We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveler rating
75
49
20
6
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
49
20
6
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub nice toiletries cafetiere coffee rental car apple crumble ground coffee my other half poached eggs whilst visiting family comfy bed lovely hotel modern bathroom clean towels good size train station would stay again breakfast was included
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 161 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2018

Stayed for one night.very nice room plenty of space very clean white bedding comfy bed
Plenty of teas etc., lovely rain forest shower ,clean towels nice toiletries .my only concern in the bathroom was that I couldn’t get to the window to close it and getting out of the shower was in view of the street even though a way away...was nice having air con .would stay again.Very close to the railway station.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
Thank martysfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki M, Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

Thank you for leaving us feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately we are a very old building and the design of the windows is not ideal however in future we will try and ensure that any bathroom windows that are overlooking public areas are closed by our housekeeping team before guests arrive. Hopefully we will see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2018 via mobile

Cannot praise the staff enough as nothing was too much trouble for them and very friendly Bed comfortable but shower room a leer bit tired. Food good but think portion of apple crumble was too large and could be smaller

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Wadsmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki M, Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review. We are aware that our bathrooms are starting to feel the pressure of so many guests and we are hoping for a freshen up soon. Hopefully you will come again then to see?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2018

We had a great stay in May 2018 for two nights. Staff was most helpful at that time. I am now trying to contact them (Accounting, General Manager) regarding a question with my bill, and the front desk has transferred me four times to phone numbers where I can't leave a message. Front desk staff stated she cannot leave a written message for someone to contact me....... which is a little odd. Help would be appreciated, thank you for providing a valid phone number for me to reach someone who will help me.

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2018

This is a lovely old pub. We have stayed here once before, two years ago on our last trip to the UK. Still the same proprietors, friendly and helpful staff.
We had a smaller room at the back of the hotel this time, we would have preferred the bigger room, but it was clean and comfortable, good bathroom, and I slept well. Security is good, there is smart card access to the accommodation area as well as the door to the room.
Plenty of private free parking adjacent to the hotel, with keypad entry.
There is a nice pub downstairs, with an outdoor area, it is popular, particularly on Friday and Saturday, but there was no noise in the accommodation area.
There is a restaurant in house for breakfast, lunch and dinner, but there are also a good number of alternatives within two minutes walk.
We find it to be a convenient place to pick up and return the rental car, as the train station is just across the road, with London and Heathrow easily accessible.

Room Tip: We have stayed in rooms both at the front and rear of the hotel. Both were surprisingly quiet. Personally, I preferred the front room.
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerryKNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Lion R, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2018

Hi Gerry,

Many thanks for your review and comments from your recent stay with us. It was good seeing you both again and hearing a familiar accent!
We are all really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in another two years.
Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2018

We regularly stay at this pub when we come down to London to see our granddaughter.
A warm welcome always awaits us and our little dog Dolly.
The bedrooms are spotlessly clean and well appointed.
Bathrooms are modern with a good range of toiletries.
We always eat in the bar as we have Dolly with us and find the food to be a notch above the usual pub fare.Breakfast is also very good and served hot at your table.
We enjoy the Pub so much that this coming Saturday we are putting on an afternoon tea for our family there and we are sure we will be well looked after.
We now treat the pub as our North London base!

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank michaeldavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Lion R, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2018

Hi Michael,
Many thanks for your lovely review and comments from your recent stay with us. We always look forward to Dolly popping in as we are a dog friendly hotel. Looking forward to seeing you all on Saturday and if there is anything you need, as always, just ask.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews