We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great 2 night stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trehellas House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Trehellas House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washaway
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great 2 night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights last weekend and we thought it was perfectly adequate for what we needed. It is quite central, so within easy driving distance of Fowey, Bodmin, Padstow, Port Issac...etc. We didn't use the pool simply because we did not have time.

The breakfast was good, with a large selection of fresh fruit and cereals. The cooked breakfast was very filling.

The room itself was adequate. It wasn't spacious, but it had what we needed (bed, en-suite with shower, tea/coffee making facilities, hanging space for clothes).
On the first morning I used the coffee which was not replenished but the milk was which was a little disappointing, but there was coffee at breakfast in the restaurant so this is hardly worth mentioning.

We would stay here again, primarliy because of the location. It has easy access to both the North and South coast. My partner's parents have stayed here twice and have eaten in the restaurant and they would happily go back.

Room Tip: I think we stayed in Fowey, which is in a cottage away from the main hotel. There was a room above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bristol_scotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    94
    30
    5
    4
See reviews for
33
181
20
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed for just the one night. For some reason we got the "top" room which was palatial and quite simply a lovely experience. The hotel is well located for all the things to do in the area (although it is not easy to walk directly to any of them from the hotel) and car parking is plentiful. The meal in the evening was very good as was breakfast and service at both was pleasant and efficient. All in all a pleasant stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel really suits us. We have stayed many times now. Always a warm welcome received. The rooms, and we have stayed in three different ones are always well presented and clean. The beds are so comfy with crisp linen. Never had any problem sleeping! More trouble getting up! Once you do, you'll get a perfectly cooked breakfast. Along with the usual cereals, juices etc.
I would tell you to book the courtroom, but if I did that it wouldn't be available to us ;0)
Book a stay and visit the coast of north Cornwall! You won't go wrong!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed here with my wife and sister. We had two rooms in building containing 3 rooms separate to main house and restaurant. Our rooms were quiet and soundproof although close to the road. Rooms and bathroom were beautifully decorated. Breakfast was served in a conservatory with garden and hillside views. Cooked breakfast was great. Ample off street parking. Staff and owners very polite. Handy to Port Isaac (Doc Martin shoot location). Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel is in a good location for both north and south coasts and is in a very nice position. Our room was clean and comfortable, with all the basic facilities. The main selling point for us was the food which was excellent throughout our stay. If you get the weather (yes I know it's in Cornwall) the open air pool is a bonus. We would certainly stay again if we were in this part of the country.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFourOfUs2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Enjoyed a night at this hotel recently and very impressed with high quality of all aspects of the hotel
Room was very comfortable and enjoyed a very nice meal.
This hotel is in a very quiet spot and enjoyed a very good nights sleep
will defiantly stay again

Room Tip: Was lucky to get the large suite and highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dave196o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Found the place easily. Check-in was simple. Room spacious and bed a lovely 6 footer which was great.
Room very warm in the evening, but I guess that everywhere is at this point! Table outside to read in the evening, and I wish that we we had tried the pool.
Shower a little disappointing, but it is described accurately in the details so I cannot really complain.
Breakfast lovely. Great choice of cereals.Full English stayed hot on the plate. Waitress very efficient. Quite warm in the conservatory. Owner (?) evident to check that all was well.
Checkout again very efficient.
Good price for the accommodation. Dinner looked expensive...but I am guessing that it would be good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison1562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washaway
1.9 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
3.8 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
8.3 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bodmin Hotel
12.0 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trehellas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trehellas House

Property: Trehellas House
Address: Bodmin, Washaway, Bodmin PL30 3AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin > Washaway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washaway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Trehellas House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1745 this lovely building still retains its charm with its original stone floors and converted courthouse on the first floor. Now a comfortable hotel located close to Padstow & Fowey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Trehellas House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trehellas House Hotel Washaway
Trehellas Hotel Bodmin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing