We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seaside seduction”
Review of The Lugger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lugger Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portloe
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Seaside seduction”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights.Very warm welcome by manager. Staff were attentive but not intrusive.Resturant food was very good.Remote but good location.Would suit those who want secluded comfort.Enjoyable coastal path walks.Large comfortable bed.Nice range of treats in the room every night,such as, hot chocolate and hot water bottles.Good base to explore this part of

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marvelwonders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    229
    86
    66
    22
See reviews for
52
686
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

excellent spot, lovely views, good walking location holiday, great staff, great food, and a local pub. had a lovely box of chocs waiting in our room and a bottle of red wine, really nice feel to the place. most of the holiday makers had dogs with them but that made no difference because they even had an area where you could leave your muddy dog walking boots . the staff and local residents did make us feel welcome. we hope to visit again in the summer.

Room Tip: worth upgrading to the rooms overlooking the little village
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RHKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We've just had 3 days at the Lugger and overall we enjoyed our stay, 2 nights on a Secret Escapes deal and a third night on an agreed rate. The position being almost in the sea at the end of a small cove is fairly unique, in winter it's not great out on the terrace but a lunch we had there in the summer was great when eating on the terrace. The staff are all efficient and friendly, nice folk. Our rooms (2 booked) were cosy, nicely decorated, but fairly small, a 6ft person would probably have needed to walk with a stoop, we were fine at 5'6".... Some nice touches with mints, chocolates, and mini hot water bottles each night. Food was a little disappointing, quite expensive with modest portions, we expected to eat there all three nights but in the end chose local pubs for 2 nights. Wifi only works if you stay within 50ft of reception. We'd go again if the deal was tempting, but it would be good if the food was more sensibly priced with maybe a 2 course meal for £20 ish... Overall, nice place, nice position, nice people.

Room Tip: Try and avoid the smaller rooms.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 598chrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This hotel is situated close enough to almost feel the spray off the crashing waves, you can certainly lie there listening to them all night, a wonderful sound !

The staff here were very attentive and added extra touches like turning the room down twice, once in the morning and then again in the evening to leave hot chocolate, marshmallows, tomorrows weather and a joke ! Subtle touches but made a huge difference.

The food is outstanding and can only be described as fine dining.

We were very lucky with the weather for the time of year and had a wonderful time, thank you to the staff at the Lugger Inn for their contribution, they made us feel very special and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scott y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We had an Anniversary couple of nights on their storm-watching deal. . We were delighted with the complementary room upgrade they gave us and touched by the wine and chocolates they put in the room for us. Lovely old hotel - but very tastefully decorated. Staff helpful and unobtrusive - food very high quality. Cosy lounge area with log fire. Many nice touches inc little hot water bottles in the bed for bedtime and sachets of hot chocolate, and a bag with bottles of water given to us for our journey home. Fantastic location and excellent quality.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to room 202 with sea view. Lovely big room - with full-on sea view from both windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lubyspoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We made a special trip over from Portscatho on the coast path to check out The Lugger, having seen it in various guides. It's a top quality hotel, but was very quiet when we called for lunch - admittedly in October. We were disappointed that only sandwiches were available but by the look of it there is little demand for lunch in this quite remote spot. We enjoyed our sandwiches, which were well presented, but we are not likely to call again, because we prefer a bit more choice at lunchtime.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We spent a weekend at The Lugger as a last minute trip away, I wasn't sure what to expect but I was bowled over by the location, the service and the room. We had dinner in the restaurant and it was fabulous, if you are after pie and chips though, you may be disappointed. Top class cuisine and reasonably priced. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice including my favourite, Eggs Benedict. Our room overlooked the tiny harbour and had everything you would expect including fresh milk in a mini fridge (tastefully hidden in a cupboard). Each evening hot water bottles were delivered to the room together with hot chocolate and the following days weather forecast. Really nice toiletries in the bathroom that boasted a bath and a powerful shower. The village is very pretty and is on the coastal path, a perfect place to relax and enjoy the scenery. I will return!

Room Tip: Room 202, fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2ManySh0es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portloe
3.8 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trewithian
479 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,351 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
855 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
8.7 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lugger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lugger Hotel

Property: The Lugger Hotel
Address: Portloe TR2 5RD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > Portloe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lugger Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lugger is nestled at the foot of a valley with picturesque cove and tiny harbour. Portloe is part of the beautiful Roseland Peninsula, surrounded by cliffs and headlands which form part of the Cornish Coastal Footpath. The Lugger sits right at the water’s edge in the very heart of the village and has been recently transformed following a major renovation programme. All the public rooms have been refurbished and greatly improved to offer comfort and functionality in the truly unique setting of this historic harbour. Luxurious touches throughout have helped the hotel to gain multiple awards, The Lugger has been named ‘Best Seaside Hotel’ by The Sunday Times, has featured on the Condé Naste Travellers ‘Hot List’ and also features in the Mr and Mrs Smith and Hip Hotels guidebooks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Lugger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugger Hotel Portloe
The Lugger Hotel Portloe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing