We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lugger Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Driftwood Hotel(Trewithian)
$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Rosevine(Trewithian)
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Llawnroc Hotel(Gorran Haven)
$155
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tremarne Hotel(Mevagissey)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Idle Rocks(St Mawes)
$305
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Rising Sun(St Mawes)
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Tresanton(St Mawes)
$473
$393
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
$109
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,002)
Filter reviews
1,002 results
Traveler rating
570
252
92
66
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
570
252
92
66
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot chocolatelittle touchesjourney homefishing boatsweather forecastthe main hotelcoastal pathturn down servicesmall hotelbottled watereggs benedictbiscuitscar parksmall harbourcornish fishing villageboth nightscakes
Filter
Updating list...
671 - 676 of 1,002 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We planned for our Wedding Reception to be held at The Lugger after getting married nearby. I could not be more impressed with how amazing our time was there. Richard, Russell and the rest of the team were so fantastic. They were very attentive and nothing we asked for was too much bother. The venue is amazing, the food was delicious and the service from all of the staff was outstanding. I stayed in the cottage for 3 nights. It was delightful waking up to the sound of the sea. Other friends commented on how lovely their rooms were. There is absolutely nothing that I would have changed about our stay there.

Room Tip: 201 and 202 are lovely - they both have a lovely view of the sea. The cottage is also really special, and a perfect place to get ready for a wedding in!!!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth12345209011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I booked this hotel via an online website and immediately cancelled the booking after realizing I had made a mistake with the booking dates. Unknown to me the small print of the booking conditions stated that the full amount will be taken on booking and is non-refundable. The Hotel refused to refund the money to the credit card used and by looking at the majority of the reviews for this hotel I can see why they need to grab every penny they can.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
13  Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Thank you for posting your comments. This booking was for an online "special offer", booked through an online third party agent. With all offers there are Terms and Conditions that apply which are shown clearly to enable potential guests to make the choice of booking the special discounted offer and comply with the Terms and Conditions or book the Best Available rates which have a longer cancellation period. We would always recommend taking out suitable holiday insurance to cover instances such as these. It is a shame this potential guest decided to write a comment on here for not reading the Terms and Conditions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Perfect stay in a lovely setting. Staff provide excellent service in a wonderful Cornish location. Food delicious and served with I smile. A must visit if you plan a trip to the area. Walks along the cost are worth trying with views to rival any along the coastline.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 997David_S997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel over the bank holiday. The location is stunning, Portloe is a beautiful little place. The best part was the relaxing atmosphere, it was like being on a Greek island (without the weather although it was very sunny) ; we really did slow down. The rooms were very adequate and quiet, the beds comfy. You could hear the sea sometimes and the whole experience was an escape - particularly if like us you work long hours and are permanently tired!

The restaurant has an 'almost monopoly' as the village is so tiny and is probably a tad expensive for what it is but the food was very good and we did enjoy our meals there very much. The food is fresh and original. The staff are all excellent, Richard is always happy and welcoming and a great host.

We were very sorry to leave. The little things like the weather forecasts, hot chocolate, fruit, water etc not to mention the silly joke made the place individual and not part of the usual blandness that can be many hotels. I will always remember the incredible view from the dining room and little terrace and look forward to our return.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are very good
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justhadtosay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had a happy two day stay in glorious weather. We enjoyed the food and friendly service. Two suggestions. 1. Keep the nightly weather forecasts but shelve the jokes. 2. Replace Jolly Roger with St Piran's flag on the pole. Thanks.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris_RW_Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews