We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real away-from-it-all gem”
Review of The Lugger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lugger Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portloe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2010

I loved this place. The fact that it's difficult to get to made it all the better. A small hotel, with a history of smuggling, set in a little cove on the Cornish coast. My friend and I were welcomed as soon as we arrived, and the cheeful staff took us up to our room and then looked after us for the rest of our 2-night stay. It's true the rooms are quite small, but it wsa very comfortable and the staff couldn't do more for us. Breakfast and dinner were great, as was the little terrace overlooking the cove. Just the perfect break to get away from it all.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mudpuppy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (939)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

817 - 823 of 939 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2010

First impressions are of a pretty little whitewashed building overlooking the quaint if rundown harbour of Portloe,looks great. Just like the mail said

Reception area is compact and welcoming.

The staff, friendly helpful and pleasant.

We arrived in the afternoon and were shown our room away from the main building and overlooking the car park.Apparently most of the hotel rooms are spread around several buildings in the harbour region. ( umbrellas or rain wear required to reach the restaurant.)

The room was up a couple of flights of stairs,but the initial smell of damp in the corridor and on the stairs was not pleasant or welcome possibly why our room window was wide open.

The room was very clean with a wonderful Queen sized bed which gave us great nights sleep.Unfortunately it took up most of the floor space.

The tea making facilities were hidden in the wardrobe on top of a small set of draws leaving very little space to hang clothes on the four hangers.

A handle was missing from draws in the main set in the bedroom so could not be used.

We had booked all inclusive for the first night with the idea of trying out the menu and inviting our friends to join us for a meal on one of the following evenings.

The menu looked terrific if a little pricey but food to be really enjoyed.

My wife ordered fish
I ordered a steak 25.00 on the menu, with a supplement of 6.00 ( as we were full board).

The fish arrived with its topping of prawns and a small portion of veg,looking very appetizing if a tad small.

My steak was served medium rare as requested but as two match box sized pieces.
What a let down, the steak was tough,the veg cold and the chips very few of them, were white and raw in the middle not for me I like my chips crisp brown and cooked.

The sweets were excellent.

To end the evening I ordered two brandies,should have checked the price first but there is no spirit price list on view. 9.00 each (2.40 in the pub down the road for the same brand.)

We did not eat in the restaurant again and did not invite our friends for a meal there.

Breakfast was a good choice and acceptable.The service and staff great.

Overall a disappointing experience and not value for money. I have stayed at better for less and had better meals in a pub.

When we checked out I was asked about my stay and to be fair was told I should have complained about the food at the time and the fish and steak would have been replaced
I tried to explain that the steak would have been no different as it was the quality of meat that was the problem not the cooking and also my wife does not like a fuss.

No comment made on the price of the drinks or any offer of reimbursement.

Portloe is a lovely if quiet spot to visit and enjoy the walks,

would we stay at this "hotel" again No

My suggestion would be to find a b&b locally and eat at the ship.

Lesson,don't believe every thing you read in newspapers.
.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigdon0Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

We stopped here for a break in between visiting an amazing bed and breakfast in St. Just (Roundhay Barn Holidays - look at them instead). We were looking at it as a potential stay later in the year but our experience means we will not return. it is in a lovely spot overlooking the sea but the rooms were over-priced and over-rated and the manager/owner was very off-hand and it was too much trouble to serve us for afternoon tea/a drink at the bar. Yes they may be full but they should think very carefully about how they treat ALL guests as everyone who comes through your door is a potential customer and repeat customer.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joby69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2010

“Thank you for your comments. Unfortunately at certain times when the Hotel is full, we are unable to accommodate non residents, apologies if this was not conveyed in a friendly way.”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

As a fan of boutique hotels, I was looking forward to The Lugger. But the result was a disappointment. We were booked into room 304, located at the back of the Dolphin House. This £160/night room is supposed to be a superior room, but it was smaller than many normal hotel rooms I have stayed in over my life. Worse, the room was full of damp and stains on the carpet and wall clearly showed they have had problems before. Normally when you stay in a seaside hotel, you expect fresh air. But the room had a single small window tucked against a wall. We complained and got a better room upstairs that was smaller, but at least it didn't smell of damp. Also, you should know that Portloe is a very tiny remote village accessible by single lane roads, which makes access very hard. There's nothing to do in Portloe itself except hike the cliff paths. If you are planning to stay, make sure you get a suite. If you are looking for a remote escape, this might suit you. But otherwise, if you are looking to explore Cornwall as we were, you are better off in a more accessible town.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dmaxsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2010

Thank you for your comments. We did unfortunately experience a leak and a one off sudden damp problem occurred following an extremely heavy downpour, which is being rectified. Our rooms are of varying size but all with great and varied character. The village is a little isolated and reached by a scenic, narrow road, but the beauty and tranquility of Portloe is one of its unique and most popular features, along with its proximity and easy access to some of the larger resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

A warm welcome from the staff and a comfortable room with modern facilities. A super restaurant with good food overlooking the sea. Nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachel282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

What a hidden gem! Set in a secluded little cove, this is a perfect base for a walking holiday.
The staff are nothing but professional and represent an extremely well run hotel.
As complete foodies, The Lugger did not disappoint - absolutely fab food.
The hotel is bright and airy - spotlessly clean, with great attention to detail.
Worst thing - having to leave after only one night.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lielowlil_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Firstly we did not actually stay at the Hotel. Have completed rating above because there seems no other way to comment on the Hotel than do this section of the review.

What I wanted to say was that despite a sign being out at the front of the Hotel that cream teas were available, they were not - we were too late. We then asked if we could have a drink at the bar - by then it was about 5.00 pm. The Receptionist shouted up to the bar staff to ask if we could be accommodated. Apparently we could not. We are in our 50's, well dressed and really would have liked a drink! We understand the hotel is private but the excuse that the bar would soon be full of people for pre-dinner drinks seemed somewhat lame. We now do not want to stay there. This was the reason we called in - to check for a future booking. We felt they were off-hand and somewhat rude to potential clients.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BindiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2010

Thank you for your comments. Occassionally, dependant on the number of residents staying in the Hotel, we do have to say “no” to non residents, as the Hotel and public areas are not overly large and we can at times, struggle for space and seats to accommodate everyone. I would, however, like to apologize if this was not explained in a friendly manner, as we pride ourselves on the friendliness of the Team. This will be addressed with the Team, so there is no reoccurence of your experience. It is our hope that you will try The Lugger again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portloe
6.8 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 5 in St Mawes
415 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,613 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hotel Tresanton
Hotel Tresanton
#2 of 5 in St Mawes
656 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,206 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lugger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lugger Hotel

Address: Portloe TR2 5RD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > Portloe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portloe
Price Range: $162 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lugger Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lugger is nestled at the foot of a valley with picturesque cove and tiny harbour. Portloe is part of the beautiful Roseland Peninsula, surrounded by cliffs and headlands which form part of the Cornish Coastal Footpath. The Lugger sits right at the water’s edge in the very heart of the village and has been recently transformed following a major renovation programme. All the public rooms have been refurbished and greatly improved to offer comfort and functionality in the truly unique setting of this historic harbour. Luxurious touches throughout have helped the hotel to gain multiple awards, The Lugger has been named ‘Best Seaside Hotel’ by The Sunday Times, has featured on the Condé Naste Travellers ‘Hot List’ and also features in the Mr and Mrs Smith and Hip Hotels guidebooks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Lugger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugger Hotel Portloe
The Lugger Hotel Portloe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing