We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad weather”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brimington
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“bad weather”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I was travelling home to Derby from staveley and was passing Ringwood hall on Friday 25/1/13 when the heavy snow arrived.
cars were unable to get up the hill heading towards Chesterfield , so I decided to pull into ringwood hall hotel to see if they had a room for the night.
the warm friendly welcome I received from several members of staff was exceptional and they could not have helped me more.
The following morning I got up early as I needed to be in Chesterfield for 8am, the young man on reception was very helpful telling me the condition of the roads etc.

the room was first class and very comfortable, the only downside that breakfast was from 8am.

the staff were a credit to this hotel and you should be proud of the service you offer your guests

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanson729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your wonderfull review following your unexpected overnight stay with us as a result of the sudden onset of adverse weather.

As has been said previously we are blessed with a very attentive, interested and caring team of staff at Ringwood and, recognising your unhappy plight, they would have been only too pleased to offer you every assistance, Had the weather continued without the happy sudden thaw the following morning you may be certain they would have readily "dug you out!".

An early breakfast tray to your room could easily have been available, perhaps the room card was not visible enough within your room identifying this as an option. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day and it would have been inhospitable of us not to send you on your way without one!

I am indeed proud of the team here at Ringwood and I am delighted that they provided you with first class service in a caring way, and we hope to look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    260
    94
    30
    18
See reviews for
252
402
29
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Attending wedding reception of our friends there after Christmas 2012. It was very nice. The overall setting of the room was great and grand. The hotel staff was nice and friendly. The restroom and facilities were nice and clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scawby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent attendance at a festive wedding in December 2012.

Our wedding couples who choose December for their celebrations are never disappointed as the ambience is very special, and our cosy log fires and extensive grounds and parklands, particularly when covered with frost or snow, provide breathtaking photographic opportunities.

Delighted that you had nsuch a great time and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed at this fabulous Hotel for my Birthday with a party of 12 for 2 nights.How amazing !!!!! the warm and friendly greeting on arrival from John and the team just started the weekend off .The courtesy of the staff was commented on throughout our stay nothing was too much trouble.The rooms were of a very high standard and so comfortable with amazing views of the lake and gardens.The Christmas Party was so festive we even had snow which was the icing on the cake.The food and service was excellent.The DJ was so good he kept the party on the dance floor all night although some guests had to leave due to the adverse weather.The TDH menu on Saturday was so extensive we could not believe it.The food was faultless and the service top notch.The leisure facilities were spotless.Our Breakfast was buffet style,it was so tasty and hot with plenty to eat and again so much choice .A big thank you to all the staff you should be very proud of the service and warmth you offer it is a unique commodity these days

Room Tip: Rooms 221 to 225 were fantastic for the views but it was a bit of a jaunt (worth every step)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackmarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review which we are very appreciative of.

It was our absolute pleasure to welcome you and your group of friends for your weekend of partying and celebrating, and we are delighted that you had such a thoroughly good time.

As evidenced in previous reviews, many guests enjoy using our Special Events Calendar, and post Christmas parties for a private celebration. Often these provide a wonderful way of ensuring the atmosphere in a fun filled evening.

To gain maximum benefit and enjoyment from the weekend, many of our clients, as you and your guests did, follow this by using the weekend to explore the local area and then enjoying the leisure facilities and dining facilities at Ringwood as a perfect way of extending the celebrations.

Chesterfield is a quirky little market town with a fabulous weekend market, lots of interesting pubs and coffee shops and, sitting at the gateway to the Peak District National Park, access to some of the most beautiful walks, drives and historic houses of interest, not least Chatsworth House.

It is my understanding that you managed to do and see lots of things during your weekend with us, and I am delighted that you had such a great time.

A warm welcome is exactly what we aim to provide and, it seems that we did just that for you and your friends.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back on future occasions to enjoy great food, good fun and great service again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed here on business and it was an excellent choice! Hotel shrouded in mist and frost, and the welcome was warm and welcoming. A lovely, spacious room - no duvets here - just good, old fashioned comfort. The staff here are very happy - so different from the usual chain hotels. I ate in the dining room a couple of times - food was good (although the Christmas music was a bit, well, out of place!) and the restaurant has a really nice feel to it. Would very much recommend for women travelling alone. Felt really homely - hope to go again for pleasure!

Room Tip: Garden rooms really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muddyduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
A warm welcome is exactly what we aim to achieve at Ringwood Hall Hotel.

We are blessed with genuinely friendly, courteous and willing staff whose aim is to provide the best service in a friendly and efficient way.

We like to think that we recognise different client expectations, and whilst we are perceived in many of the reviews on this site to be a spectacular wedding venue, we also provide a traditional welcome to all other client types also.

As a business lady travelling alone we hope to be able to create the warmth of welcome in a comfortable setting. Clearly we have achieved thisand we look forward to welcoming you back on lots of future occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We booked our works Christmas party at Ringwood Hall, we invited a number of key accounts and all stayed overnight in the hotel. The rooms were lovely, great service and we even managed time to use the leisure facilities, had a nice relaxing swim and chill out in the sauna. The Christmas party was great fun, lovely food, great service levels and fantastic surroundings. We wanted somewhere that our clients would enjoy and made to feel special. We would recommend Ringwood Hall to anyone wanting an overnight stay or to join in with the Christmas festivities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Delighted to read how much you enjoyed your corporate event at Ringwood Hall during the Festive season.

As a traditional setting we go all the way to ensure that Christmas is celebrated in style at Ringwood Hall Hotel.

The decorations throughout the hotel are always stunning and provide the perfect setting for Festive fun.

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write your review, and to make your observations about our fun filled but quality party evenings.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sutton in ashfield
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I'll try & keep this short as I could go on & on.Celebrated my 50th birthday at Ringwood with 53 friends on 11/12 Jan.
We joined a post christmas party on the evening of the 11th then 6 of us stayed over on the 12th as well.
From our first initial enquiry in June 2012 to checking out on Sunday the 13th we had nothing but friendly & efficient service, excellent accomodation & good quality food throughout our stay.

Due to being a large party we were located in the conservatory for the xmas party which suited us perfectly & being topped off with a suprise(from my wife) firework display at 10pm. 50th birthday with a bang!!!!
Although quiet on Saturday evening we still enjoyed a 3 course meal in the restaurant & late drinks in the bar afterwards
Thanks to all at Ringwood in making my birthday extra special. We'll definately look at attending future events.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to reception as the hotel is deceptively large & rooms above 200 are a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to put your fabulous review on this site.

It was our absolute pleasure to be given the opportunity of providing you with an amazing 50th birthday celebration.

Our "Party into the New Year" post Christmas January events are always busy and provide an excellent opportunity for "party-time" once the Christmas celebrations are over.

Your 50th birthday celebrations were enjoyed by other parties that night, and I am sure that they were extremely grateful for the firework display provided by your wife as a surprise. I am told that as your display lit up our parkland at the back of the hotel, all the other guests watched in amazement too!!

Delighted that you found our friendly staff to be efficient and that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, and we truly look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Attended my nices wedding on new years eve, we had booked overnigh accommodation. The service at reception was very good and we were able to access our room from 1pm ( we had called the day before to ask if this was possible). Room was great with lovely view of the garden, shower was good and there was also a bath tub. Hot drink and biscuit provision was also good, The setting for the wedding was lovely with reception drinks along with carol sigers and roasted chestnuts following the ceremony.
Food at reception was ok, not as good as i expected given to cost,the service was poor as well same said for buffet food in the evening. That said it was a wonderful wedding in a very nice setting

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Delighted that you had the opportunity of staying at Ringwood on the occasion of your neice`s New Years Eve Wedding Celebrations, and that you found the accommodation to be of such high standard and entirely to your satisfaction.

It was surprising to read your comments with regard to the quality of food and service. Sometimes the choices that couples make are not always to everybody`s taste.

Clearly you had an excellent stay and enjoyed the wonderful wedding setting that we have which is particularly amazing when we are dressed for Christmas and New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brimington
1.8 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,398 reviews
6.2 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
771 reviews
20.1 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
224 reviews
12.3 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
288 reviews
22.1 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ringwood Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringwood Hall Hotel

Property: Ringwood Hall Hotel
Address: Ringwood Road | Near Chesterfield, Brimington, Chesterfield S43 1DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Brimington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brimington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ringwood Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ringwood Hall Hotel is a beautiful Georgian grade 11 listed Manor House set in 29 acres of award winning grounds. The hotel is easily accessed from junctions 29 & 30 of the M1, with free parking for over 150 vehicles. The hotel is set at the gateway to the magnificent Peak District National Park, while Chatsworth House, Bolsover Castle, Hardwick Hall and the many varied attractions of the Peak District are within easy travel. Ringwood Hall Hotel offers 74 en-suite bedrooms including three apartments, several four posters and ten feature rooms which have king or queen sized beds, power showers or corner baths, while all overnight guests enjoy complimentary membership to our Health & Fitness Club with indoor pool, sauna, steamroom and well equipped gymnasium. The hotel has a unique Victorian kitchen garden where herbs and vegetables grown are used in the food served in our Coach House Dining Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Ringwood Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ringwood Hall Chesterfield
Hotel Ringwood Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing