We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Peel Hey!!”
Review of Peel Hey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Peel Hey
Ranked #1 of 1 Frankby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just returned from Peel Hey, after a super weekend.Peel Hey laid on small dinner party to help us celebrate my mums 80th, nothing was too much trouble, had a room just for our party, beautifully decorated, the staff were fantastic, friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble. Rooms were very clean and well presented, and the best thing , they are dog friendly , what more can I say!!, Would thoroughly recommend to anyone. Many Thanks to Ken, Elena and the staff...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaynorSouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
There are newer reviews for Peel Hey
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 268 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from this little gem.... Staff amazing nothing was too much trouble, all immaculately clean... Few minor niggles.... We viewed rooms prior to booking for our party of four... We were shown two rooms next door to each other and we were told they were booked for us, when we booked in the one room had been changed to the bizarre family room on two levels which has been previously mentioned, the room we were originally offered remained empty. Only a minor incident I know but as we were attending a funeral and we're having the refreshments there it was slightly worrying and added to an already stressful day. But if you are in the area you will not be disappointed the staff are amazing the food is good, and everywhere is spotless.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robchef50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeelHey, Owner at Peel Hey, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, Peel Hey has earned an excellent reputation for caring staff, quality of food & establishment. With regard to the change of one of your rooms, all our bedrooms are of the same high quality and offer double/ queen or twin options. Whilst every endeavour is made to meet guests' requests, due to operational reasons, it is not always possible to guarantee a particular room number. We hope to welcome you back to Peel Hey soon. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were visiting an old friend and were encouraged to stay at Peel Hey so we booked in for two nights. We had a great room with all that we needed and the staff were very attentive but didn't hassle. They were very kind and let us put our bicycles in their shed to keep them safe and were happy to give any advice about the local area. Breakfasts were great and this venue offered a perfect place to get the bus and the train into Liverpool for the day. Neither myself or my partner had ever been to the city of Liverpool and we were both blown away. What a fabulous city - with nearly all the attractions being free. We wished we had time to stay longer. We also wished we had the opportunity to sample one of the lovely cream teas at Peel Hey but we will do that the next time!! I have recently had a small accident resulting in a broken rib or two and the beds and pillows were really comfortable and meant I could get a good night's sleep. The only small thing I would mention is that some of the leaflets for guests need to be updated - but that is such a tiny point.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeelHey, Manager at Peel Hey, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at Peel Hey on your recent visit to the Wirral, and for taking the time to write such a positive review. We have now updated our leaflets, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed at the Peel Hey for about 4 months whilst working in the area. I usually had one of two rooms, in the 'attic'. Don't think that this means they are small and cramped ( as in Upstairs/ downstairs servants quarters). Not at all, light and airy and beautifully decorated. They have the usual hair drier ( very important for us ladies), wardrobe, dressing table, chair, tv/DVD player, tea and coffee tray. Nice toiletries and very large bathrooms. Maybe a slight downside is the road can get a bit busy at peak times but the garden is lovely. Many an evening sat outside trying to catch the last few rays of sunshine.

Ken, Sarah, and Sue (proprietors) are so welcoming, nothing is ever too much trouble, even when they have had a hectic day.

I met some other lovely 'inmates' whilst staying there and we were all made to feel very welcome. We often discussed how we would love to hold our functions there wedding or birthday celebration), but sadly had no call to do so.

Evening meals can be taken at extra cost. These were always to a very high standard, beautiful salads etc. Breakfast is excellent, I usually had the poached eggs and these rival the quality of many a hotel breakfast.

If staying, try the cream tea as well, these are also excellent. My waistline can vouch for that!

Don't be fooled that this is ' just' a B&B, this is so much more....well worth the money, just watch your waistline, and I know I didn't want to come home to doing my own cleaning, making my own bed, and cooking........

Thoroughly recommend Peel Hey, would definitely go back if in the area.

Room Tip: The room downstairs is suitable for those in wheelchairs or for those less able. Family rooms ( sp...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeshSoutherner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We chanced upon Peel Hey in an unusual manner. After attending a funeral for a relative we were taken to Peel Hey for a reception.
We were very impressed with the greeting that met us, the delightful venue and the refreshments provided.
Some months later we visited for afternoon tea and again were very impressed by the lovely staff and the tea provided so much so that we have returned once more.
We have now asked friends to join us on a future visit either for tea of for Sunday lunch if this is available.
Pricing is very fair.
It is a short distance to West Kirby where you can walk off the calories as you look over the marine lake to the Dee and the Welsh hills.
Do visit Peel Hey. I do not think you will regret it.

Room Tip: we did not stay at the hotel but the other comments on Trip Advisor will convince you.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I stayed here two nights a week for seven weeks in April/May 2013, whilst undertaking a work placement nearby. The owners and staff were so lovely and accommodating and made me feel so welcome during a difficult couple of months - Peel Hey definitely became a home away from home! I stayed in the same lovely single room each week; it was always beautifully clean and comfortable, with a good WiFi connection and I always got an excellent night's sleep. I would highly recommend this guest house (or 'boutique hotel' as another reviewer said!) and would like to apologise to Ken, Sue and Sarah for not writing this review sooner. Thank you so much for providing such a comfortable little haven at such an important time!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spills87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed here two nights August 2013. Lovely room,very helpful and friendly staff/owners and a relaxed welcoming atmostphere.We enjoyed an excellent evening meal and bottle of wine the first night and this was especially welcome as we had had a tiring day and a long journey.Breakfasts were well cooked with a good cafetiere of coffee. Could have stayed longer. Lots of places in the area to eat in the evening within driving distance but would not have wanted to walk back from them. eating in was the best option for us!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankby
3.3 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
805 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake
0.7 mi away
Hillbark Hotel
Hillbark Hotel
#1 of 1 in Frankby
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
6.4 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
1,684 reviews
5.3 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peel Hey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peel Hey

Address: Peel Hey Frankby Road | Frankby, Wirral, Frankby CH48 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Frankby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Frankby
Price Range: $108 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peel Hey 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning 4 Star Gold Award - Peel Hey, offers luxury accommodation & is located in the picturesque village of Frankby, close to Hoylake and West Kirby, yet is just 15 minutes from the centre of Liverpool. All en-suite bedrooms have been individually styled and combine modern facilities with individual character. Flat screen TVs, DVD, WiFi & hospitality tray. Close to M53 for Liverpool & Chester making an ideal base for business, leisure or golf. Award winning breakfasts. Ideal venue for Afternoon Tea, Light Lunches, Weddings, Civil Marriages, Funerals, Christenings and Anniversaries. Afternoon Teas, Café. Licensed. Non-Smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Peel Hey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peel Hey Wirral/Frankby, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing