We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lugger Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Nare(Veryan)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Driftwood Hotel(Trewithian)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Rosevine(Trewithian)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Llawnroc Hotel(Gorran Haven)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tremarne Hotel(Mevagissey)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Idle Rocks(St Mawes)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (984)
Filter reviews
985 results
Traveler rating
558
248
91
66
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
558
248
91
66
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot chocolatelittle touchesjourney homefishing boatsweather forecastthe main hotelcoastal pathturn down servicesmall hotelbottled watereggs benedictbiscuitscar parksmall harbourcornish fishing villageboth nightscakes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
571 - 576 of 985 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

My husband booked this as a treat for my birthday through Secret Escapes and we were not disappointed! This is a gorgeous hotel off the beaten track positioned in the tiny village of Portloe in a beautiful setting overlooking the harbour. Everything about this hotel was first class from our welcome on arrival, the hot water bottles and the daily joke left on the bed in the evening and the goodie bag handed to us on departure for our journey home! We ate in the restaurant on both nights and were not disappointed, although the menu was limited the food was outstanding. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a relaxing break away.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We have just come back from a weekend at The Lugger, and overall this was a brilliant hotel! We got the hotel for a really good rate through a bespoke hotel deal, and had a deluxe room. The room was lovely, probably the best we have stayed in, very spacious with a sea view from the balcony and a really nice feel.
The hotel staff were very helpful to every request and the location as shown on the photos was superb.
There is only one down point to the hotel and that is the food! The breakfast was good and there was a good choice, but am sorry to say the evening meal was the worst we have ever had! It was expensive, but if the food is good you don't mind paying. This was not the case however, the portions were also very small.
This said would definitely stay at the hotel again, but would ensure we booked in at the pub down the road for both nights. Hopefully some comments on the food would have been taken on board and next time the food would have improved.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Sadiezak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a two day break at the Lugger, our second visit to this hotel and again we were not disappointed.

The room, food, hot water bottles at bedtime and sweet treats were all fab. Again the service was great, nothing is too much.

We took our dog with us this time, he was not allowed in the main hotel (fair enough) but we had a deluxe room so had plenty of room for him.

You need to visit this hotel, it's pure relaxation.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Msquires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed at the Lugger Hotel for a three night stay after our wedding. Beautiful location, helpful and friendly staff. Service was excellent throughout the stay. The breakfast was delicous. Evening meals were also to a very high standard, a limited choice but still very good! Lots of extra touches made our stay complete. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kgjgjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My wife and I stayed for a short break to celebrate our wedding anniversary and to unwind after a hectic period of work.
The location is idyllic and far from the madding crowd, stunning cliff top walks and scenery, and even though the hotel had been battered by the storms the previous days, resulting in the loss of the lower terrace it was service as usual.
One cannot praise the staff enough for their attention to detail, and the little touches such as mini hot water bottles, hot chocolate and marsh mellows magically appearing in the bedroom whilst taking dinner are unexpected nice touches.
Our room was just across the slipway in the cottage and was excellently fitted out, very clean and cosy.
The large open fire was a magnet to crash in front of and relax with a cream tea which we could not resist.
We ate in the restaurant on the first night and although the menu appeared limited (possibly due to the storms) it offered what could be termed as fine dining. The presentation was like a painting on a plate and texture and flavours were fine, it was just a shame that there wasn't a little more of it having worked up a hearty appetite walking on the coastal path walk.
Breakfast was great, good selection everything and the "Cornish Breakfast" was just what one needed to set you up for a day's exploring the Cornish coast.
Thank you to all of the staff for making our stay such a treat and for making us so welcome.
I would recommend the Lugger Hotel to any one as it is the perfect hideaway offering total relaxation in a very pretty smugglers cove.
.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peterHerefordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews