We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Building”
Review of Hillbark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hillbark Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Frankby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Top flight Hotel and Restaurant, although appears expensive, you get what you pay for. Went to a friend's Daughter's wedding and it was exceptional. Beautiful house and surroundings, ideal for a wedding.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank forgel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillbarkManager, Public Relations Manager at Hillbark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear forgel,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, it was a pleasure to have you here for the wedding and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Helen Jones
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 282 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed here recently as a special occasion treat but have to say a high price to pay for a lovely setting and nothing else.

The hotel is stunning on the eye and in a lovely setting but that's about it !

Room was below expectation, food was well below expectation and don't even think about buying alcoholic beverages unless you like paying well through the nose for them --- glass of house wine and a 250ml bottle of beer (no draught beer) = £15 ! Complete rip off !

Staff whilst helpful were nothing better than you would find in a budget hotel

A very disappointing experience that tainted what should have been a special occasion experience !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank third-dimension50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillbarkManager, Public Relations Manager at Hillbark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear third-dimension50,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Hillbark, all feedback is greatly important to us.

It is unfortunate that your time here wasn’t all that it could have been. The price for the drinks you have stated is above the price it should have been; due to our extensive wine list you may have chosen unknowingly a more expensive wine.

We are pleased to hear that our staff were helpful, and hope that the above did not affect your stay too much as it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Kindest regards,

Helen Jones
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at Hillbark for one night last weekend, while up visiting Liverpool. The location of this place is stunning and you can take some short or longer walks through the local woods up to peaks from where you can view the whole of Liverpool. It as stunningly beautiful. The hotel itself has lots of character and charm in a mock-Tudor style built in the late 1800's, or so we were told. We were greeted in the carpark by Grace and James for whom nothing was too much trouble throughout our entire stay. In-room tea and coffee are not provided but they offer instead room service tea and coffee at no charge, and all the service we had was very efficient, smiley and nothing too much trouble. Dinner in the grill room was very good, just what we wanted and again waiter service efficient, charming and happy. Room (Seraphina) was clean and Bulgari shampoos etc were lovely, although some things like Q-tips and shower caps were missing, I suspect they would have come instantly had we asked, but we didn't need to. The toilet was in a really strange position jammed up against the bath (odd!) and there was no shower curtain, which we presumed was deliberate, but did mean care had to be taken when using it. The mirrors in the room were the lovely kind that make you look much thinner (Where can I buy one??)! The only real downside was the bed was rather too soft and both of us felt it in our backs the next day. The place was very quiet other than a birthday group that had come for dinner, we felt we might have been the only couple staying there, having said that, this didn't bother me at all - rather too quiet than too busy in my opinion. We would go back, although I'd probably enquire about a firmer bed next time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mabel_Gripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillbarkManager, Public Relations Manager at Hillbark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Mabel_Gripper,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it was a pleasure to have you here at Hillbark. It is great to hear you both had the time to take a walk through Royden Park as it does have some fantastic views! I have passed on your comments and everyone has been thrilled to hear you feedback regarding service, food and cleanliness.

It would be great to see you again in the near future, and we will be sure to supply a firmer mattress for you.

Kindest regards,

Helen Jones
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Good things - lovely building and wedding venue. Huge, nicely furnished room. Pleasant staff

Bad things - terrible nights sleep. Very noisy, from communal areas, floors and taps / flushes. We were woken at 6.15am by music booming out loudly from the restaurant below our room. Tried to call reception to sort it, but no answer. Ended up ringing room service.
Breakfast service slow and confused.
10am checkout - not ideal after very little sleep.
Bar prices unbelievable. £5.50 for a bottle of beer is beyond justification. Also, £2.50 per time for flat coke from the post-mix gun, and I was repeatedly overcharged for a glass of lime and soda.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greeny_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillbarkManager, Public Relations Manager at Hillbark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear greeny_4

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, regarding the loud music in the morning we can only put this down to a huge mistake on our part as whilst we were getting ready for the morning routine. We have raised this with our Night Porter who would have been on shift at the time and can assure you this won’t happen again.

Thank you for your comments the location of our hotel and the whole team, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kindest regards,

Helen Jones
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I loooove this hotel my partner took me here and was amazing, the feel of the hotel the atmosphere is fantastic, ideal for couple looking for a romantic get away, food amazing the views of the grounds was stunning if your looking for some luxary then really look no further

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vickym0090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillbarkManager, Public Relations Manager at Hillbark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear vickym0090,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it was a pleasure to have you both here. We are glad to hear you had such a pleasant stay and hope to see you again soon!

Kindest regards,

Helen Jones
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We've just had the most perfect happy wedding at hillbark and the bride and groom were both radiant! However... The location and building exterior are fantastic but once inside its tired and needs smarting up. The carpets in places were stained, torn, not fitted properly. The decor seemed dated and the hotel toilets left a lot to be desired.
When the ceremony had taken place we all went to get a drink. The poor lad who was serving was doing his best but it was a boiling hot day and he was swamped with customers! He looked bewildered so the father of the groom went on a mission to ask for more staff(who did appear) but he shouldn't of had to have done that.
The drinks are expensive... £6 for an archers and lemonade at night and £4.50 for Budweiser in day, so take money with you!
The room we stayed in was okay but we've stayed in better. The room was smallish and didn't seem to be 5star and it cost a lot to stay. The bed was comfy but apart from that there wasn't anything special. No kettle, tea etc in room, it's complimentary in the rooms and you ring for it(glad it was included in rm rate, we paid enough). The breakfast was a nice setting on terrace but the food was average.
I really don't know why it's five star I'd say its a high end 3star hotel charging high rates. Go for a wedding but get taxi home and save the money for the drinks.
I sound like I'm moaning but the wedding couple had a ball so that's all that matters xx

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maudkidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillbarkManager, Public Relations Manager at Hillbark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear maudkidd,

Thank you for taking the time to shareyour experience of your time here. It is unfortunate that you experienced the above issues whilst here, we have very rarely had any issue with cleanliness and can only put this down to the amount of events we had during the week which may have caused standards to slip and if so we apologise for this. The issues above have been addressed and we would like to thank you again for your feedback as it has allowed us to improve.

We are glad to hear you had such a fantastic day and hope that any issues stated didn't affect your stay too greatly. It was a pleasure to have you here and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Helen Jones
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed for one night following a wedding and had a very nice room in the second floor. The staff were friendly and attentive even though it was very busy with wedding guests everywhere in the hotel reception.

This place is not cheap though and rooms can cost around £200 depending on the package. Room service is included as is he breakfast which is cooked to order rather than buffet style.

As a wedding venue it is very nice with lovely grounds for photographs and Tudor style halls for the ceremony and wedding breakfast. There was a bit of a push to get everyone out by 10am the next morning but there was another wedding booking in straight after we left.

I have stayed at many hotels and I thought the bar prices here were excessive. Small bottles of beer were around £5.00 and a large glass of wine £6.00.

Room Tip: There are no lifts so if possible try and get the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillbarkManager, Public Relations Manager at Hillbark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Geoff S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are glad to hear you had such a pleasant stay following the wedding and enjoyed the surroundings of Hillbark. Your feedback has been passed on and everyone has been thrilled to hear your comments!

Kindest regards,

Helen Jones
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankby
4.8 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,377 reviews
5.9 mi away
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sunlight
292 reviews
4 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake
6.4 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
1,810 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillbark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillbark Hotel

Address: Rangers Office Hillbark Road | Frankby, Frankby CH48 1NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Frankby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Frankby
Price Range: $303 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hillbark Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hillbark Hotel & Spa, located in the 250 acres of parkland in Royden Park on the Wirral, is the only five-star hotel in the Liverpool City Region and the smallest five-star in the UK. The Elizabethan style mansion has 18 individually designed bedrooms, a choice of restaurants including an award winning fine dining restaurant The Dining Room at Hillbark and a luxurious spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hillbark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillbark Hotel Frankby
Hillbark Hotel Wirral/Frankby, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing