We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Easter”
Review of The Lugger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lugger Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portloe
Certificate of Excellence
camberley uk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Relaxing Easter”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Spent three nights over Easter in a Classic room. It is in a beautiful postion in the small harbour of a smal traditional Cornish fishing village. The classic room was over the other side of the small harbour in an old store. It was fine, nicely furnished if a little pokey with a small window.

Staff were attentive and looked after us very well. No complaints whatsoever.

Main hotel building has is very nice with a library/lounge, bar, restaurant and conservatory leading to a terrace. The weather was such that the terrace was for hardy smokers only.

The Cornish breakfast was nice but needed some baked beans or something similar to add a bit more liquid to what was a dry mix of foods. Dinner was inventive but not everything worked. When it worked it was superb (Scallops with Blood Orange and Prauline) but when it didn't work it was not good (Pork Belly and Scallops where the Pork Belly was too fatty for the dish). Some did not have enough food on the plate (fillet and breast of lamb - three lovely bits of lamb and some sauce - needed some vegetable accompanyment). Deserts were superb but not plentiful. Bread was dry although this may have been by design.

On the third night we had a lovely meal in St Mawes but as the roads are single track and unlite around Portloe it must be tricky if you meet trafic going in the opposite direction and I was glad to get back with the car unscathed.

Fantastic for a short break but maybe time to move on after three nights. Best location ever and, given that British hotels are generally expensive, not bad value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnCamberleyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you posting your review and lovely to read you had a relaxing Easter break. Our menus are designed using the best of local produce which is reflected in the dishes themselves creating a variety of flavours, textures and colour. All our main courses are served with extra vegetables. We are delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay and do hope we will see you again on your next visit to Cornwall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    221
    83
    66
    22
See reviews for
51
673
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chislehurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Lugger Hotel is nestled in a smalll cove, where small fishing boats moor. We were lucky to have a sea view, With the sun shining the turquiose sea was like a mill pond. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very well decorated. and clean, the showers were excellent. The whole hotel had a very relaxed atmosphere and they had some very special touches that I won't give away as they make a wonderful surprise. We ate in the restaurant and the food was delicious and well presented. The coastal walks are very impressive whatever the weather. We thought it was a plus having no mobile signal, peace and quiet (they do have wifi)

Room Tip: The rooms with a sea view are smaller, but the view is breathless
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaye W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here at The Lugger. It sounds as though you were lucky to have one of the few sunny days this year and enjoy the amazing surrounding scenery. Many thanks for posting and hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple
Level Contributor
103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The letter below is the letter we sent to the manager and to the head office of the group. We did get a call from the manager (but no response from the head office) refunding our second night and for the lobster that I ate on our first and only night, but it hardly compensates for the poor experience and for the wrecking of our 25th anniversary celebrations. I would like to point out that we have no problem with creaking floorboards, small rooms etc and do not expect anyone to "fawn" over us. We are just ordinary people who expect to get what they pay for. Management have now (i hope, have not checked) refunded the lobster and for our second night (THAT WE DID NOT HAVE). I leave you to make up your own minds but could not possibly recommend.

Please read letter (and other poor reviews) to enable you to make up your own mind, No doubt it is horses for courses but we have experienced far better for much less.

Dear Mr Hartley

The web site for “The Lugger Hotel” indicates that it is one of the top 50 hotels in the country. This is why we booked the hotel for our 25th wedding anniversary. We wanted something special.
From our experience it could not be further from the truth. It may indeed be one of the top 50 locations as there is no doubt that the setting is beautiful, however this is where the quality stops.

We had booked a deluxe room, with sea view room at £265 per night DB&B for two nights, the 11th & 12th March. We also booked as a treat a lobster for the evening which required a further £24.50 supplement and had planned to have the seafood platter on the evening of our anniversary, carrying a further charge of £59, making a grand total of for the 2 nights £613.50.

The issue that we had with our room was the non-existent view, unless you count having a view through slatted blinds whilst using the toilet or sitting on the floor at the end of the bed.

Our evening meal was a great disappointment. Firstly, although the restaurant was not busy (only five tables) we all sat on tables next to each other, we suggest to make service easier and not for a better experience. Secondly the bread offered at the start of our meal was dry and tasted stale, as if it had been refreshed and not baked that day. Thirdly, our welcome letter said “why not sample some of the British Isles most delectable seafood prepared with care and imagination.” So you can imagine our disappointment when the lobster was just, split and grilled (without any seasoning), served with melted butter and a salad consisting of a few salad leaves, a couple of olives and a sunblush tomato. This certainly does not deserve the “prepared with care and imagination” description in our welcome letter. We asked Russell if potato was available, as on the sample menu the lobster was served with Parisienne potatoes and salad. We were bluntly told that it was only a sample menu and no offer was made to ask the chef for anything else to compliment what turned out to be a dry and flavourless lobster. There was not even an offer to provide a proper salad. When we checked out we mentioned again to the “receptionist/manager?” that we were dissatisfied with the quality of the lobster and were told that we had paid a fair market price. Since returning home we have looked to see what the going rate is at Rick Stein’s high quality seafood restaurant and he is charging £44.50 for a lobster and only £65 for a Fruits de Mer (to share) not £100 so although the Lugger’s rates are comparable for the lobster and overpriced for a seafood platter, we would suggest that the quality of the food is not comparable and does not justify the price. Lastly although we would not normally have a dessert we did in this case as we were both still hungry.

The following morning we were served by a very pleasant and chatty young man, but we were not offered tea or coffee for a good ten minutes. Maybe this was because all elements of the buffet had not been prepared in time. This was obvious because the pastries arrived later. The quality of the breakfast was not much better than the food the previous night. The ham was tasteless and the cheese was “strange”. The toast was cheap sliced bread and the tomato was completely unripe, pale and watery.

Our expectations from information on your web site and brochure were clearly not met.
The Deluxe room with sea view for which we paid a hefty surcharge for is a joke. The food was mediocre and portions were rather small. The carpet on the stairs was stained and looked dirty. The little extras , bottled water, sweets, fruit (not on 1st day) biscuits, fresh milk and hot chocolate with a marshmallow are not special, most are standard at a decent hotel. The miniature hot water bottle was fun but really only a gimmick. If it was really cold it would have not served any purpose. When we returned to the room it was noticed that there was still toothpaste on the glass shelf above the sink, just another reflection of poor quality at a high price.
We discussed during that day the issues that we had with the accommodation and food along with a family illness and decided that we would check out prematurely to prevent further disappointment on our very special day.

We feel that customer care does not seem to be a high priority. There is a very much a “take it or leave it attitude.” Hence the rather dismissive comment made at check out that we “paid market price” for the lobster with no concern whatsoever for our disappointment. This attitude was further confirmed when we rang Russell to discuss our concerns and he offered to refund the supplement for the lobster, but not showing any concern over our dissatisfaction. A refund for the lobster does not in any way compensate for the poor experience, or for the fact that we paid for one night that we didn’t have. If this is indicative of the care and attention that hotels in the group give to their guests (and think is acceptable) we would discount any further visits and would not consider recommending to others.

Please read this and make your own judgement. We can only speak as we find. We are not fussy and you will see that if you read any other reviews (by us) that what you see is what you get. But this is a relatively pricey hotel, more like a seaside B&B (we have had far better for less) than a hotel that is meant to be in the top 50 in the country. We dismissed other negative reviews as being picky. We were so wrong and quite frankly they really couldn't care. So BEWARE you certainly don'y get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Don't go for a sea view. We had a sea view at a hefty surcharge. Absolutely beautiful if you sat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We are sorry to read of your disappointment and following our telephone conversation I can confirm the refund has been made and a letter sent in the post. Following your feedback we have put in place staff training to ensure there is no re-occurrence of your experience which is far from our usual standards as stated in the many positive comments on here and the letters we receive at the Hotel. If you would like to discuss your comments further, please contact me directly at the Hotel. Thank you again for taking the time to post. Kind regards Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have just returned from the hotel and it really was a wonderful experience. There were no complaints such a lot of care and attention taken with everything. I am ready to book again. I slept like a baby to the sound of the sea.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for your great comments, it's lovely to read how much you enjoyed your weekend. Let us know when you are ready to book again and we'll make the arrangements for you. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Fantastic place. The location is very nice the food is excellent, the service is 5 stars.
Just 2 down points, there is no mobile signal at all in the hotel and in the radious of at least a mile from the hotel but wi-fi is available in the hotel. Ladies, please take your own hair dryer because the rooms don't have any(at least my room 205, didn't).I do recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SambaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Many thanks for posting your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We do place hair dryers in all the rooms, so will check as to why this one was missing. Thanks once again and see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henlow, Beds
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed for three nights over a long weekend and I have to say the whole experience was a 'breath of fresh air'! The location of the hotel was amazing and we couldn't fault the service and the way we were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived. We checked in just after 12:00 and the room was ready for us, the little extras they left in the room were also very welcome in the evenings whilst we were having dinner, I won't spoil the surprise though!

I would definitely recommend this hotel if you're in need of chilling out and enjoying the breath taking views and coastal walks that are available.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for your great comments, it's lovely to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us, hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed at the Lugger for two nights 15th-16th March 2013, the stay was I have to say almost without fault, upon arrival the greeting was very pleasant and welcoming, the room was of a high standard you would expect at a hotel like the lugger well decorated and co ordinated, good bathroom and a reasonable amount of space, the breakfast was well cooked and presented very nice with a good menu choice. I think the Lugger has made a difference because of the small things they take time about that make a difference, hot chocolate drinks delivered to your bedroom each eveneing at no extra charge, hot water bottles put in your bedroom whilst you had dinner, the small plate of cake and biscuits left in your room and the leaving pack of water and fruit to help you on your journey! well done the Lugger. The only fault I could find was the evening menue did not cater for all taste and should have reflected the client base at the time ( may be a small marketing error) however I would suggest you are losing trade through this as I witnessed at least 6 other people staying at the Lugger eating thier evening meals in an establishment no far way.The last comment I would make is about the location of the Lugger, this location is as it says on the tin - "Perfect" if you want peace and quite then vist Portloe, The perfection of Portloe is that there is nothing else there except its natuaral beauty.

Room Tip: The hotel has 22 rooms but are located in different parts of the cove, so be sure to establish where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEMVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
It's great to read your lovely comments, thank you for taking the time to post. We do take on board all guest feedback so we can continually monitor our procedures and performance. Thanks again for posting and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portloe
3.8 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trewithian
471 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
7.5 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Rosevine
The Rosevine
#2 of 2 in Trewithian
85 reviews
16.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
13.7 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lugger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lugger Hotel

Property: The Lugger Hotel
Address: Portloe TR2 5RD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > Portloe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lugger Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lugger is nestled at the foot of a valley with picturesque cove and tiny harbour. Portloe is part of the beautiful Roseland Peninsula, surrounded by cliffs and headlands which form part of the Cornish Coastal Footpath. The Lugger sits right at the water’s edge in the very heart of the village and has been recently transformed following a major renovation programme. All the public rooms have been refurbished and greatly improved to offer comfort and functionality in the truly unique setting of this historic harbour. Luxurious touches throughout have helped the hotel to gain multiple awards, The Lugger has been named ‘Best Seaside Hotel’ by The Sunday Times, has featured on the Condé Naste Travellers ‘Hot List’ and also features in the Mr and Mrs Smith and Hip Hotels guidebooks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Lugger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugger Hotel Portloe
The Lugger Hotel Portloe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing