We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buggygate”
Review of Emmas - CLOSED

Emmas
Price range: $5 - $14
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: EMMAS will be closing after 20yrs on Saturday 21st November, due to retirement. Thankyou to all our lovely customers, we have loved being part of your lives. That cafe will reopen after a weeks closure under the name of Porchellis and the new owner Sarah Porchelli will be supported by existing staff Leah, Sandra and Becky who will be there to make you feel welcome, give it a try.
Parkgate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Buggygate”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I too visited Emmas shortly after "buggygate". I have been there countless times when they have made special arrangements for wheelchairs and buggys. They have in fact gone out of their way to be accommodating in every manner possible with both small children and the elderly. Who in their right mind would think it is ok to bring 5 buggies inside in the first place. As for being told 5 times I can only wonder why. Heswall mum can't be hard of hearing because she obviously heard the first four and didn't have the decency to take any notice. I know there are two sides to every story but come on, be reasonable! Emmas is the most delightful place to be. The food is fabulous, but that isn't the only reason I go there. It's has a special quality that you just have to see for yourself. A little piece of heaven right here in Lower Heswall.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pollysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    18
    2
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lower Heswalls Little Gem”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Fabulous homemade food, served in a warm and cozy atmosphere. Delicious sweets, and even better you can order for home dinner parties.. WOW I recommend the beef burgundy.. followed by sherry trifle, THE BEST ever! Thanks Emma's

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jenpetrie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service.”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I work in the lower village and visit Emma's on a daily basis. The food has always been excellent and is only rivalled by the friendly efficient service, I have never known a happier cafe. Thanks.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayton
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Café in England”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Great food, fabulous service and absolutely brilliant atmosphere - the perfect tonic!

Emma's is the heart of the village and for good reason.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JonathanEllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Heswallmum”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I visited Emmas minutes after the buggie pushing 5 had left and was informed by a staff member as to what had just happened.
Has Heswallmum ever heard of Fire and Health and Safety Regulations ?If the statement was repeated 5 times one can only assume that it was ignored on the first four occasions.
If anyone visits Emmas on a Saturday morning as I regularly do they will see youngsters who have been visiting since they too were only months old, the only difference being that their parents do not demonstrate the selfish arrogance of Heswallmum and her friends who assume that they have some divine right to overwhelm a small but perfectly formed eaterie in the lower village

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank peter k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emmas also viewed

 
Heswall, Wirral
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing