked beans and the nastiest, cheap sausages I have ever eaten, I can see why Breakfast is free, Premier Inn may charge but the service, variety and quality make it worthwhile.
To the mid week business visitor little of the above may apply as we were there during a busy holiday weekend period, but our experience has put us off from staying again. We are regular visitors to the area visiting family and we shall now return to the Premier Inn.
What I require from any hotel is a good nights sleep, I had three disturbed wretched nights - and at least the Premier Inn offer your money back!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet one at the far end
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. I am disapointed to read your comments as they are generally not in keeping with the feedback we usually recieve. We will look into your comments and implement any changes appropriate to ensure we enhance the guest experience that we offer.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback.

Matt Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoylake
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Greasby) Hotel
3.6 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
6.3 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Heswall) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hillbark Hotel
Hillbark Hotel
#1 of 1 in Frankby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake

Property: Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake
Address: The Kings Gap, Hoylake CH47 1HE, England (Formerly Kings Gap Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Hoylake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hoylake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new build 56 bedroom hotel gives you something unique;a mix of cosmopolitan, blending with the original VictorianHouse which will house our fabulous Marco Pierre WhiteFrankies New York Italian, bedrooms and meeting rooms.The supporting infrastructure offers an eclectic mix ofrural, urban and coastal activity from sailing at the seasidetown of West Kirby to playing golf at the neighbouringRoyal Liverpool Golf Club, home to the Open Golfchampionship in 2014 following its success in 2008, tosightseeing, shopping and exploring the City of Liverpool,hailed as the best European Capital of Culture on record,also ideally placed to visit the Historical City of Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Gap Court Liverpool
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing