We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of The Lugger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lugger Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portloe
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Wonderful hotel with excellent service bate in hotel both nights and food was excellent. Richard and the staff couldn't do enough for us. Even given apples and water for trip home. Can't wait to go there again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nessa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    214
    83
    66
    22
See reviews for
49
663
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

What a warm and professional welcome! Totally worth the long haul from London, the food was amazing, the service faultless and the scenery breathtaking. Russell and his staff were too nice! The rooms are of a really high standard, there are lots of little terraces to sit and gaze out over the sea with a pre or post prandial drink!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lphillips74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

A perfect spot for our wedding anniversary, a great location ideal for coastal walks and plenty of small villages nearby to visit. The hotel staff were so very helpful and nothing was too much, the menu was excellent particularly the breakfasts. Very relaxing.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Thank you for a lovely stay, such a beautifully run hotel with polite 'can't do enough for you' colleagues. Beautiful views of the sea from this active fishing community. The only thing I'd say is there is no mobile reception, however the free use of the phone in your room and excellent wifi easily outweigh this. Thank you

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philippa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The Lugger is as close to the sea as you can get without actually being in it. The Coast Path is right outside and the views are truly stunning. Our room had a terrace where you could sit and admire.
The room was comfortable with a lovely big bed. The bathroom was very spacious - a welcome change from the usual poky ensuites that have been stuck into a spare corner somewhere.
There were also some lovely touches like marshmallows on the tray in the evening, a weather report for the following day and even a silly joke!
The service is second to none. The menu changes nightly and the food is out of this world. The breakfast menu is also very comprehensive. The staff are all really friendly and professional. I was really sorry to leave.
If you want peace, quiet and total escape from the Twenty First Century this is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
It's great to read your lovely review. The Lugger is perfect for a little escape to do as much or as little as you wish! Many thanks for posting and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

On arrival we were delighted with the location of the hotel as it was just as we had hoped for. We were warmly greeted by Reception who checked us in very quickly. We were asked if we had stayed at the hotel before and as we hadn't, were given a quick tour showing us where breakfast would be served, the lounge and bar. We were then shown to our room which was in the converted boathouse. Our room had its own terrace overlooking the sea which would, I'm sure, be lovely during warm summer months. The room was slightly smaller than we were expecting, but warm, clean, nicely decorated and very comfortable. The location is beautiful.

The hot chocolate and hot water bottles, as part of the turn down bed service, were a lovely touch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Many thanks for your great comments, The Lugger is truly a little gem and the hot water bottles are lovely on a cold wintry evening. Thanks again for posting and see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Spent 3 nights at The Lugger Hotel after Easter for a relaxing child free break The room we stayed in was perfect. Bedroom well laid out and bathroom had a large bath and shower. The staff were so attentive making up the bed everyday and even providing us with hot chocolate and marshmallows everynight. We had dinner at the hotel 2 nights and whilst the dinner was expensive it was a special treat and really yummy. Breakfast was great I had the eggs benedict once and the salmon and scrambled eggs and husband had the cooked breakfast which was a perfect size and not too greasy. A wonderful place to escape to for a short break. If you are thinking of boooking go and do it! There was no fitness center or pool so have just put excellent.

Room Tip: We were in the main hotel over the lounge area. The floors were creaky but could hear no noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaA856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you so much for posting your great review. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portloe
3.8 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trewithian
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
16.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lugger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lugger Hotel

Property: The Lugger Hotel
Address: Portloe TR2 5RD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > Portloe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lugger Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lugger is nestled at the foot of a valley with picturesque cove and tiny harbour. Portloe is part of the beautiful Roseland Peninsula, surrounded by cliffs and headlands which form part of the Cornish Coastal Footpath. The Lugger sits right at the water’s edge in the very heart of the village and has been recently transformed following a major renovation programme. All the public rooms have been refurbished and greatly improved to offer comfort and functionality in the truly unique setting of this historic harbour. Luxurious touches throughout have helped the hotel to gain multiple awards, The Lugger has been named ‘Best Seaside Hotel’ by The Sunday Times, has featured on the Condé Naste Travellers ‘Hot List’ and also features in the Mr and Mrs Smith and Hip Hotels guidebooks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Lugger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugger Hotel Portloe
The Lugger Hotel Portloe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing