We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy customer” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ringwood Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brimington
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Happy customer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel and the surroundings are beautiful! Although the decor not to my taste ( may need updating) it is very clean and pleasant. The room was lovely very spacious with flat screen tv. Only stayed for one night and ate out so I can't comment on the food and staff were helpful giving directions around the area. Swimming pool has a sauna and steam room which is good I jus thought it needs more attention. There was a wedding going on during our stay Which looked lovely! Ive just recently got engaged and as a future bride I will most definitely look into having my wedding here and I am sure they won't disappoint.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review.

Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Congratulations on your recent engagement. It would be our pleasure to host your wedding celebrations and to provide you with guidance as you plan towards your wedding day. We hope that you give us that opportunity.

We certainly will not disappoint you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    244
    86
    28
    17
See reviews for
229
381
28
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

I have been lucky enough to have attended two weddings at Ringwood Hall Hotel this summer. Two completely different weddings, both in the same beautiful setting.
I loved the Pavillion which was used for one of the weddings - it was so nice to be outside in the sunshine during the ceremony. The gardens looked amazing and gave so much space for the children to explore and play!
The staff were fantastic. They were so friendly, attentive and helpful and made us feel welcome from the second we arrived.
The food was delicious. At one wedding we had a hot buffet and the other a set meal. You also get a great breakfast included with the room - I'm a vegetarian and there was plenty for me to eat (not always the case in some places!)
The bedrooms are really beautifully decorated and have everything you need in them, with a huge comfortable bed.
I can't recommend Ringwood more highly and hope to go back soon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlTheOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Lucky you - two weddings at Ringwood in one summer, and it seems very different in their style and presentation.

That is exactly what we aim to provide - completely differebt experiences based around the requirements and personalities of the bride and groom themselves and their friends and families.

The Garden Pavilion setting for the outdoor marriage is a wonderful experience providing so much informality and, as you say, tranquil space.

Thank you so much for your lovely praise of the staff and the warm welcome they provided, of the gardens and the amazing space they offered for exploring, and last by no means least, of the food which is always a very important part of the wedding plan.

Hope that you get lots more invitations to come to wedding parties or other events at Ringwood Hall in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We attended our good friends' wedding on the 29th July 2012 and the whole day was amazing! The room the ceremony was held in was absoutely stunning and with the weather on our side, we were able to enjoy the drinks reception in the amazing gardens! Every inch of the hotel grounds is immaculate and the canapes offered were truly yummy! When we moved back inside to the wedding breakfast, we entered a beautfully intimate room where we enjoyed good food and superb service.

When we first arrived at the hotel, I noticed there were other wedding ceremony's being held in the hotel but I have to say this was never noticable during our stay. It felt as though we had the hotel to ourselves, even down to the service of the breakfast the following day as we were allocated our own room.

I would def reccomend this hotel to others as a wedding venue. Thankyou for a wonderful day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the trouble to put your lovely review on this site. Delighted to read how much you enjoyed attending your friend`s wedding in July and that you found the whole day to be amazing.

Whilst it had been planned for your friends to be married in the garden in our Garden Pavilion, a sudden summer downpour required a last minute change of plan. Despite the rain nothing was spoilt as you kindly identify, the back up ceremony room was just as beautiful and the summer shower passed quickly enough for everything else to be able to ake place in the gardens.

Your observations that other wedding activity was taking place on the day is also very interesting and we thank ou particularly for identifying that this was not noticeable to you during your celebrations, and the intimacy of the rooms provided with their own facilities including plenty of space in the gardens, made it feel though you had the hotel to yourselves.

Delighted that you had a wonderful day and thank you for your delightful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

I am the brides mother and I would like to add to my daughters excellent review with our opinion as parents. We cannot recommend this hotel too highly. We planned this wedding for over 2 years and the day was everything we could wish for, excellent food, hotel and rooms immaculately clean, the day ran like clockwork and all the staff were so pleasant and helpful it just added to our enjoyment. Scott who acted as MC was wonderful, he is excellent at his job and he stayed with us throughout the day and the evening before when we had a large number of family staying the night before the wedding as well as the wedding night. We and the grooms parents intend returning for an overnight stay and meal. Thank you Ringwood for making our daughters day as special as we hoped it would be, from Wendy & Barry Roughley, Doncaster

Room Tip: they are all good !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendylegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review following your daughter, Vicky`s wedding celebrations back in May.

It is always gratifying to receive the praise from the bride`s parents and it is particularly appreciated when you take the time and trouble to put a review in the public domain.

We trust that Vicky and Stuart are happily settled into married life. We know they are returning for their first anniversary as that is already booked and we are looking forward to seeing them again.

We are also very much looking forward to welcoming you back with Stuart`s parents to enjoy a nostalgic overnight stay, and it would be a pleasure to meet up with you again so please, just let me know when you plan to visit and I can try to upgrade you to feature rooms for that stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

WENT TO A MY COUSINS WEDDING SATURDAY 1ST SEPT. If you are having your wedding there or going as a guest then lucky you it was fab. The whole day from ceremony outside that was like something off a film, to the reception and evening doo in the marque. The service was excellent, the food was lovely and plenty, night buffet was a hot one same again lovely. The kids loved the pck n mix table. Great dance floor. Have to say the drinks were a little pricey at the bar though, even the kids drinks, but we did have wine on the tables durin the meal. Didnt stay at ringwood for the night because it was fully booked but we stayed in a lovely guest house nearby. All in all a faultless lovely day and thanks to Tom and Abbi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sally h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your fabulous review.

Tom and Abbi chose the Garden Pavilion for an outdoor marriage, followed by a wedding breakfast and evening party in our delightful Summer Garden Marquee.

The ceremonies taking plave outdoores are very special and, subject to the weather being kind, provide the most romantic of opportunities for marriages, As you say, quite like something off a movie set !!

Our Summer Garden Marquee, which is available from mid May to end of September every year, is enchanting and it seems, provided you with a wonderful day enjoyed by all who attended.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back when hopefully we will not be full !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

I too went along to the Caribean Cruise evening on Saturday 25th August and totally agree with previous reviews. The food and service was excellent which is something i have come to expect from the Ringwood, having been to various functions and wedding receptions there over the years ! First time have been in the marquee-it won't be the last! My friends and I were well impressed. Oh by the way! excellent guitarist playing in the background!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jkstaniforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thanks for your special comments about James, our Resident Guitarist, he is our little gem as he provides entertainment for so many people and rarely gets the accolades he deserves.

James` music ranges vastly with a very varied repertoire and plays fabulously at weddings.

Delighted you too had a fantastic evening in our Summer Garden Marquee, just the right setting for an evening of this nature, and we hope to welcome you back again soon for more lovely evenigs enjoyed with friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We along with a group of friends attended the Caribean Cruise Evening on Saturday 25th August. we had a fabulous evening. Food was lovely and the level of service from the staff was excellent, although this came as no surprise, as this is what we have learned to expect from this jewel of a place. can't wait for the next event.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Delighted that you had a fantastic evening at our recent special event.

We decided to herald the end of the season of our Summer Garden Marquee with a Carribean Cruise Evening. Delighted that you had such a fantastic time, and as a regular visitor we look forward very much to welcoming you back on lots more of these.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brimington
6.2 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#1 of 15 in Chesterfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
22.1 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
4.9 mi away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ringwood Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringwood Hall Hotel

Property: Ringwood Hall Hotel
Address: Ringwood Road | Near Chesterfield, Brimington, Chesterfield S43 1DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Brimington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brimington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ringwood Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ringwood Hall Hotel is a beautiful Georgian grade 11 listed Manor House set in 29 acres of award winning grounds. The hotel is easily accessed from junctions 29 & 30 of the M1, with free parking for over 150 vehicles. The hotel is set at the gateway to the magnificent Peak District National Park, while Chatsworth House, Bolsover Castle, Hardwick Hall and the many varied attractions of the Peak District are within easy travel. Ringwood Hall Hotel offers 74 en-suite bedrooms including three apartments, several four posters and ten feature rooms which have king or queen sized beds, power showers or corner baths, while all overnight guests enjoy complimentary membership to our Health & Fitness Club with indoor pool, sauna, steamroom and well equipped gymnasium. The hotel has a unique Victorian kitchen garden where herbs and vegetables grown are used in the food served in our Coach House Dining Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Ringwood Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ringwood Hall Chesterfield
Hotel Ringwood Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing