We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas lunch 2013”

The Cafe in the Park
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: An all-day dining venue with sustainability at the heart of everything we do.Core menu with daily specials, all bread and cakes baked in house. Speciality coffee, British wines and beers. Many products sourced locally, all meat is free-range. Serving breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea. Head Chef - Will Hitchcock, ex-sous chef at Jamie Oliver's Fifteen, London.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Christmas lunch 2013”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

The chef excelled himself! Amazing, delicious, inventive food. Lots of it at a very reasonable price in a zen surrounding amongst the trees and the lakes.Top service, friendly staff. 15/10! Highly recommended
Cathy Kimber

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frenchcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cafeinthepark, Owner at The Cafe in the Park, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. I must admit that Christmas dinner for 19 gluten intolerant guests was a challenge but one that our Head Chef willingly rose to. We are so glad you all enjoyed it, many thanks for bringing the opportunity our way. We hope to look after you all again next Christmas.

Many thanks

Carly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    86
    34
    29
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really tasty grub!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Having spent three days in the area, we called for lunch at the cafe on our return trip to Taunton. Although I had lived in Northwood Hills many years previously, I had never visited the aquadome. What a lovely spot and the cafe and staff made it an extra special stop.
We had a long chat with Tina (manageress) and she told as all about the history of the cafe. The food (we had Falafels) was superb, with a wide range of different flavours.
Certainly recommended (please keep it up) and we will definitely be calling in on our next trip to Rickmansworth and area. Can't wait!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nigel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cafeinthepark, Owner at The Cafe in the Park, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
How lovely to hear that your first visit to the beautiful Aquadrome was a memorable one. I am so glad that you enjoyed your visit . Our falafel are one or our most popular items, bunches of fresh herbs go into each batch. We look forward to any further feedback you may have, thanks again.

Carly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“YUM YUM YUM”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Me and my friends always use here as our meeting place for a good girly catch up. The quiet area is brilliant for when you want to have an intimate meeting with friends in some peace and tranquility. However, it's great that children there are able to have fun in all of the other areas! The service is always exceptional and I've been there more times than I can remember. Lovely waitresses. I love the poached eggs on homemade bread. The prices reflect the quality of the ingredients. Love it here, not pretentious and really friendly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ginger_Boo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cafeinthepark, Owner at The Cafe in the Park, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Hello and thank you for your lovely feedback. We are so glad you are enjoying your visits and that you believe the price matches the quality of the ingredients. We have built a menu that we feel represents good value for money but also maintains a very high standard in terms of presentation and taste. We are happy to hear we are winning on this front. Please do continue to let us have any further feedback.

Carly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinner
1 review
“Poor”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Visited this morning,
£7.40 for full English plus extra for cup of tea! Not exactly value for money!
Plate dropped on table by manageress Tina I think, not exact what you expect at this price, home-made baked beans! Poor, bring back Heinz! Toast triangles crusts were like rock hard, may be home-made bread but....
Cheesy grins not surprising at these prices rip off

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank regularblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cafeinthepark, Owner at The Cafe in the Park, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hello

You can imagine how disappointed we were to read your review, especially as we knew nothing of your disappointment on the day of your visit.

I was most shocked to hear that you felt that your breakfast was 'dropped on your table'. I am hoping that by the fact that you knew the manager's name, this shows the friendliness of our team and in particular Tina's passion for great customer service.

We are sorry that you did not enjoy our homemade baked beans, they are different to the Heinz variety but we feel that are a better product, sorry that you did not agree. We are sorry also that your toast was over-done, we would have been very happy to replace this if you had let us know. As we make all of our own bread and slice it by hand, the slices are not uniform in size so sometimes a slice can be small but we are always happy to bring out extra toast if this happens.

We charge a fair price for our breakfast, based on the cost of the ingredients. Our dry-cured, free-range bacon is from pigs reared outdoors and in a natural environment as are the Gloucestershire Olde spot sausages. Our poached eggs are local and free-range. If you purchase a hot drink on a week day we offer free refills until 12pm.

We are sorry that you were overall disappointed, we would be happy to offer you breakfast for two on us to see if we can change your mind. If you would like to take us up on this offer, please get in touch via our website.

Many thanks

Carly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“BEST FOOD AROUND”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is the best cafe in the park type restaurant I have been too - the service is friendly and amazingly they have a quiet room to go to without children.... I can only look in there longingly but love the atmosphere in the main cafe. The food is imaginative and fresh and one of the few places I will buy cake (I make them myself and hate it when I see factory made cakes in cafes) - please open up in Pinner!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becs64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cafe in the Park also viewed

Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire
Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire
 
Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire
Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Cafe in the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing