We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a change from the old beefeater”
Review of The Scotsbridge Mill - CLOSED

The Scotsbridge Mill
Price range: $13 - $30
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What a change from the old beefeater”
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We have not been here since this was a beefeater and we were pleasantly surprised. The interior was contemporary, the staff polite and helpful.
The food was well presented and tasty. Best bit was the champagne was half price on the day we went.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    89
    87
    71
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth
2 reviews
“Don't bother going”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Eight adults arrived at scotsbridge mill on a very quiet night and we were seated right behind another large table of about 10 people, this made it very difficult for the waitress to get between the tables and so she had trouble passing the food down, there was plenty of room in the restaurant so really not sure why this happened.
I ordered the plaice which was a complete waste of time as this was the whole fish served on the plate, with hardly any meat on it. My friends had the steak which was tough even though it was cooked med/rare, chicken piri piri which was just chicken smothered in a sauce, and haddock and chips that was very greasy. The desserts were strangely so different in size considering they all cost about the same, the apple crumble was a very good size but was served with custard that was so sweet it was inedible, there were no bananas for one of the desserts so that was off the menu and the lemon sponge was so tiny it wasn't worth serving.
The worst part of this evening was the bill because when it arrived there were about 15 items on there that didn't belong to us making the bill 85 pounds over the correct price, we were charged for excess drinks 7 creme brûlés( we only had 2) and starters and meals that we never had. The bill was sorted but with no real apology or offer of coffees for free which would have been a start so would definitely not recommend .
The surroundings are lovely but think that they need to invest in a proper chef.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phillipa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Expensive food and swarming with unruly children”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Pleasant building, pleasant staff, pleasant enough location. But the food costs too much for what it is (it isn't especially refined or tasty), and the drinks are very costly indeed. But it's the excessively-family-friendly approach they take here that allows children to roam the rooms like wild animals, unchecked, at ALL times of day, that eventually drives you a little mad. If you want a playpen for little "Jack" or "Annabel" or "Poppy" or ruddy "Tarquin" to run around, whilst you eat expensive, average food and drink excessively marked-up wine - and you drive a Chelsea tractor such as a Range Rover or BMW X5 - then you will love this place.

Anyone else who hasn't got oodles of cash to burn, doesn’t think their children are the centre of the entire universe, and prefers to go to pubs for the calm company of other reasonably-mannered adults – you might want to go elsewhere instead…

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GavinSutcliffe1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little disappointed................”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The service was slow, but that was not too much of an issue - however being served hot food on cold plates was!
Definitely not as good as our last visit. They need to pay attention to detail, even if they are busy, like serving drinks a little quicker and not expecting us to lay out our cutlery for dessert.
Although the food was nice (and they do serve smaller servings which is a plus), we felt that it was overpriced.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EllieJ45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Slower than slow”
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

The beer was flat and when raised this with waitress she said they knew and it had been like that all day! Scallops were undercooked and cold. Service was extremely slow- on two occasions another waitress saw we needed attending to and dismissed us, told us to wait the first time, the second time looked at us, ignored us, going to two other tables who had been waiting for less time on both occasions. When we finally got the desert menu we were waiting for 30 minutes before asking us if we wanted anything at which point we were so disappointed we just wanted to get the bill. This again was a ridiculous time to wait and was not at all acceptable. Over priced menu for such a disgusting service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladybirdno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Scotsbridge Mill also viewed

Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire
Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire
 
Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire
Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing