We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent and informative tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pencarrow House and Gardens

Pencarrow House and Gardens
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Washaway
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“excellent and informative tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We really enjoyed our trip to Pencarrow. The excellent and extremely informative tour of the house was superb, we arrived just in time for the tour of the house which was conducted by Sheila. At the start we were lucky enough to talk to the lady of the house, and then we were conducted around the house by Shelia who was so informative. Nice small group as well. We also had a lovely light lunch in the tea room and then spent time exploring the grounds. Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank leysla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    86
    17
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulously friendly for adults, children and dogs, lovely afternoon.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We decided to visit Pencarrow last minute so we arrived at just gone 2 pm and took the last tour of the house at 3. All 3 children enjoyed the tour and retold what they had learnt to their father with the same enthusiasm that the tour guide had. Whilst we were in the house my husband was walking our dog around the beautiful grounds, where she could go off of her lead for a good run in the forest areas. Great value for money and our only regret is that we didn't have longer, we will definately return in the future to explore the grounds more extensively.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pakaba33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens, Fantastic House, Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Visited the house and gardens this summer with the family. A fantastic day out for those with children wanting to let off some steam as the gardens are huge with a range of walks to enjoy. There's a big childrens playground by the tearooms, with pet peacocks and guinea fowl all roaming about the place freely. There's even a wendy house in the playground which was a star attraction with the little ones. Well behaved dogs are welcomed, so again - a great place to enjoy some outdoor fresh air. The house itself is large and interesting and the guides are all extremely knowledgeable and happy to answer any questions. Pencarrow also has a small tearoom, sells plants and in the summer has a soft fruit pick your own beside the carpark, so there really is something for everyone.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank imaterus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torbay
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Pencarrow House is very well worth a visit, the guide we had (Kathy) was brilliant, she bought anecdotes about the houses occupants to life for us. Lady Molesworth St Aubyn popped in during the tour and was herself a welcome visitor to the tour, she seemed very down to earth and made us feel welcome in her home, what a treat!
The house is still a family home, and therefore is much more alive than some of the National Trust properties, look for the hats on the busts!
There is a lovely teashop for a welcome cuppa and slice of cake.
Well done to all at Pencarrow, this was our second visit and we enjoyed it just as much as the first, we will return again, thank you for having us!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank HyacinthofTorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A truly English country house experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

It was a nothing short of a privilege to be allowed to tour this beautiful 'homely' home and contents. We were lucky to meet the charming lady of the house who could not have been friendlier and its easy to see how her influence follows through the whole visitor experience. Dogs are made very welcome. We will remember this visit with fondness.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Teally23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pencarrow House and Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Pencarrow House and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing