We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Frankby

“Sunday lunch”
Review of The Farmers Arms

The Farmers Arms
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Frankby
Price range: $4 - $16
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: We are currently closed for a brand new refurbishment - we will be reopening soon with a brand new name and sparkling new look.
Reviewed January 20, 2020

Sunday lunch -
Burnt Yorkshire puddings
Beef was over but the lamb was excellent
Roasties had been sat in fat too long and had become hard
Cauliflower cheese was watery and the cheese sauce not good at all
Veg was good

Restaurant -
Lovey pub atmosphere
Tables were far too close together in the restaurant but this was rectified by moving into the bar area.

Service-
Arrived and stood next to the manager and 4 waitresses yet was not acknowledged for 5 minutes
Had to ask multiple times for a drink then they arrived in double - lack of communication with the bar staff.
Asked 5 members of staff for a crayon - only one actually came back to say he couldn’t find one.
Had to get up and go and ask for the bill as all staff were huddled around the till chatting.

Such a shame as there is potential for an excellent meal here especially with the beer garden and the cosy feel of the pub but it is seriously lacking in management and the waitresses need training properly if it is to get any better.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank sophiee929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 266 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2020 via mobile

Popped in today for the first time in probably 9 years. I had heard the place had changed management and we had already heard good things. We were out for a drive my wife and I and passing by thought we should give it a try. The staff managed to fit us in near to the musicians they had providing background music for the diners. My wife and I went for the beef burgers although there was plenty to choose from on the Sunday menu. The burgers were well prepared and presented and came with fries and red cabbage coleslaw. A good sized burger meant neither of us had room for a dessert. I would recommend booking to avoid disappointment. We will definitely be back.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2019

Just ordered a pint of bitter and a glass of lemonade. £7.30.

£3.80 for the pint. £3.50 for siphoned lemonade, half pint.

Not coming here again.

Date of visit: December 2019
3  Thank LeeGerrard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2019

Visited the Farmers arms as we have NEW Labrador puppy 4 months Dylan, as Dog friendly, it was ideal first outing for a meal with him.
A great experience was had, we were welcomed as we arrived and Dylan had water and organic biscuits served as we perused the menu with drinks.
Lunch set menu and full menu had plenty of choice.
Food was Great and staff support equally
Will definitely be back
Thanks the Manager all the staff at the Farmers

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank andrewwynjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2019

Took my mum (81) for lunch. Had the 2 course budget menu for £12, good food, a notch above usual pub grub. Well looked after by friendly staff. Cosy fire and setting. Back entrance from car park easily accessible up ramp from disabled parking spots. Disabled WC facilities good and very clean. Would come again.

Date of visit: November 2019
1  Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Farmers Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Farmers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing