We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Indian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sonar Bangla

Sonar Bangla
Ranked #38 of 52 Restaurants in Potters Bar
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb Indian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We have lived in the area for a few years and have come to regard the sonar Bangla as one of the best Indian restaurants about. The restaurant is attractive - both in and out - and it gets very busy. But there is good reason for that - the food is excellent. A good menu, great staff, never hurried and the dishes are always well spiced and hot. One gets very loyal to an Indian restaurant but I must say this one is top drawer and excellent value.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    3
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Worst service I have ever had”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

I booked in for a meal with my family who are local residents to the restaurant on Christmas Eve.
Our table was at 7pm, but by 7.45pm we were being asked, before we had even started our main dishes, if would want any dessert and if so would we mind eating it at the bar as they would like the table for some regulars who had just come in.
It was not just us - anohter table was asked to vacate their table and we witnessed then walking out just after us with their wine bottle in hand.
Their attitude competely started Christmas off on the wrong foot. If you want a nice family evening skip this place - the food is slightly better than average but the attitude of the staff is not worth it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spoony42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Christmas Eve”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Good food, poor service. A little after an hour after being in there, we were asked to finish our meal at the bar as they needed the table. They seem to book too many people in with insufficient time to eat. We were not the only ones to be asked to hurry.

Helpful?
Thank PaulHertford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
89 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have been eating here for years, the food is great, service is great and it is always consistent. The food ingredients are good quality, freshly prepared and cooked on the premises. Try a Bangla Beer as well, goes well with most of the dishes.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Always busy, always good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Sonar Bangla is a popular choice for Cuffley residents and those further afield seeking a robust curry with a pleasant atmosphere. The interior is a soothing mint green with a choice of central tables or, my own preference, the intimacy and privacy of comfortable booths around the perimeter.

The food is of the highest quality available locally but as East Herts is a gastronomic desert, there isn't really any local competition for this restaurant to keep it on edge. Consequently the management and staff may get a little complacent about their place which shows if you arrive acts busy time without having made a booking.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Goodmanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonar Bangla also viewed

Cuffley, Hertfordshire
Potters Bar, Hertfordshire
 
Potters Bar, Hertfordshire
Potters Bar, Hertfordshire
 
Potters Bar, Hertfordshire
Waltham Cross, Greater London
 

Been to Sonar Bangla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing