We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant complain”
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Radlett
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Cant complain! Great location for travellers from the north heading to london . We had two clean rooms slept well as so quiet, enjoyed log fire and lovely evening menu . The station a short walk and was only 20mins to st pancras cost £20 for 4 adults in total with unlimited travel around city ' a bargain! . Hotel although a pub too catered for residents and we experienced good service at all times . Would recommend and we will be back. Thank you red lion at radlett

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 136 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

Well, the visit didn't start too well when the car park barrier refused to open after a 6.5 hour drive from the North, but the attentive receptionist came out in the rain to open it pretty quickly.

This hotel is part of Young's Hotels chain, but it felt more individual than that. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean and the bed comfortable. Breakfast was not over lavish but quite sufficient.

Location-wise for us, right in the centre of the village (Radlett has grown into a very large village) was ideal and for train travellers, 3 mins walk from Radlett Thameslink station, it's very convenient, with good double glazing keeping what traffic noise there is away.

The Red Lion is one of the few original features of Radlett I remember from the 60s and while it's been brought up to speed with WiFi, and ensuites, it hasn't been spoilt. The double B&B cost £85 and was worth it.

The staff deserve recognition for their helpful efficiency. An example - after hours residents' drinks from the bar, just when they were closing up, were delivered quickly with a friendly smile.

There was an absolutely gorgeous 20-something customer in the bar giving her boyfriend a very good time when we came in late for that drink, so the place seems to appeal to young and middle-aged like us alike, but not at all in a loud way. :-)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger-of-the-Raj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Situated on a busy main street. Rooms are clean, well-equipped and well-priced. Food, both restaurant and breakfast, is very tasty, although perhaps could be a little warmer. Good selection of tasty Youngs beers at the popular but not rowdy bar. Staff friendly, efficient and welcoming.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank StephenandRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

- Only a few step from a regular 30 minute train ride into St. Pancras.
- Comfortable and well presented rooms.
- The bar food offered a small variety of tasty meals and snacks
- The breakfast was a good size and well cook .
- The Staff are friendly and helpful and I look forward to going back next time I have to go to the City.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Good arrival, parking, check in. Given Room 5 light outside room not working so steps to room in darkness. Room good size but still has same creaking floors as this place had 20 years ago refurbished? what happened about sorting out the floors? Beds comfortable but my one of them twanged everytime I turned over think it has a springs problem. Large stain on the carpet didn't want to even think what it might be but not very attractive. The bathroom had been given a makeover which unfortunately didn't extend to the ceiling which showed signs of lots of mould but the worse thing was the sound from exterior fans which were running intermittently when we arrived at 4pm carried on until 11pm and started up again at 5.30am. The staff claimed they were the air conditioning, I suggested the fans from the kitchen as not sure why you would want air conditioning in November but whatever fan it was it was loud, you could even feel the vibrating through the bathroom floor.
The breakfast was very good and the renovations downstairs seem to work well now improve the hotel rooms more. Room 5 looks tired

Room Tip: Not Room 5 or any which overlook the fans, 5 exterior fans visible from room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heloiseDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed here one night on a business trip. Single bedroom was very clean. Bathroom modern and spotless. Breakfast was well cooked, hot and well served. The room has electronic door entry. At 1:30AM the door was unlocked and an intruder attempted to get in my room. The sash window would not close and had no locking mechanism. This hotel Urgently needs to fit door chains. Loved the hotel but will not stay again. No apology from staff either!

Room Tip: Ensure your room has a door chain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rapidresults
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I first stayed at the Red Lion about 10 years ago - mainly because it was the only hotel in Radlett. I was very impressed by the extensive renovations they have done to their rooms. We had a huge room with a king-sized bed. And the (included) breakfast could be chosen from a variety of meals on a menu. We had some noise from the pub below us (someones birthday party, and it was on a Saturday night) but didn't mind. Also, there is an excellent restaurant just across the side road.
Strongly recommend it!

Room Tip: A bit away from the pub would be a good idea - especially on a weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donalda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radlett
2.3 mi away
Mercure London Watford Hotel
3.9 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
2.3 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Hemel Hempstead
887 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
#9 of 10 in St. Albans
813 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St. Albans
2,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Address: 78-80 Watling Street, Radlett WD7 7NP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Radlett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Radlett
Price Range: $84 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion, situated in beautiful Radlett Village, Hertfordshire is a 13 bedroom coaching inn for the 21st century.With 13 individually appointed, en suite modern rooms & complimentary Wi-Fi throughout, our rooms offer a home from home to travellers, whether on business or for leisure.Situated just 2 minutes from Radlett train station, London St Pancras & the underground are a short 25 minute journey making The Red Lion the ideal base to explore Hertfordshire, the capital & the beautiful surrounding area.You can always be assured a warm welcome & a great stay and room rates include a lovely breakfast from our continental buffet or a hot dish from our a la carte breakfast menu.Our dining options include our modern contemporary dining room, our popular bar areas & when the weather permits, alfresco on our terrace.With varied dishes to suit all palates, our kitchen team have created a seasonal, modern & traditional blend of meals which represent great quality & value.We look forward to welcoming you to The Red Lion, Radlett. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Radlett, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing