We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Becoming run down and neglected”
Review of Rose and Crown

Rose and Crown
Reserve with OpenTable
Rose and Crown is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 68 Restaurants in Rickmansworth
Price range: $8 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A traditional 17th century pub with a cosy bar, elegant dining room, and huge beer garden with beautiful views. The food is locally sourced, freshly cooked by our chef team.
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Becoming run down and neglected”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Have not visited this pub/restaurant since summer 2011, so decided a revisit was due, a lovely sunny day and they did have lovely gardens where you could enjoy lunch outside. We only had a starter dish and a drink as it was too hot to eat much, but the outside areas were sadly neglected and run down, the food was just average. Will not visit again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JuneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    39
    14
    27
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Our Favourite local”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Great atmosphere, good food and very chilled, would recommend to anyone

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gregwaters99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“rose and crown rickmansworth”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Visited again almost 1 year later. Sunday lunch and the restaurant was full, Glad the fires were lit since it was very cold outside even though it was May but the children did manage at least 20 minutes outside (they love the play area but typical British summer it was just too cold). Lovely lunch and the place was full. The staff were attentive and the menu was good value for money This is such an amazing spot, so glad we have friends in the area so we can keep on visitingl

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ad12_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
318 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Good wholesome food for a local pub”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

The choice of food is good. The staff is friendly. The wines reasonable. Why only average? Hardly ever is there anything exciting on the menu, and the atmosphere is a bit dreary and dull.
Sorry.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Feff35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just rude”
Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

Was recommended Sunday lunch, so tried it out, food was not bad at all, I asked for some horseradish with my beef and there seemed to be some swearing from the kitchen on my request , ordered dessert and the owner brought it out and muttered something rude to me , felt a bit uncomfortable so left my dessert and skipped coffee , paid and left!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Smallpauls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose and Crown also viewed

Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire
Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire
 
Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire
 
Chorleywood, Hertfordshire
Chorleywood, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing