We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best staff for miles around” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Devon Doorway

The Devon Doorway
Ranked #14 of 72 Restaurants in Heswall
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our menu changes with the seasons and is modern British, comfortably interwoven with some Mediterranean influences.It ranges from traditional favourites such as fish and chips and steaks to freshly made pizzas and pastas with the chef’s daily specials showcasing the finest market fresh ingredients. There’s something for everyone and for all occasions too. You don’t have to go for the full works if you don’t want to, just have a snack and a lovely drink in the bar with your friends.Wine is something of a passion for us and nothing pleases us more than when we unearth a new discovery that blows our socks off! We’ve got everything from crisp refreshing whites, trendy pinks to fat juicy reds by the bottle or glass so we are really looking forward to your reaction to all the latest treasures!We are also very proud of our beers and we have a great selection of cask ales, super chilled draft and bottled beers to quench your thirst.Just stop by for a pint of ale, read the papers and chill out or book a table and enjoy simple food prepared with care.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best staff for miles around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

9 of us went for family celebration (25th Anniversary - had wedding reception there). The team made the whole experience very special, food was great and the surroundings were fantastic. This is a restaurant is best in the north west.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    141
    77
    60
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
Level Contributor
129 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, would return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Went for a unexpected meal last night as hubby was late in from work and both of us to tired to cook. I have to say the staff were very friendly and we were allowed to choose where we sat. Food was very nice, I had scallops, then chicken with tagatelli in a cream mushroom sauce and a green salad. Hubby had onion soup (best he had tasted) & salmon, we both shared sticky toffee pudding. If I have to say anything about the meal, my portion of pasta was to big, gave half to hubby. There was only one young person taking the orders and I did notice the place filling up, didn't hear anybody complaining though. She was very friendly and had a lovely smile for each table, which is nice to see.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A nice place to entertain for a business lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a gastro pub/restaurant in a "mock old" thatched building.
The menu is varied and imaginative.
I was pleased to be able to order the linguini with king prawns and chorizo in a smaller portion.
I would have eaten the larger serving and regretted it afterwards!
The service was absolutely fine.
The prices are sensible.
What didn't I like? It was raining!
Go there, it's good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
118 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Run off her feet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Arrived at twenty to seven on a Monday and quickly greeted and shown to seat along with menus, server said she would be back in a minute. Twenty minutes later she returned, literally trotting towards us, five mins later drinks were delivered. Sorry but 25 minute wait for drinks is not acceptable. There were about six or seven other tables occupied but just the one person serving until seven. I have had previous experiences of friendly but slow service early evening and hoped it had improved. No bread or oils served to any one I saw, this used to be the norm. After that food was ok,, and prawn cocktail lacked the flavouring had hoped for, main courses pleasant as were deserts. Service picked up after seven but was not impressed with the earlier wait. Staff friendly throughout so a small tip left. Management need to act re early evening staffing level if this is common place. Prices high side of average and a nice atmosphere.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank timmy1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Anniversary Bliss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had our silver anniversary at the Devon Doorway, 25 years after our Wedding reception in the same place. Jonny and his team were great during making the prior arrangements, letting us alter the silver set menu to suit our requirements, with everyone having a choice between 3 starters, 3 mains, 3 desserts, cheese & biscuits and then coffee. My wife, Joan had made some table decorations, etc, and Vicki, a deputy manager put these up for us on the day, she even got lilac freesias, one of Joan's favourites, for the table. There was 22 people at our 'do' on the Saturday ( 1st June ), the food was great, with no complaints and Vicki was there, very attentive.
We had coffee outside in the garden and the sun came out! All in all , Joan & I could not have been happier with the food & service, Vicki was brilliant, THANK YOU VERY MUCH

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Devon Doorway also viewed

 

Been to The Devon Doorway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing