We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,160)
Filter reviews
1,160 results
Traveler rating
691
276
99
68
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
691
276
99
68
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot chocolate little touches journey home fishing boats deluxe room weather forecast turn down service coastal path biscuits small harbour eggs benedict the main hotel cakes small hotel bottled water both nights cornish fishing village
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,160 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed here in January. We can honestly say this is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at. We had a lovely sized room with a huge bed and a glimpse of the sea from our window. It was also very quiet which we love. The food in the restaurant was gorgeous both at dinner and breakfast and lovely drinks in the lounge by the fire afterwards. What sets this hotel apart from every other place we have stayed was the fantastic service and thoughtful touches - freshly baked goods in your room every afternoon, a hot water bottle put in your bed and hot chocolate and marshmallows left in your room whilst you are at dinner, a little bag with water and mints for your journey home. It really made our trip feel extra special. Would definitely return! Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank holliet659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navigator39355808110, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

What a lovely review! It's so good to be able to share such positive feedback with my hardworking team. Makes it all worthwhile. I look forward to welcoming you back to Lugger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020

This was a 2 night birthday break in January. Our first time at the Lugger and we were really happy that we chose to stay there. The weather was lousy but watching the wild waves from the dining room was really special. The hotel is practically in the sea and the SW coast path can be walked directly from the hotel, in both directions. We booked a superior room which was located in an annexe. The room was spacious well furnished and nicely decorated. The bed was comfortable and we were surprised to return to the room after dinner to find the bed already turned down, two glasses of hot chocolate ready for us - and a hot water bottle on the bed. Cooking at the Lugger is excellent and the hotel definitely deserves its two AA rosette award. And finally to say that from the moment of our arrival all the staff were friendly and most helpful. The Lugger scores at just about every level. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SomersetFugitive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2020

Our first visit to this lovely hotel in a quiet, quaint fishing village. Our room was comfortable and bathroom toiletries were more than ample for our stay. Huge comfortable bed. Little extras in the room were nice surprise: fruit, biscuits, cakes and hot chocolate in the evenings. Tea and coffee making facilities kept in wardrobe in our room.

The ambience and staff in the hotel are worthy of a mention which enhanced our stay, the food was excellent with ample choices for breakfast and evening meal.

We needed a relaxing break and The Lugger ticked all the boxes for us.

Would we stay again and recommend this hotel? Absolutely

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sebastian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2019

We spent a wonderful weekend here last December and enjoyed it so much we came back this year with friends. The highlights of this hotel are the food and the staff, although everything is excellent. Rooms are well equipped and in good condition and you are spoilt by mid afternoon treats, cakes, and night time drinking chocolate! Anne the M.D., has clearly got it right in her staff and it shows as they all appear to be happy in their work and are deyond helpfull. We stayed for 3 nights and didn’t really want to leave the hotel as we all found it so relaxing. Excellent in all aspects.

Date of stay: December 2019
1  Thank Jackiemat20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navigator39355808110, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2020

Thank you so much for your very kind words. We certainly enjoyed having you here.

Happy New Year to you both. Hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards
Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2019

Our second stay did not disappoint great location and hotel. Lots of interesting guests happy to talk after dinner in the relaxing bar area with the warmth of the real fire. Our room was in the annexe on the first floor, very comfortable bed, large wardrobe to store your case/bag out of sight. Useful fridge with fresh milk for your morning tea or coffee. Food was excellent both at dinner and breakfast. We walked the costal path in the northerly direction to Portholland then walked back via the lanes which took us 3 1/2 hours so the welcome cakes/biscuits in our room was very welcome. We will return and recommend the Lugger Hotel.

Room tip: Room 309 was quiet even though our window faced the village road.
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tinaonholiday2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navigator39355808110, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Positive second stay reviews give us such a boost as they let us see that our standards are not slipping and we continue to show our guests how important they are to us. Come back and visit again soon. You keep us on our toes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews