We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Peel Hey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Peel Hey
Ranked #1 of 1 Frankby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband had booked an afternoon tea as a birthday surprise for me at this local venue. We were seated in a conservatory which would have been nice on a sunny day but unfortunately it was a chilly wet day and the conservatory wasn't very comfortable.

The tea was presented on fine china and consisted of sandwiches of choice, fresh cream scone with a tasty jam and a detection of small cakes. They had a good selection of teas to choose from. We paid extra to have a glass of champagne which made it a bit more special.

The whole atmosphere of the occasion was dampened by the arrival of a funeral party who were directed to enter the building through the conservatory resulting in the door being left open which on a wet cold day was not welcoming at all.I had to ask a member of staff to close the door as I was cold.

A large funeral floral display was placed on a table in the centre of the conservatory which also had a negative affect on my birthday treat.

All in all it was a disappointing experience.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Scousegrannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeelHey, Owner at Peel Hey, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we are obviously disappointed that your experience at Peel Hey did not meet your, or our, expectations and can only apologise for this. As a very popular Afternoon Tea & Funeral venue, when bookings are made, sufficient time is allowed for guests to enjoy their experience in comfort, unfortunately on this occasion, the combination of a wet day, and funeral guests arriving slightly earlier than expected had a negative impact on your day. We hope to welcome you back to Peel Hey soon. Kind regards Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    45
    16
    11
    1
See reviews for
89
63
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just returned from Peel Hey, after a super weekend.Peel Hey laid on small dinner party to help us celebrate my mums 80th, nothing was too much trouble, had a room just for our party, beautifully decorated, the staff were fantastic, friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble. Rooms were very clean and well presented, and the best thing , they are dog friendly , what more can I say!!, Would thoroughly recommend to anyone. Many Thanks to Ken, Elena and the staff...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaynorSouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham City
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from this little gem.... Staff amazing nothing was too much trouble, all immaculately clean... Few minor niggles.... We viewed rooms prior to booking for our party of four... We were shown two rooms next door to each other and we were told they were booked for us, when we booked in the one room had been changed to the bizarre family room on two levels which has been previously mentioned, the room we were originally offered remained empty. Only a minor incident I know but as we were attending a funeral and we're having the refreshments there it was slightly worrying and added to an already stressful day. But if you are in the area you will not be disappointed the staff are amazing the food is good, and everywhere is spotless.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robchef50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeelHey, Owner at Peel Hey, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, Peel Hey has earned an excellent reputation for caring staff, quality of food & establishment. With regard to the change of one of your rooms, all our bedrooms are of the same high quality and offer double/ queen or twin options. Whilst every endeavour is made to meet guests' requests, due to operational reasons, it is not always possible to guarantee a particular room number. We hope to welcome you back to Peel Hey soon. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were visiting an old friend and were encouraged to stay at Peel Hey so we booked in for two nights. We had a great room with all that we needed and the staff were very attentive but didn't hassle. They were very kind and let us put our bicycles in their shed to keep them safe and were happy to give any advice about the local area. Breakfasts were great and this venue offered a perfect place to get the bus and the train into Liverpool for the day. Neither myself or my partner had ever been to the city of Liverpool and we were both blown away. What a fabulous city - with nearly all the attractions being free. We wished we had time to stay longer. We also wished we had the opportunity to sample one of the lovely cream teas at Peel Hey but we will do that the next time!! I have recently had a small accident resulting in a broken rib or two and the beds and pillows were really comfortable and meant I could get a good night's sleep. The only small thing I would mention is that some of the leaflets for guests need to be updated - but that is such a tiny point.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeelHey, Manager at Peel Hey, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Peel Hey on your recent visit to the Wirral, and for taking the time to write such a positive review. We have now updated our leaflets, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed at the Peel Hey for about 4 months whilst working in the area. I usually had one of two rooms, in the 'attic'. Don't think that this means they are small and cramped ( as in Upstairs/ downstairs servants quarters). Not at all, light and airy and beautifully decorated. They have the usual hair drier ( very important for us ladies), wardrobe, dressing table, chair, tv/DVD player, tea and coffee tray. Nice toiletries and very large bathrooms. Maybe a slight downside is the road can get a bit busy at peak times but the garden is lovely. Many an evening sat outside trying to catch the last few rays of sunshine.

Ken, Sarah, and Sue (proprietors) are so welcoming, nothing is ever too much trouble, even when they have had a hectic day.

I met some other lovely 'inmates' whilst staying there and we were all made to feel very welcome. We often discussed how we would love to hold our functions there wedding or birthday celebration), but sadly had no call to do so.

Evening meals can be taken at extra cost. These were always to a very high standard, beautiful salads etc. Breakfast is excellent, I usually had the poached eggs and these rival the quality of many a hotel breakfast.

If staying, try the cream tea as well, these are also excellent. My waistline can vouch for that!

Don't be fooled that this is ' just' a B&B, this is so much more....well worth the money, just watch your waistline, and I know I didn't want to come home to doing my own cleaning, making my own bed, and cooking........

Thoroughly recommend Peel Hey, would definitely go back if in the area.

Room Tip: The room downstairs is suitable for those in wheelchairs or for those less able. Family rooms ( sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeshSoutherner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We chanced upon Peel Hey in an unusual manner. After attending a funeral for a relative we were taken to Peel Hey for a reception.
We were very impressed with the greeting that met us, the delightful venue and the refreshments provided.
Some months later we visited for afternoon tea and again were very impressed by the lovely staff and the tea provided so much so that we have returned once more.
We have now asked friends to join us on a future visit either for tea of for Sunday lunch if this is available.
Pricing is very fair.
It is a short distance to West Kirby where you can walk off the calories as you look over the marine lake to the Dee and the Welsh hills.
Do visit Peel Hey. I do not think you will regret it.

Room Tip: we did not stay at the hotel but the other comments on Trip Advisor will convince you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I stayed here two nights a week for seven weeks in April/May 2013, whilst undertaking a work placement nearby. The owners and staff were so lovely and accommodating and made me feel so welcome during a difficult couple of months - Peel Hey definitely became a home away from home! I stayed in the same lovely single room each week; it was always beautifully clean and comfortable, with a good WiFi connection and I always got an excellent night's sleep. I would highly recommend this guest house (or 'boutique hotel' as another reviewer said!) and would like to apologise to Ken, Sue and Sarah for not writing this review sooner. Thank you so much for providing such a comfortable little haven at such an important time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spills87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankby
0.7 mi away
Hillbark Hotel
Hillbark Hotel
#1 of 1 in Frankby
268 reviews
3.3 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
747 reviews
5.3 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake
9.3 mi away
Inglewood Manor
Inglewood Manor
#2 of 3 in Ledsham
757 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peel Hey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peel Hey

Property: Peel Hey
Address: Peel Hey Frankby Road | Frankby, Wirral, Frankby CH48 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Frankby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Frankby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peel Hey 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning 4 Star Gold Award - Peel Hey, offers luxury accommodation & is located in the picturesque village of Frankby, close to Hoylake and West Kirby, yet is just 15 minutes from the centre of Liverpool. All en-suite bedrooms have been individually styled and combine modern facilities with individual character. Flat screen TVs, DVD, WiFi & hospitality tray. Close to M53 for Liverpool & Chester making an ideal base for business, leisure or golf. Award winning breakfasts. Ideal venue for Afternoon Tea, Light Lunches, Weddings, Civil Marriages, Funerals, Christenings and Anniversaries. Afternoon Teas, Café. Licensed. Non-Smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Peel Hey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peel Hey Wirral/Frankby, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing