We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem! Don't go, too many people loving it will leave no room for our next visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Emmas - CLOSED

Emmas
Price range: $5 - $14
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Description: EMMAS will be closing after 20yrs on Saturday 21st November, due to retirement. Thankyou to all our lovely customers, we have loved being part of your lives. That cafe will reopen after a weeks closure under the name of Porchellis and the new owner Sarah Porchelli will be supported by existing staff Leah, Sandra and Becky who will be there to make you feel welcome, give it a try.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Gem! Don't go, too many people loving it will leave no room for our next visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Easy to find location but I suspect that fewer people pass this way so it remains a haven for locals. It turned out to be well worth abandoning the one size fits all Premier Inn/Beefeater breakfast! We enjoyed our stroll down the hill to this charming spot. Put us in holiday mood.
We were a fairly large group 5 adults, 1 teen and a toddler and there were no problems accommodating us, bank holiday weekend too. Lovely high chair. There was big basket of books perfect for toddlers which were definitely appreciated.
All our food was served in good time and it was a really good breakfast. (we were mixed party, vegetarians and carnivores)
I can not poach an egg well, if at all, though some find it easy. Emma's poach eggs just right.
We concur with all the the good reviews of the coffee.
Friendly service, happy to chat or leave be.
We eyed the various baked offerings, sad that our plans wouldn't fit an afternoon visit in.
If Emma's had been open on the Monday we'd have come for another breakfast. If we are visiting the Wirral again we shall be bringing family for tea/coffee and checking out the baking.
I think this place is a tripadvisor gem find and wish them more business but not too much to leave them too busy to fit us in next time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OSAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMMASRECTORYVIEW, Owner at Emmas, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for such a comprehensive review, and also your comments and suggestions made during your visit. It's lovely to have such nice positive interested customers, we hope to see you again next time you're visiting the WIRRAL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    18
    2
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Narberth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent atmosphere and food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Have visited Emma's 3 times now prior to meetings in the area. Here you will experience a friendly local atmosphere that you do not get in large chain coffee shops. The food is excellent using good quality local produce (especially the sausages ;o) and the coffee is also great.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMMASRECTORYVIEW, Owner at Emmas, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review, we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESTER
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent independent cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Don't visit here often enough, never been disappointed and it is one of the friendliest places ever. Admittedly seems to be full of regulars , wish I lived closer as it's your typical village homemade tasty food cafe. No pictures on plates just good honest food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ivor20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMMASRECTORYVIEW, Owner at Emmas, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review , we see that you have reviewed us 3 times, thats once a year. We appreciate you doing this but hope to see you even more regularly in future. Please make yourself known when you next visit so we can say a proper thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice food and nice service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Visited for breakfast. Staff were very accommodating, friendly and warm. The food was nice and locally produced. Coffee was smooth and fresh (a refreshing change from the high street chains). Being a veggie, the staff were very flexible making changes to dishes to accommodate my diet.

A visit to Emma's, won't leave you disappointed....

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vipul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMMASRECTORYVIEW, Owner at Emmas, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your visit, so pleased you enjoyed it, hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely food. Great service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Third visit to Emma's for Breakfast before a business meeting.Food was delicious. Coffee was good. We had prompt friendly service. Recommend Emma's as this is a proper old style coffee shop that isn't in a chain. I don't they come much better and recommend highly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gangly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMMASRECTORYVIEW, Owner at Emmas, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, very appreciated, hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emmas also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing