We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable break”
Review of The Lugger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lugger Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portloe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Spent 2 nights at the Lugger. As other have said the rooms are quite small but ours (a standard room ) was comfortable with a big comfy bed. The food was excellent and imaginative. The staff were great and attentive. For breakfast try to get into the conservatory which has great views from all the tables. We will definitely go back. Also we had massages in the spa room listening to the sound of the waves. Well worth it.

Room Tip: We had room 311 which is comfortable but has a noisy radiator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boboWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your break here at The Lugger. As you say, the views are great and there’s nothing better than having a relaxing massage whilst listening to the “real” waves outside. We have fixed the noisy radiator but thank you for bringing this to our attention. Thanks for posting and see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (927)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

640 - 646 of 927 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

We went to The Lugger to have a quiet weekend away and relax. We achieved both objectives at this lovely hotel. The rooms are not big and don't get much natural day light but this is because its an old building built on a difficult site. That said, they are very nicely decorated and spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The food at the hotel was excellent, from the lovely seafood platter and the excellent Cornish breakfast to a fabulous cream tea (home made scones and clotted cream - don't go to this hotel to lose weight!). The staff were pleasant and helpful although we were a bit miffed to not receive nibbles with drinks in the bar on the second night when we had received them on the first night. If you like walking and want to 'get away' for a weekend we would recommend this hotel and suggest you try the coastal walk from the hotel to Nare point and back and then you can enjoy your cream tea without feeling too guilty. Overall, a lovely hotel in a fabulous little fishing village.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are quite small and even the superior rooms are not that big. They are beautifull...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyG186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thanks for posting your lovely comments. Sorry you didn’t receive the nibbles on your second evening, not sure what happened there, but it’s great to read how much you enjoyed your relaxing weekend overall and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was our 2nd visit to the Lugger, we stayed for 2 nights our room was in the boathouse which although it was small it was lovely to wake to the sound of the sea, We enjoyed our cream tea in the conservatory looking out to sea, We ate in the restaurant on our first night food, presentation and service were all excellent.
Enjoyed the hot chocolate and marshmallows left in our room on both nights and hot water bottles in the bed, also after a nice walk around this lovely little fishing village it was nice to find some homemade cake in our room to go with our tea in the afternoon all nice little touches.
We very muched enjoyed just chilling in the relaxed atmosphere and soaking up the view.
We very much enjoyed our stay and will return to the Lugger again

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reader21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thank you for your great comments, The Lugger really is the place to “chill and relax”. We are so pleased you enjoyed your second stay with us and hopefully we will see you again soon. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We visited in October. We have been regular customers for 11 years. We were uncertain about whether to return after reading some poor reviews on Trip Advisor. However we are delighted that we did decide to. It was as friendly, cosy and relaxing as ever. The food and service were excellent and we had a great time. Portloe is a tiny fishing hamlet without any shops, but the coastline of the Roseland Penninsula is outstanding. The Manager went out of his way to make sure everything was really excellent and we were well looked after. Take care when wet as it can be slippery. We love The Lugger and can't wait to for our next visit.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Priscilla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

It was lovely to see you again and thank you for posting your comments. We look forward to seeing you again in the New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Hotel in a small fishing bay right by the sea. We love this location. The rooms are relatively small, however, tastefully decorated and in keeping with the rest of the hotel, which is also small but a little gem in Cornwall. One highlight on our latest visit was the quality of the 'housekeeping'...e.g: on return from evenings out...little 'smugglers' hot water bottles in the bed, hot chocolate with marshmallows awaiting and as if by magic, room tidy....congratulations to whoever instigated this as it's an excellent touch. On the down side: waiting times for food!....the very pleasant waiters were getting the blame for delays which were not of their doing and getting sauce with the breakfast needs sorting...if you like sauce with your breakfast it spoils it not to have it. (Just a small moan). We will be back. P.s...The Ship pub up the road is a nice pub to visit.

Room Tip: We prefer in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelsea098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Many thanks for your lovely comments and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our special little touches. Sorry if you had to wait a little while for your food, but all is cooked freshly to order so can take a little longer. We have sorted the “sauce issue”! Thanks again for posting and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We loved our first 2 visits and were a little worried that we should have stayed with our good memories as we really didn't want the spell to be broken - we needn't have worried! We have stayed in many hotels all over the world and we can honestly say that it is the ONLY hotel we can enjoy just being in the hotel itself, let alone the beautiful surroundings. Having visited before, we have pretty well exhausted the nearby locations, however good, but we were just as happy sitting in our beautiful room or in the hotel sitting room and bar, watching the world go by from the windows and enjoying being made to feel so welcome. The staff are efficient, professional but not stuffy and starchy;they are all ready to make you smile and Russell, well, is a delightful comedy show of his own! He had been away in Scotland for a year, we gather, and had only just returned. Maybe that is why a few other reviewers had missed his sparkle!
Not cheap but worth every penny! Maybe we shouldn't be extolling its virtues so much in case we can't get a room another time!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DEDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

We are so pleased you enjoyed your third visit and we look forward to welcoming you back for the fourth! Many thanks for posting and hopefully we will see you in the New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had three nights at the Lugger, ate in the dining room on two nights and enjoyed mixed weather. We found our accommodation in the boathouse to be excellent and the view to the cove stunning - fascinating to see the two resident boats putting out to sea each morning. Our meals were first class if not a little pricey but we don't mind paying that bit extra for the quality offered. We found the staff courteous, helpful and friendly at all times. Our walk to Portholland across the cliffs was to say the least exhilarating.
What made our stay outstanding we're the little touches of detail, the hot water bottles with their amusing covers, the goodnight "story", the hot chocolate and marshmallows, the lanterns outside the entrance. Well done it made us feel special.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank luvsark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Many thanks for posting your great comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and our special little touches and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portloe
10.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,594 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 5 in St Mawes
409 reviews
3.8 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trewithian
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,399 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
903 reviews
16.4 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lugger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lugger Hotel

Address: Portloe TR2 5RD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > Portloe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portloe
Price Range: $167 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lugger Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lugger is nestled at the foot of a valley with picturesque cove and tiny harbour. Portloe is part of the beautiful Roseland Peninsula, surrounded by cliffs and headlands which form part of the Cornish Coastal Footpath. The Lugger sits right at the water’s edge in the very heart of the village and has been recently transformed following a major renovation programme. All the public rooms have been refurbished and greatly improved to offer comfort and functionality in the truly unique setting of this historic harbour. Luxurious touches throughout have helped the hotel to gain multiple awards, The Lugger has been named ‘Best Seaside Hotel’ by The Sunday Times, has featured on the Condé Naste Travellers ‘Hot List’ and also features in the Mr and Mrs Smith and Hip Hotels guidebooks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lugger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugger Hotel Portloe
The Lugger Hotel Portloe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing