We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hoylake
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I've now stopped at HIE Hoylake 5-6 times this year, what can I say, other than its great value for money. Staff are great and always more than helpful. Location is great, and I'll carry on using their services for all my trips to the Wirrall..
Keep up the good work.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Broomfield19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    175
    81
    18
    17
See reviews for
137
187
18
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northampton
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

First time at this HIE location (open since April) and very pleased.

Looks lovely on arrival, nothing to grand but compared to other express's the reception area had a nice ambiance with good lighting etc.

Parking free and plenty of it.

The welcome was very warm and check in efficient.

My room was large compared to other HIE hotels and a different layout to the standard they have build over the past 10 years with a new style bathroom. not sure if this is set to become the new standard at express's or if this hotel was carved out of another previous hotel but either way the room and bathroom were both very nice. Opening window, good TV, very comfortable bed, for the price of £65.00 including breakfast there really was nothing more I could have expected.

Didn't eat there in the evening (they have an adjacent Italian style restaurant which looked nice) as I fancied a walk. There are a number of choices within 5 minutes stroll including Thai, Chinese, Indian and Italian as well as a few nice bars and pubs. I did have a beer in the bar and that was fine.

Breakfast in the morning was the usual HIE selection which is always fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank animalthatswims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. The hotel has recently been rebuilt and was very clean and fresh. The rooms were comfrtable with good linen and comfy beds. The complimentary breakfast was a nice surprise and very acceptable with some hot food and lots of good quality breads, fruit and yogurts. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tangerineanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Although from Hoylake originally I have been living away for 30 years.

As I was traveling from my home in Edinburgh to a wedding in the Midlands I decided to stop off and try out the hotel for 3 nights and enjoy beach walks and picnicking on Hilbre Island on day 1 and a visit to Liverpool for the Tate's summer exhibition on day 2. It's great to have a decent and inexpensive hotel in such a splendid spot; this corner of the Wirral has ridiculously few hotel options.

Hotel was very friendly and clean with a feeling of light and space. Sad that none of the internal features of the former King's Gap Court have been retained and I think Hoylake could accommodate a more aspirational brand but there's a recession and the HI Express format ticks a lot of boxes - it was incredibly good value! The Frankie's Italian restaurant attached is very well worth a visit and set in a lovely garden and I wouldn't be surprised if the hotel is up-branded in future to match.

My only real disappointment was the breakfast which was very limited in choice and I simply didn't rate it. I think this aspect needs improving especially for market sectors such as golfers visiting the Royal Liverpool Golf Club a few yards away. I will definitely be back but next time I will go to a local cafe!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterWEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Peter

Many thanks for taking the time to post a response on trip advisor you comments make a pleasant read,

I am so sorry the breakfast offering was not up to your expectation we are governed by the Brand Holiday Inn Express and we are limited to what we can offer

I am pleased to hear this would not deter you from staying with us in the future


Kind regards

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

We had not stayed in a chain hotel or many years and were very pleased with the standard here. The staff were very helpful - especially the breakfast staff who offered help as my husband has mobility problems and made everything very easy.
Our room was excellent - no storage for clothes but this is obviously a short-stay hotel and we couldn't leave things behind in drawers!!!
We did wish we had air-conditioning and didn't realise that the window could be locked slightly open and it would have been good if this was mentioned in the hotel amenities.
Free wifi is so easy to use - no signing on.
We shall certainly consider other hotels in this chain and hope to come back to this one before long and the moderate charge makes it an obvious choice.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are very easy for people with a mobility problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

New hotel with very clean rooms and lovely comfortable beds and pillows. Large shower with good water pressure - once you find out how to work it. Breakfast adequate, with the usual over-cooked scrambled eggs, sausage and baked beans plus toast, cereals, grapefruit and orange segments, plus a good choice of beverages. Hotel very handy for town centre, which is lovely.
The weather was glorious while we were there for three nights, but our room faced the sun all day and the window would not open more than a few inches, which made the room very hot. I phoned down to ask for a fan in tne room and was told that they don't have any fans. The plastic glasses which were provided when we arrived were never replaced so we had to use the same ones all the time. There was no fridge or safe in the room and no drawers or wardrobe - just an open hanging rail. I cannot consider that it was value for money at £223 for 3 nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which doesn't get the sun all day and stays cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, South Wales
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

It's a lovely hotel, brand spanking new. Would have expected a little better from such a great hotel and chain however. Room was great on first impressions even though the view faced a wall only feet from it but we weren't there for the view! We, my husband and I and 4 year old had settled into the room but after showering could not find a hair dryer- on calling reception was advised that room 123 does not have a fixed one like the other rooms and the portable one they had put in there has been taken by a guest- there was another on order but they didn't have one we could either change room or have a card to use dryer in another room- opted for the latter as did not want to move with a toddler in tow and we didnt want to delay our evening meal and would have had to move complete with wet hair - this was very inconvenient indeed. Frankies restaurant is nice, great decor and food but a little overpriced and service was soso! The waitresses were lovely girls but everybody served you and so things got missed and they didn't apply the hotel guests special offer (15% off) to the bill- we had to ask! The breakfast the next day was really really good and the waitress great. Would have given a higher score save for the dryer fiasco- why use the room ( and not warn guests) especially if the hotel was not full. On gathering our stuff up to leave I picked up an errant toy car from just under the sofa bed and could see that the side of the bed just at head end was stinking- dried food/ vomit even didn't want to get too close - should have been visible when making the bed up. Lovely seating area outside and patio furniture but right next to extremely smelly ( sewage) drains. Once these niggles ironed out would be a great place to stay.

Room Tip: 123 may not have a hair dryer and faces a wall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ollerwaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Ollerwaller

Thank you so much for your feedback on trip advisor, i am so disappointed you felt your stay could have been much better, as you can see from all of our reviews they are really commendable.

Please except my sincere apologies for the lack of the hair drier in the room, as you experienced the hotel is new and the builders had not installed the hair drier in that particular room.

The new hair drier is on order and will be with us shortly we did buy a hair drier for your room and unfortunately it was stolen.

I have spoken with the housekeeper in relation to the sofa bed and i can assure any issues with the sofa bed will be addressed.

Once again please except my apologies for the inconvenience you felt had whilst staying at the hotel, i do hope this will not deter you from staying with us again.

Kind regards

John Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoylake
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Greasby) Hotel
3.6 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
6.3 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Heswall) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hillbark Hotel
Hillbark Hotel
#1 of 1 in Frankby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake

Property: Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake
Address: The Kings Gap, Hoylake CH47 1HE, England (Formerly Kings Gap Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Hoylake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hoylake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new build 56 bedroom hotel gives you something unique;a mix of cosmopolitan, blending with the original VictorianHouse which will house our fabulous Marco Pierre WhiteFrankies New York Italian, bedrooms and meeting rooms.The supporting infrastructure offers an eclectic mix ofrural, urban and coastal activity from sailing at the seasidetown of West Kirby to playing golf at the neighbouringRoyal Liverpool Golf Club, home to the Open Golfchampionship in 2014 following its success in 2008, tosightseeing, shopping and exploring the City of Liverpool,hailed as the best European Capital of Culture on record,also ideally placed to visit the Historical City of Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Gap Court Liverpool
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing