We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Suite, what Suite?”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hillbark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hillbark Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Frankby
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Suite, what Suite?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2007

Booked a suite. So expected a suite, on arrival through a wedding party - were given the wrong room - a suite is two connected rooms or areas at least, usually including an area where one can relax and have a meal etc away from the sleeping area. This Hotel misrepresentes the room as a suite and expects some of the well finished bathrooms to compensate.

To make just a few brief points

Anyway we were moved to another room still not a suite, and when we went to get our new key that night were given the wrong room again - some of the staff tried hard but there no proper management plan, I think they rely on the somewhat laid back country house informal attitude, There is no proper reception just a desk occupied on a random basis and you usually have to go looking for somebody. The coridoors are dark and there are no signs to direct to rooms etc overall somewhat shambolic and disappointing - oh and there is the gate where you have to have memorised a code to escape no sensors camera or intercom very frustrating - we got a reduction on the bill so I guess it was not a nightmare but still very frustrating.

  • Liked — bathroom
  • Disliked — overall poor attention to detail
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank goodtimeIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    35
    22
    17
    24
See reviews for
69
96
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2007

Not only is the setting wonderful but I found the food to be incredible. Whilst the decor in the restaurant was a little opulent for me I cannot fault the service or the Chef. Try it.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — Difficult to find
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank laweverhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2007

fantastic building, stylish interior, great food, all let down by very bad and arrogant service.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales,UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2006

Contacted the hotel myself ,stayed over the night after doing some xmas shopping in Liverpool.The hotel were kind enough to upgrade our room as I'd surprised my wife for her birthday.I've some good comments and bad.The hotel would probably suit older people or foriegners rather than my wife and I as it was very dated in my opinion,the bar was very small with not much selection and I don,t think you could call the rooms any thing close to 5 star.On the good side we ate in the grill room where the food ,service and waitress was fantastic ,even this area was quiet only ourselves and another table of four.Breakfast the next morning was nothing special.Overall though very expensive for what we got.

  • Liked — Restaurant
  • Disliked — Rooms and bar
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CraigLJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2006

the Hillbark is an enigma. Lovely black and white building, Bentley outside, door handle missing from the front door sums up the experience. I booked a junior suite requesting a good view. We were allocated a room with three small windows in the bedroom 6 feet up the wall and a bathroom with only a shower - apparently only suites have bath. The staff handled the problem well, upgrading us to a suite which had a lovely view. The meal in the Yellow Room on the first night was good with the exception of the desserts which, like many restaurants, were a disappointment - the chocolate souffle was very sweet accompanied by an even sweeter merangue concoction. The manager and his staff were really good, helpful and attentive. The meal in the Grill on the second night was plain and OK, no more. The hotel has some nice touches such as the complimentary tea and coffee but misses the mark in a number of areas, no bathrobes, the tea tray was not removed till the next day, the turn down service never materialised.
The development of the hotel is a work in progress, perhaps these omissions and the door handle will be sorted during the year. At the moment it is expensive for what you get

  • Liked — Nothing in particular
  • Disliked — Poor value, pretentious
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peregrinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greater manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2006

An excellent experience. We arrived at this beautiful black and white building and was greated by Sarah who showed us arround the hotel and checked us into our bedroom. The room had 2 plasma screen tv's, one in the bathroom with a jacuzzi bathfor 2 !!!!! The bed was so comfortable we could not believe it. That night we dined in the Yellow Room Restaurant which gave us the best food, wine and service we had ever had during the three hour experence. Then we retired to our wonderful bedroom.
We had breakfast the following morning which again was excellent. Then we walked arround the grounds to help walk off all the food and wine from the previous night.
James the manager and all the staff were very attentive with nothing being too much trouble. The atmosphere was frendly and relaxed worth every penny.
You must go.

Helpful?
13 Thank truthtruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankby
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Port Sunlight
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillbark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillbark Hotel

Property: Hillbark Hotel
Address: Rangers Office Hillbark Road | Frankby, Frankby CH48 1NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Frankby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Frankby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hillbark Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hillbark Hotel & Spa, located in the 250 acres of parkland in Royden Park on the Wirral, is the only five-star hotel in the Liverpool City Region and the smallest five-star in the UK. The Elizabethan style mansion has 18 individually designed bedrooms, a choice of restaurants including an award winning fine dining restaurant The Dining Room at Hillbark and a luxurious spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Hillbark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillbark Hotel Frankby
Hillbark Hotel Wirral/Frankby, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing