We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay”
Review of Trehellas House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trehellas House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washaway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Spent 5 days over the August Bank Holiday , wonderful place - very obliging and helpful staff.
Food excellent quality, very relaxing and quiet position yet within easy reach of beaches local towns etc.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Winn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 359 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

We have stayed here about four times now, having previously come for a short break in October. As the weather had been so good this summer, we decided to stay for a week in August. The hotel is in a good location for visiting places of interest in Cornwall e.g. Padstow, Port Isaac, Boscastle and we ventured further afield this time to Falmouth, Polperro and St Michael's Mount. There are, however, lovely sandy beaches nearby, if you just want to relax. We have always received a warm welcome from the owners, Alistair and Debra, and their staff. The rooms are very clean with tea and coffee making facilities. We stayed on a bargain break which included breakfast and dinner and it was excellent value. The food at both breakfast and dinner was very good and the staff were attentive and friendly. We will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights last weekend and we thought it was perfectly adequate for what we needed. It is quite central, so within easy driving distance of Fowey, Bodmin, Padstow, Port Issac...etc. We didn't use the pool simply because we did not have time.

The breakfast was good, with a large selection of fresh fruit and cereals. The cooked breakfast was very filling.

The room itself was adequate. It wasn't spacious, but it had what we needed (bed, en-suite with shower, tea/coffee making facilities, hanging space for clothes).
On the first morning I used the coffee which was not replenished but the milk was which was a little disappointing, but there was coffee at breakfast in the restaurant so this is hardly worth mentioning.

We would stay here again, primarliy because of the location. It has easy access to both the North and South coast. My partner's parents have stayed here twice and have eaten in the restaurant and they would happily go back.

Room Tip: I think we stayed in Fowey, which is in a cottage away from the main hotel. There was a room above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bristol_scotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed for just the one night. For some reason we got the "top" room which was palatial and quite simply a lovely experience. The hotel is well located for all the things to do in the area (although it is not easy to walk directly to any of them from the hotel) and car parking is plentiful. The meal in the evening was very good as was breakfast and service at both was pleasant and efficient. All in all a pleasant stay

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel really suits us. We have stayed many times now. Always a warm welcome received. The rooms, and we have stayed in three different ones are always well presented and clean. The beds are so comfy with crisp linen. Never had any problem sleeping! More trouble getting up! Once you do, you'll get a perfectly cooked breakfast. Along with the usual cereals, juices etc.
I would tell you to book the courtroom, but if I did that it wouldn't be available to us ;0)
Book a stay and visit the coast of north Cornwall! You won't go wrong!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed here with my wife and sister. We had two rooms in building containing 3 rooms separate to main house and restaurant. Our rooms were quiet and soundproof although close to the road. Rooms and bathroom were beautifully decorated. Breakfast was served in a conservatory with garden and hillside views. Cooked breakfast was great. Ample off street parking. Staff and owners very polite. Handy to Port Isaac (Doc Martin shoot location). Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel is in a good location for both north and south coasts and is in a very nice position. Our room was clean and comfortable, with all the basic facilities. The main selling point for us was the food which was excellent throughout our stay. If you get the weather (yes I know it's in Cornwall) the open air pool is a bonus. We would certainly stay again if we were in this part of the country.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFourOfUs2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washaway
1.9 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
208 reviews
3.8 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
321 reviews
20 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
7.5 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
559 reviews
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Wadebridge
Travelodge Wadebridge
#2 of 4 in Wadebridge
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trehellas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trehellas House

Address: Bodmin, Washaway, Bodmin PL30 3AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin > Washaway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washaway
Price Range: $65 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trehellas House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1745 this lovely building still retains its charm with its original stone floors and converted courthouse on the first floor. Now a comfortable hotel located close to Padstow & Fowey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Trehellas House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trehellas House Hotel Washaway
Trehellas Hotel Bodmin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing