We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence in Action”
Review of The Lugger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lugger Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portloe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

i recently stayed 2 nights at the Lugger with 2 friends. We were all very impressed with the quality of service and attention given to many small details which made our stay a delight. The food is superb and served by smiling staff. The eye to detail in the rooms was impressive - lovely and clean and white, comfortable beds, tea/coffee provision, good and plentiful toiletries, lots of hot water, large fluffy towels, fresh fruit and bottled water provided, and an evening delivery of hot chocolate with marshmallows. I could go on....... The location is also wonderful for all sorts of activities, or for relaxation. Do treat yourselves.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BS246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here at The Lugger. Many thanks for your lovely comments which have been passed on to all members of our team and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (939)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

663 - 669 of 939 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had a lovely 3-day break at The Lugger. The bedroom - in the attic of the main house - was very attractive and comfortable, the quiet only interrupted by fishermen bringing in their haul at breakfast time. Breakfast and dinner were both delicious and well-presented, using local produce. The views from the dining room and terrace are absolutely breathtaking. Staff charming and helpful - we couldn't fault it and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for your great feedback, it's lovely to read how much you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future. Very warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

In July I booked for a September week, but a month later, having read the reviews in Trip Adviser written in August, I was very concerned that I had made an expensive mistake. As it turned out, nothing could have been further from that worrying scenario. Management had clearly been pro-active in the meantime. Bedrooms:- scrupulously clean, linen - everything. Food:- excellent quality. Imaginative and attractively presented. No complaints at all. Service:- speedy and polite.
Some reviewers had complained of poor food portion sizes. I found them completely satisfactory given that the dishes were fairly rich. Perhaps a menu option of the "comfort food" type would be an advantage for those who like to have their plates heaped-up.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we do hope to see you at The Lugger again the next time you are visiting the area. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is actually a collection of fishermen's cottages and harbour buildings imaginatively transformed into a truly delightful boutique hotel. Being right on the tiny working fishing port adds considerably to its charm, and we were delighted to watch the fishermen landing their catch. Our room and spacious bathroom were exceptionally clean and well appointed; the public rooms are lovingly furnished and all have a really relaxing feel, and there is a comfy terrace overlooking the harbour where in the afternoon we sat in the sun and enjoyed a perfect 'cream tea'. The outstanding location is trumped by the food; imaginitive menus and professional and attentive staff made this a wonderful dining experience. Excuisite dishes using local ingredients (of course), and my Trio of Lamb was the finest lamb dish I've ever eaten. We were warmly greeted by the proprietor who showed us to our room and helped carry our bags; subsequently there were endless unexpected touches, like hot chocolate with marshmallows - and a joke (really!) - in our room when we retired, and a goodie-bag with bottled water and fruit for us to take away on departure. With coastal walks and sandy beaches nearby, and Eden and Heligan within easy striking distance, this hotel is not to be missed for a romantic weekend (there's no mobile signal) or for an opportunity to experience Cornwall.

Room Tip: At least one room has a lovely private terrace that gets the evening sun; or ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you so much for your great comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

How can a hotel so rated for luxury and food be so awful when we visit? I had two nights here in the middle of a very strenuous charity walk, it was supposed to be a reward for my roadie! never was he or I so disappointed.I had heard rave reviews about this place and booked a deluxe room, dinner ,bed and breakfast.
The room 201, we had overloked the harbour, pretty views with a terrace at side but I was shocked at how rundown it all was, gutterings outside covered in green gunk,two windows that were broken, one the handle came off in my hands, walls that were scratched and tired by being bumped with luggage.The room was essentialy very small, and the doorway out onto the terrace required a serious stooping to get through.The wardrobe was almost useless, as they had fitted the small refrigerator in it , leaving little hanging space for clothes.The bathroom was tired and dowdy with old white towells.The products were not replenished in the bathroom when used up? and the biscuits that were put with the tea and coffee makings were wrapped in a bit of muslin to look home made, but I saw the house maids trolley and they were TESCO VALUE biscuits!!!!!
Dinner on both nights was very hit and miss, with sloppy slow service. On the second night I sent back a bouillabaisse twice!! first it arrived clap cold.They took it away but left my other half eating his main course.By the time it came back he had finished his main.I then tested it again and they had obviously not recooked it fresh, and it was tepid.So i sent it back again , having lost the will to eat any more.Since when does Bouillabaisse have a chunk of potatoe in the middle and it came with no rouille or croutons?? I know not what was going on but overall, it was hopeless.The next day at breakfast was also a disaster, we arrived promptly at 0800 to be told the chef had not arrived for work, the buffet was not laid out, there were no croissants or compote, the tea and coffee took 20 mins to arrive.On the day before at breakfast i had asked for eggs benedicte, which arrived on a rock hard mini bagel, when the menu said on a muffin, as it should be. So I carefully asked the waiter to check with the chef if this morning it would be on a muffin.I was assured that it was definately served on a muffin and guess what, it arrived on a rock hard bagel again! after 40 minutes of waiting. I did complain with all the issues to the manager , who was distraught and accordingly altered our bill, but it was simply awful and I would never go back.I am a very well travelled person and I this was one of the worst experiences i have had.

Room Tip: They sell DBB and get you trapped, not worth the money at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LADYRAWDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for posting. Unfortunately we failed on all levels with this booking for which we are truly sorry. As a Team we have discussed your feedback in detail, to ensure we learn from our mistakes and ensure that our usual high standards are maintained at all times so there is no re-occurence of your experiences. Please be assured we take all feedback seriously and make the necessary changes to the services, menus and the standards we offer so that all guest expectations are met and they leave us with lasting fond memories of The Lugger and we do hope our sincere apologies are accepted

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I was looking foraward to a relaxing and restful break,What I got was a very disturbed,sleepless two nights,I realise it is a very old building,but I am sure that modern day insulation could lessen,what is an unacceptable level of noise,especially from the floorboards.I was very conscientous,when getting up during the night of not disturbing those in the room above,as we could hear absolutely everything from their room(including snoring,conversation and breaking wind)it was obvious on the second evening a young couple had now moved into this room!.For little money,guests could have the restful break the hotel advertises.A door stay on the door leading into the bar/restaurant would stop the incessant door banging when customers leave.Huge amount of noise from the kitchen,as the windows are wide open and directly below this room,the noise continued late into the night,banging and crashing.Food was excellant,although on the expensive side,perhaps traditional english fayre could be included on the menu,as served by The Ship,just up the road,it was not only good value,but excellant wholesome food.I have to say though,the manager at The Lugger,was a brilliant,welcoming,warm host who seemed to be working there day and night,but always with a smile and word for the guest However the same cannot be said for some of waiting staff,who were starchey,and without warmth and smiles.All in all,lovely hotel,away from it all,but with easy access to so many places,just needs to address noise levels.

Room Tip: Rooms not situated within the main building,would definately benefit guests towards a better nights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for your feedback and please accept our apologies for the disturbed sleep. We have looked at the issue with the floorboards which hopefully will be rectified in the near future. Thanks again for posting, we do hope you will consider The Lugger again the next time you are visiting the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Spent two nights here as part of a travelzoo deal. It was fabulous. The room was great the little touches made it, the apples and water in the room, fresh milk for a drink and even the hot chocolate at night with marsh mallows.

The hotel was quiet, we couldn't get a mobile phone signal on either of our phones, DAB radio didn't work, WiFi only worked in the main building, we were in the annex and we LOVED it.

The food was very good wirh lots of fish options, the service was impeccable, things took a while but who cares it was in keeping with the hotel, we had no where to be and enjoyed our leisurely meals.

The hotel is remote down some very narrow country lanes, but you will need a car to get to places, roughly 10 miles in each direction from St Austell and Truro.

If you want a nice relaxing break and good food this is for you, if you want fast pace and in the middle of everything, dont come.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skellys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for posting your review of The Lugger, we are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay. Thanks again a hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portloe
6.8 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 5 in St Mawes
415 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,611 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hotel Tresanton
Hotel Tresanton
#2 of 5 in St Mawes
656 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,205 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lugger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lugger Hotel

Address: Portloe TR2 5RD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > Portloe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portloe
Price Range: $162 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lugger Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lugger is nestled at the foot of a valley with picturesque cove and tiny harbour. Portloe is part of the beautiful Roseland Peninsula, surrounded by cliffs and headlands which form part of the Cornish Coastal Footpath. The Lugger sits right at the water’s edge in the very heart of the village and has been recently transformed following a major renovation programme. All the public rooms have been refurbished and greatly improved to offer comfort and functionality in the truly unique setting of this historic harbour. Luxurious touches throughout have helped the hotel to gain multiple awards, The Lugger has been named ‘Best Seaside Hotel’ by The Sunday Times, has featured on the Condé Naste Travellers ‘Hot List’ and also features in the Mr and Mrs Smith and Hip Hotels guidebooks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Lugger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugger Hotel Portloe
The Lugger Hotel Portloe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing