We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most Perfect Wedding Venue.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ringwood Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brimington
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Most Perfect Wedding Venue.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We choose Ringwood Hall for our wedding and are so glad we did as we could not have chosen a more perfect place. From the moment I arrived with my family the night before the staff were amazing. They looked after everyone so well on the Friday night for our family function. The rooms are all fantastic, everyone was so pleased. Our wedding was on the saturday and I want to give Tracey a special thank you as she was brillient from start to finish. The whole day ran so smoothly, despite the rubish weather. The staff could not have done more to make our wedding any better. Would reccomend Ringwood Hall to anyone thinking about choosing it for there wedding, you will not be dissapointed. I will definately be going back to stay again!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Wow, what a wonderful review thank you. Delighted that you recommend us so highly following your marriage and wedding celebrations at Ringwood.

As I have suggested previously, we always recommend that the bride and her girls stay the night prior to settle in to be pampered the day before the wedding. On some occasions, as you choose, we are delighted to provide the family with a private dining room to allow for family and friends to gather and mingle together the night before the wedding and enjoy an informal meal as all the excitement builds for the big day.

It was disappointing that the weather on your special day was changeable although it certainly did not give any cause for concern. All the photographs took place in the garden and the Summer Garden Marquee supervised by Tracy and her team, once again provided the perfect location for wedding celebrations.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back and, do not forget, call the wedding team to access the special first anniversary return wedding rates.

On behalf of Tracy and all the wedding team at Ringwood, we would like to take this opportunity of wishing you a wonderful first year of marriage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    241
    86
    28
    17
See reviews for
228
379
28
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Great looking hotel, beautifully kept gardens. We stayed two nights and an ideal location for touring Derbyshire. About 30 mins to Chatsworth. Matlock, Bakewell etc.
The hotel is large and goes of in all directions. We had a room at the far end of the hotel, which was a bit of a trek to get to. Room and bathroom excellent. Good size and very clean.
Staff very efficient and friendly and helpful. Food excellent.
Wedding going on whilst we were there, but didnt interfere with this and no noise apparent at night. Only thing that changed was we had to eat upstairs in one of the smaller dining rooms instead of the main restaurant. This was not a problem as the room was beautiful and overlooked the gardens. Would definitely recommend, if you dont mind walking a fair distance to your room, does involve also stairs.

the only downside was a number of guests obviously business men or reps, using laptops and mobiles in the restaurant, kind of took the edge off a bit. However, understand hotels have to cater for all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave this lovely review.

Delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and completely agree that our location is absolutely ideal for touring Derbyshire as I have outlined in my response to the previous review.

We do enjoy the benefit of wonderful gardens which are looked after by our team of six gardeners, headed by Derek who is not only endeavouring to maintain the gardens but also continues to open up new garden areas as we progress with the restoration of the historic garden. Hard to believe that 14 years ago immediately pre current ownership the gardens were in a state of complete dereliction. As an old Georgian Manor House and therefore not purpose built as a hotel, the corridors do ramble off in all sorts of directions with changes of elevation, and a trip to one of the more remote rooms can take a while. However, luggage assistance is always available and some of our more remote hotel bedrooms situated in a courtyard adjacent to the Health & Fitness Club are preferably accessed by car with parking directly outside. Always to have the conversation with reception on booking to make sure the location of the room suits your needs and requirements suitable for the purpose of your visit.

The Coach House dining room is often specially requested by clients for their wedding celebrations as it`s such a beautiful suite and enjoys the benefit of private facilities. Our second restaurant is the Hollingwood Suite which as you say overlooks the gardens and parkland. Serviced by the same staff and with the same menu, it is our second restaurant and on Saturday nights we enjoy the wonderful music provided by James our resident guitarist.

Laptops and mobile phones are endemic everywhere I`m afraid...........part of modern communication. At the very least it does prove that our wireless broadband signals are strong!

Overall I have to agree Ringwood Hall is a very special place for lots of reasons, not least it`s setting and it`s staff, and I would entirely agree with your overall observation that we are "quirky but nice".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

My family and I stayed for 2 nights in Apartment 402 from Sunday to Tues this week. Pamela couldnt do enough for me when I booked the stay and was amazingly helpful with sorting everything out and getting me a fab DBB price. The apartment was ideal for a young family and we made full use of the restaurant for Breakfast and Dinner. The staff were so helpful with my 2 little Boys and were very attentive. The food and wine were also very good and reasonably priced for the extras we paid for. I would recommend this hotel to annyway heading to Derbyshire, and Matock and the heights of Abraham are a must for sightseeing! Thank you for a lovely stay we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheekychickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Wonderful review thank you.

Our Devonshire Apartments, situated in a private courtyard with adjacent parking are the perfect choice for a family break in the Peak District.

Enjoying the benefits of private en-suite facilities with a fully fitted kitchen, clients can choose between a room only rate or indeed breakfast and if required dinner inclusive rate. Some are entirely happy, particularly with young children, to opt for the self catering route. With three large supermarkets and every fast food imaginable within a 4 mile radius, it could not be easier.

Chesterfield sits on the gateway to the Peak District and therefore a whole host of attractions, particularly those most suitable for children as you mentioned, are within easy access.

For those seeking a more cultural Peak District Break, historic houses, castles and gardens are within striking distance.

Delighted that you had such a wonderful time and that yet again helpful attentive staff get a special mention, and we hope to welcome you to a return visit in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed as a guest of a wedding. The hotel were great with our requests for early check and the whole party was allocated rooms straight away. They had done a great job of setting the rooms up and were very quick to turnaround the rooms for the various stages of the day. The food was very good and the bar prices were value for money with a bottle of cava for £21. Overall we really enjoyed our stay. Rooms were very clean and it looked like they were in the process of renovating the rooms as some they all seemed to be different. Its such a shame i didnt get a chance to have a walk of the grounds as they looked stunning.

Although my one complaint was when i booked the hotel it was at a cost of £96 and nothing was mentioned about any offers they had on at the time, However when i looked online should you stay on a friday night or a sunday night staying for a extra night would be a total of £99 for the two nights, should you stay thurs/fri & sun/mon. Being there the night before would of been less hassle the day of the wedding for guests travelling some distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kozzie_Lumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to leave this lovely review.

Delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found all the facilities to be entirely to your satisfaction. Particularly reassuring to read your comment that you considered everything to be good value for money. Value and affordability are key words and it is pleasing to have this confirmed at Ringwood.

Sorry if the accommodation offers were not as clear as they could be. The wedding team are always keen to discuss special rates for guests staying with wedding parties with their couples, and ensure that they are aware that the special rate is available for the night prior to the wedding - or indeed the night after also. At certain times of the year we do offer special rates generally on our website, but these are rarely better value than the special accommodation rates we automatically give to our wedding couples.

It is excellent advice to future clients to check out the website for special offers and to book direct with reception rather more than online to ensure personal service and maximum value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Over the past 2 years I have stayed at the Ringwood Hall on numerous a casinos these have always been on business. I have probably styled in most of the hotel and seen many weddings and functions taking place.

The hotel is always very professional and well present. The food can be a little iffy, but has improved dramatically in recent months.

Definitely the best in Chesterfield.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Crazydad78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to put this review on Trip Advisor.

We are always delighted to receive recommendation from our corporate clients. Despite high levels of wedding and private dining activity taking place, we also have a strong corporate base and like to ensure that our business visitors receive the appropriate style of facility and level of service.

We hope to see you return regularly and that you continue to enjoy the food in the restaurant, but as a regular we are always happy to accommodate any particular dining requirements that you may have, even if it`s not available on the menu. Please, just ask and Jen and her team in the restaurant will be happy to oblige.

Thank you for your wonderful comment "definitely the best in Chesterfield". We could not ask for a better recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I held our wedding here just recently. The hotel is beautiful and the gardens are perfect for photographs. All the staff were fantastic, especially Dan our MC. The entire day was just amazing and ran so smoothly. We had lots of lovely comments from guests about the hotel rooms, food, coach house suite, gardens and hotel staff.

Thank you very much to everyone at Ringwood Hall for being a part of our special day. It was everything we could have wished for and more.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenCog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.

Delighted to read that your wedding day was amazing and that everything went to plan and exceeded your expectations.

Weddings in the Coach House Suite are always so successful because of the intimate nature of the room with all its private facilities, and it was pleasing to read how much you had enjoyed the day.

Dan is an excellent MC and, like his colleagues, is entirely focused on his couple on their special day ensuring that all the planning comes together and no detail is overlooked.

Glad to read yet again recommendation about our lovely hotel rooms which, unlike so many properties, are very individual and enjoy the benefit of lovely facilities.

Thank you for your wonderful thanks and we hope that you return to visit us on future occasions, not least your first wedding anniversary. Just ring and ask for our first anniversary rates and it will be our pleasure to assist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We don't normally get around to writing reviews but this is one we couldn't miss doing.
From the moment we contacted Ringwood Hall concerning our wedding to the day itself we couldn't have asked for anymore. Lindsay was brilliant and like our own personal wedding coordinator always on hand for advice and available for as many meeting as we wished for, even in our most stressed situations like adding people on the day before she made it easy. The day itself went off without any hitches what so ever, we had never met Tracy or Scott before but they were AMAZING and all our guests commented afterward how brilliant they both were. Tracy was aways in the background to help me with anything i wanted from advising me when i should go to the loo to getting things from my room to finding my ever disappearing glass of wine :) There are so many other nice things i could say about the day but id go on forever. So just on a final note if your thinking of getting married here then do it! as you wont be disappointed. To all the staff THANK YOU once again Mr and Mrs Markie

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emily m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write this review as I note that you do not normally do that.

Delighted that you had such a wonderful wedding day at Ringwood Hall in our Summer Garden Marquee with Tracy as your MC.

From the moment that a couple contact us with a view to carrying out their wedding plans at Ringwood, we endeavour to ensure that the journey towards the big day is as special and exciting as the big day itself. The wedding team from the wedding co-ordinators and planners through to the MC`s who are operational on the day, all have the same objective in mind and that is to provide personal attention, advice and support in a relaxed, friendly and accommodating manner.

A wonderful recommendation thank you and on behalf of Tracy and Lindsay in particular we wish you all the very best in your married life together, and hope to welcome you on a return visit......do not forget we offer very special rates for first year anniversaries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brimington
6.2 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#1 of 15 in Chesterfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
22.1 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
4.9 mi away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ringwood Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringwood Hall Hotel

Property: Ringwood Hall Hotel
Address: Ringwood Road | Near Chesterfield, Brimington, Chesterfield S43 1DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Brimington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brimington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ringwood Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ringwood Hall Hotel is a beautiful Georgian grade 11 listed Manor House set in 29 acres of award winning grounds. The hotel is easily accessed from junctions 29 & 30 of the M1, with free parking for over 150 vehicles. The hotel is set at the gateway to the magnificent Peak District National Park, while Chatsworth House, Bolsover Castle, Hardwick Hall and the many varied attractions of the Peak District are within easy travel. Ringwood Hall Hotel offers 74 en-suite bedrooms including three apartments, several four posters and ten feature rooms which have king or queen sized beds, power showers or corner baths, while all overnight guests enjoy complimentary membership to our Health & Fitness Club with indoor pool, sauna, steamroom and well equipped gymnasium. The hotel has a unique Victorian kitchen garden where herbs and vegetables grown are used in the food served in our Coach House Dining Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Ringwood Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ringwood Hall Chesterfield
Hotel Ringwood Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing