We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place To Relax”
Review of The Lugger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lugger Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portloe
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Place To Relax”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed at the Lugger for two nights 15th-16th March 2013, the stay was I have to say almost without fault, upon arrival the greeting was very pleasant and welcoming, the room was of a high standard you would expect at a hotel like the lugger well decorated and co ordinated, good bathroom and a reasonable amount of space, the breakfast was well cooked and presented very nice with a good menu choice. I think the Lugger has made a difference because of the small things they take time about that make a difference, hot chocolate drinks delivered to your bedroom each eveneing at no extra charge, hot water bottles put in your bedroom whilst you had dinner, the small plate of cake and biscuits left in your room and the leaving pack of water and fruit to help you on your journey! well done the Lugger. The only fault I could find was the evening menue did not cater for all taste and should have reflected the client base at the time ( may be a small marketing error) however I would suggest you are losing trade through this as I witnessed at least 6 other people staying at the Lugger eating thier evening meals in an establishment no far way.The last comment I would make is about the location of the Lugger, this location is as it says on the tin - "Perfect" if you want peace and quite then vist Portloe, The perfection of Portloe is that there is nothing else there except its natuaral beauty.

Room Tip: The hotel has 22 rooms but are located in different parts of the cove, so be sure to establish where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEMVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
It's great to read your lovely comments, thank you for taking the time to post. We do take on board all guest feedback so we can continually monitor our procedures and performance. Thanks again for posting and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    221
    83
    66
    22
See reviews for
51
673
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
300 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

First went to this boutique hotel about five years ago. First visit back last weekend and stayed for a couple of nights. The hotel is in a great location overlooking the sea. Portloe is very quiet so maybe not for some but if you have a generally hectic life most of the time then this is a place to consider coming to for some much needed luxury, relaxation and exercise. The hotel is well designed and the staff are very friendly. Our superior room had a great view of the sea and was well stocked. The restaurant is well designed and the food is presented to a high standard. There is also a Spa that we didn't use which seems popular.The only slight negative in my view is that parts of the exterior of the hotel could do with another coat of paint. To be fair I should imagine that the hotel have this planned when the weather improves. Overall a very enjoyable stay. Will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1879fulham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We are so pleased you made a return visit to The Lugger and read how much you enjoyed your stay. It sounds as though you felt thoroughly relaxed after your stay which The Lugger and the village is wonderful for. Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We took the "romantic weekend special", glad we picked last week as the week before they had a howling gale.
We were greated by the GM and Russell showed us to our room, a classic room in the building outside to the rear of the hotel. Very nice, and clean, a little in need of some extra attention in as much as the laundry bags were left in the little sitting room area for that whole day and were not removed until the following aftertnoon, so the sitting room was not usable. Having said that the little touches make this a lovely little place, the hot water bottles in the bed (one each), the hot chocolate sachets and the marshmallows, the sweety jar, tea and coffee, a fridge with fresh milk and water, when we left we were given a bag with 2 bottles of water and 2 apples, which I thought was nice.
The service we found to be very friendly, the waiting staff were pleasant enough and accommodating, the breakfast was not to my taste but it was plentiful and the choices were good. We also ate in the restaurant at night, the food was noveau and it changed slightly on both nights. We had the lemon sole on the Saturday night which was very good.
I would recommend this hotel for a treat, its very popular as it was full I think on the Saturday night, there is nothing else in the village except one pub, no shops at all to wonder and look at after dinner. We drove to St Mawes and Mevagissy which were nice, having the sunshine helped as it would be restricting if it had rained.
All in all a lovely weekend away in Portloe and a big thanks to the staff for making our stay so pleasant.

Room Tip: We were in room 304 which is in the annexe, quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cvtuykom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Many thanks for posting your lovely comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your weekend at The Lugger, it is the perfect spot for a relaxing, romantic getaway. Thanks again for posting and hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was our second visit here - the first had been just one night, this time we managed a weekend. The location is exquisite, so close to the sea in a tiny cove. The rooms are of a very high standard, with thoughtful touches such as hot chocolate and marshmallows for bedtime and fresh milk in the fridge, which is very highly valued by us. Having a little patio to go out to is lovely too, even in February. The lounge is a great place to relax before/after dinner and a good place to enjoy company.
My only comment would be a request to vary the evening menu a little more if possible.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMJ630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your weekend with us. The patios are a great place to enjoy the surrounding scenery. Many thanks for posting and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had a long weekend at the Luggar last week, we had a fantastic time and would agree with comments stating this could be the most romantic place. We stayed in the boathouse, had amazing views and loved the special touches of shortbread, turn down service, hot chocolates in the room and cake on the afternoons in the room.
We found ourselves unwinding as soon as we checked in!
Dinner in the restaurant on valentine's night was lovely, food was very good and the atmosphere was relaxed and intimate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolCurlywurly21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. The Lugger really is the place to relax and unwind and a special place to enjoy a Valentine's break in the romantic setting of Portloe. Many thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We were greeted on our arrival by the manager/maitre d' and shown to a small seating area with a roaring fire; lovely on a dark winter's evening. Our cosiness soon evaporated though when he was taking our orders and my friend asked whether the fish could be served without the mussel broth, to which he answered that she would just get a piece of fish on its own. When she asked whether the chef could possibly add a few simple vegetables and potatoes the answer was a very curt "No" - not "I'll ask the chef" or "sorry madam we can't do this"! I was taken aback and thought he was rude, so when I asked whether the first course could be served without the parmesan I was not surprised to hear another "No". When we were taken to our table I was not happy to see that my chair seat was stained. It was a Saturday evening and the restaurant was empty except for us, although six people arrived later.
At least the waiter was friendly and we all enjoyed our first courses which were beautifully presented. The venison main however was disappointing as there were only two tiny pieces of meat and it was lukewarm. There was a dessertspoon of a thin tasteless purée, also a beetroot gratin and that was very tasty. The vegetable side dish was small and, being just green beans and some greens, uninspiring. We did wonder at this point why the manager had said earlier that the fish could not be served with just some vegetables instead of the broth...... The desserts were delicious but when the cheese menu arrived we asked the manager about one of the cheeses, he said he didn't know it as someone else had put the selection together (as if this would be of any interest to us). We waited in vain to hear him say that he would go and find out. Clearly, he had never heard of customer service. Throughout our time there we had to endure some pretty inappropriate pop music with screeching female vocals, spoiling the ambience.
Considering that this is not a cheap restaurant, the experience was disappointing and we won't be giving it a second chance, it's too expensive for that! Why would we anyway when there are plenty of venues in Cornwall giving much better service, value for money and ambience?

Room Tip: We only visited the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caravellejet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointment you experienced on your visit to The Lugger. We always strive to exceed our guests' expectations however it would appear on this occassion we have failed to achieve that. It is our wish that you would consider visiting again in the future, so we may have the opportunity of demonstrating our usual high standards of service and customer care. Thank you for taking the time to post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I was surprised to find such a good quality hotel in such a tiny village but the Lugger is just great. Lovely rooms, fantastic food and an amazing view from some aspects. Book the cottage if you can - a perfect little self-contained residence right on the side of the cliffs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoJonesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Many thanks for posting your lovely feedback. As you say, the Cottage is a wonderful place to escape from it all, we are so pleased you enjoyed the experience. Thanks again for taking the time to post and see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portloe
3.8 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trewithian
471 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
7.5 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Rosevine
The Rosevine
#2 of 2 in Trewithian
85 reviews
16.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
13.7 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lugger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lugger Hotel

Property: The Lugger Hotel
Address: Portloe TR2 5RD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > Portloe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lugger Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lugger is nestled at the foot of a valley with picturesque cove and tiny harbour. Portloe is part of the beautiful Roseland Peninsula, surrounded by cliffs and headlands which form part of the Cornish Coastal Footpath. The Lugger sits right at the water’s edge in the very heart of the village and has been recently transformed following a major renovation programme. All the public rooms have been refurbished and greatly improved to offer comfort and functionality in the truly unique setting of this historic harbour. Luxurious touches throughout have helped the hotel to gain multiple awards, The Lugger has been named ‘Best Seaside Hotel’ by The Sunday Times, has featured on the Condé Naste Travellers ‘Hot List’ and also features in the Mr and Mrs Smith and Hip Hotels guidebooks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Lugger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugger Hotel Portloe
The Lugger Hotel Portloe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing