We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brimington
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Stayed for 3nights in one of the feature rooms in the Bothy lodge part of the hotel which is a separate complex. Beautiful hotel and room with excellent breakfast, swimming pool was lovely with steam room and sauna. Everywhere was clean and staff were helpful. There were a couple of downsides though, the room was up a flight of steep narrow stairs (although it does warn of this on their website), and the noise from the main road was quite bad, I was surprised by that as I expected the hall to be set back from the road but the it is on a busy main road and as the room did get a bit hot we wanted the windows open so it was a bit noisy. Other than that we has a lovely stay and found a great pub just down the road with a lovely menu, I think it was called the Hollingwood

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne0994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for leaving your review following your leisure break with us last month.

Delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and in particular enjoyed the use of our Parklands Health & Fitness Suite with all its lovely facilities. Its always an advantage to have well appointed leisure facilities when you are away for a break and all of our rates include complimentary use of all these facilities throughout your stay.

As a Georgian Manor House, unfortunately not a purpose built hotel, we do have some narrow stairways and changes of evaluation, and some of our rooms are located close to the road. Always wise to check with reception when making the reservation to establish the quieter rooms as there are many that are set back into the garden and enjoy beautiful views over our 29 acres of grounds.

Delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future, and on that occasion, offering you one of our more peaceful rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    253
    86
    29
    18
See reviews for
232
396
29
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Fabulous gardens, lovely room, friendly staff. Didn't use the pool and gym but will remember they are available in case I get the opportunity to be there again.
We booked into the restaurant and were told it was a carvery night- the stuffed aubergine and cooked veg (vegetarian with cheese option) were absolutely delicious. Fruit salad was one of the desserts available so a healthy meal all round- although the cheeseboard was also very tempting.
Only quibble might have been the small bar which was occupied by viewers of a football match.
Breakfast was lovely- would have liked poached eggs but didn't ask; the scrambled eggs and mushrooms were ok, the fruit bowl as superb, they managed to supply pears at the perfect stage of ripeness. Lovely!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivie75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave this lovely review which I read with pleasure.

I hope you do return again soon because the Health & Fitness Suite, Parklands, is a lovely facility available to all guests staying at the hotel, and having recently been refurbished, provides an excellent private facility for guests to enjoy.

Thank you for your praise of the food, and hope it will encourage you to return again in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Me and my husband got married at this beautiful venue in the marquee in June 2012. We had couldn't have asked for a more perfect day and it was down to this amazing venue and the staff that run it...in particular their wedding coordinator Rona. She was absolutely brilliant from day one...not only was she very organised and proffesional..she also showed enthusiasm and genuine care throughout helping us plan our perfect wedding. I cant thank her enough for all that she did for us to make our day special. She truly is an credit to this outstanding venue!!

The other staff were all very friendly and professional. On the actual day we had a lady called Tracey who ensured that the day ran as smoothly as possible and she sure did this exceptionally. She was very professional and calming throughout the day and we are very grateful for all she did. She was fab!

The marquee itself is perfect...so much class and the gardens sorrounding it are so beautiful. The toilets are so posh too! Unfortunately it rained on our wedding day but due to the beautiful marquee we still managed to get many gorgeous wedding photos.

The food was delicious...presented well and tasted devine! The service itself ran so smoothly. The buffet at night was very impressive too..especially the hog roast!

The rooms are so elegant! Very clean and spacious. We had a beautiful room with a four post bed and a Jacuzzi which we have stayed in again for our first wedding for our anniversary which was very special...its a gorgeous room and it brought back lots of lovely memories!

If you are looking for a wedding venue with class, beauty and the 'wow' factor (its true as cheesy as it sounds!) then this is the place to get married. I seriously cannot fault it and we are extremely thankful to this venue and the staff (especially Rona and Tracey!) for making our day so special!! We can't wait to go back for our second anniversary in June!

Nicola and Dave Waller



  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niccwaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Wow, we have had some incredible reviews left by wedding guests and they are always a pleasure to read and to respond to, but this review is very special.

It was an absolute pleasure to provide you with the venue of your dreams for your wedding celebrations. In actual fact you were one of the first couples to enjoy the benefit of our superb Summer Garden Marquee, and whilst it was one of those very wet summer days that June can sometimes provide us, your spirits were never dampened and your lovely excitement was very contagious.

We all thoroughly enjoyed looking after you on your big day. Like many of our couples it is a pleasure to keep in touch with you, and I am really looking forward to meeting with you and your new family when you return to celebrate your second wedding anniversary in June.

Thank you for your fabulous words and generous praise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Short mid week break. Found staff rude and unhelpful. Noisy rooms due to main road outside. Bathroom not been cleaned and marks found on supposedly "clean" sheets. Took 2 trips to reception to rectify.

Will not be booking again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John35789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
This is why the anonymity of reviews is so frustrating and so open to abuse.

We have no recollection of any such complaint in respect of "trips to reception", and therefore doubt the genuineness of this review.

As for rude and unhelpful staff - are you sure you were at Ringwood Hall?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

This Hotel is beautiful, nothing to complain about I went for a Murder Mystery week-end & it was brilliant. The rooms have very comfy beds. Excellent food bar snacks & breakfast Buffett. Staff very friendly. Ideal setting for a wedding with the beautiful gardens.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to read.

Delighted that you enjoyed your murder mystery evening with us. We find murder mystery events extremely popular and always well attended, so much so that we are planning to run a murder mystery weekend in January next year.

Delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay, in particular the excellence of the food, and that the friendliness of the staff and the general level of comfort exceeded your expectations.

Thank you also for your splendid and very accurate observation that we are the ideal setting for a wedding, most particularly because of our beautiful gardens.

If you plan to come back and see us sometime later in the year, you will be able to enjoy the gardens when they are in full bloom and are truly amazing !!

Maybe return next January to participate in our "School Reunion" murder mystery weekend.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

We traveled from Cumbria to stay and what a lovely place, checked in no problem and offer of taking our bags for us. The hotel pool was lovely very clean and relaxing with sauna also. The food was pricy but very very tasty and there was a good amount served! The hotel overall was very clean, fantastic room, clean bright and all facilities needed to help prep for a families wedding day! One small hiccup, we were in a room right outside the delivery and so the wake up call we had declined was provided in other ways but it didn't spoil our stay in any way! We still had an overall excellent stay. :-)

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank leannelear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave this lovely review, and delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

A very wise decision to travel the day before the wedding and stay for 2 nights, as it takes so much pressure off wedding guests if they don`t have to drive a distance on the day. Our special wedding reception rates for guests attending a wedding are designed to encourage more than one night stays as the rate is available for as many nights as required.

Sorry about the `alarm call` with the early delivery. Whilst we do have strict rules for deliveries not to arrive before 9am, sometimes drivers are substituted and can be known to break the rule. My apologies.

That said, it seems it did not spoil your stay which is great news and thank you for your very generous praise of our facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristolian
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed on Weds & Thurs nights with friends for a short break using KGB vouchers when the hotel was relatively quiet. We upgraded to suites which were very nice and worth the extra. Ate in the restaurant the first evening as we had wine included when buying two courses each and the food was good as was the service. Breakfast on both mornings was very good, buffet style with a good selection and there was also the option of ordering a small range of dishes from the kitchen. The staff throughout were very accommodating, friendly and responsive which gives the place a nice feel. The building is impressive and the grounds, although not at their best at this time of year, are extensive and very well looked after. You can easily see why this is a popular wedding venue. We also had access to the spa which was very good. Overall, we would certainly consider staying again. On the second evening we ate at the Rose & Crown in Barlborough, about 5 miles away, which does excellent ale and food, well worth visiting.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Anniemalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
A lovely review - thank you for leaving it. It was a pleasure to read your review and in particular your kind comments about food and service.

Situated in extensive renovated Victorian gardens and parklands, Ringwood is a perfect location for a leisure break and I`m delighted that you agree.

Because of the nature of the building we have a variety of styles of bedrooms, and it is well worth speaking direct to a receptionist when making an enquiry to establish the best style of room for the occasion of your visit. Upgrades to suites and feature rooms can sometimes cost very little extra, depending on the time of week or time of year, and can do much to greatly enhance the experience.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brimington
6.2 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
22.1 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
4.9 mi away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
20.1 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ringwood Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringwood Hall Hotel

Property: Ringwood Hall Hotel
Address: Ringwood Road | Near Chesterfield, Brimington, Chesterfield S43 1DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Brimington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brimington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ringwood Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ringwood Hall Hotel is a beautiful Georgian grade 11 listed Manor House set in 29 acres of award winning grounds. The hotel is easily accessed from junctions 29 & 30 of the M1, with free parking for over 150 vehicles. The hotel is set at the gateway to the magnificent Peak District National Park, while Chatsworth House, Bolsover Castle, Hardwick Hall and the many varied attractions of the Peak District are within easy travel. Ringwood Hall Hotel offers 74 en-suite bedrooms including three apartments, several four posters and ten feature rooms which have king or queen sized beds, power showers or corner baths, while all overnight guests enjoy complimentary membership to our Health & Fitness Club with indoor pool, sauna, steamroom and well equipped gymnasium. The hotel has a unique Victorian kitchen garden where herbs and vegetables grown are used in the food served in our Coach House Dining Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ringwood Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ringwood Hall Chesterfield
Hotel Ringwood Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing