We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant ”

The Lugger Hotel Portloe
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Portloe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for one night (hotel has separate review) and also had dinner here. The service was faultless. The lobster starters were lovely but the mains were not. The chicken main was really tough and dry. My hake was fine but was lukewarm and the accompanying veg were also only just lukewarm. Needed lots of seasoning. Not a great experience this time.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank ZedAbdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 132 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2019

The hotel is located in the attractive small fishing village of Portloe, within walking distance of the Camping and Caravanning Cub site in Veryan, where we were staying. We stopped for lunch during our walk from the campsite to Portloe and returning along part of the coastal path - a distance of about 5 miles. Our lunch was delicious - a mussel chowder and smoked salmon sandwiches& salad, served in a delightful dining room with a lovely view from our window table overlooking the small harbour. Highly recommended - somewhere we would like to return to ( and stay in the hotel!) Good friendly service in the restaurant.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CazBUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2019

Quality oozes from this bjiou boutique hotel hunkered down at the high water mark of Portloe harbour, with its handful of fishing boats, right from the warm welcome on arrival. Our bedroom was spacious, with a decent bath, robes and (somewhat unexpecte) turn down service. But the high point was dinner. It was top drawer, from start to finish, from the amuse bouche to the beautifully presented puddings. The attentive staff were excellent. Can't wait to get back for a longer stay!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kent_Kipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019 via mobile

Lovely quaint and exceptionally clean hotel on the waters edge in Portloe. Very welcoming staff, nothing too much trouble. The food is interesting, well presented and the chef obviously goes to a lot of trouble to produce the dishes. Not all to our taste but a no quibble refund on one meal on our inclusive of breakfast and evening meal booking was graciously given. Breakfasts are good, cereal and continental table and cooked to order full English and various fish options. The smoked haddock was lovely. Enjoyed our stay lots of little touches, biscuits, cakes and a bag of bottled waters and sweets for the journey home - was definitely worth visiting.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Pinktopsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2019

Popped in for a quick drink while visiting Portloe. £7.35 for a small Pinot and £ 3.40 for half of IPA is more than I can justify paying. Didn’t even look at the food prices d

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lugger Hotel Portloe also viewed

Portloe, Roseland Peninsula
 
Ruan Lanihorne, Cornwall
Ruan High Lanes, Truro District
 
Portscatho, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 

Been to The Lugger Hotel Portloe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing