We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lugger Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Rosevine(Trewithian)
$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Llawnroc Hotel(Gorran Haven)
$129
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tremarne Hotel(Mevagissey)
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Idle Rocks(St Mawes)
$306
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Rising Sun(St Mawes)
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Tresanton(St Mawes)
$354
$295
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,002)
Filter reviews
1,002 results
Traveler rating
570
252
92
66
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
570
252
92
66
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot chocolatelittle touchesjourney homefishing boatsweather forecastthe main hotelcoastal pathturn down servicesmall hotelbottled watereggs benedictbiscuitscar parksmall harbourcornish fishing villageboth nightscakes
Filter
Updating list...
729 - 734 of 1,002 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

How can a hotel so rated for luxury and food be so awful when we visit? I had two nights here in the middle of a very strenuous charity walk, it was supposed to be a reward for my roadie! never was he or I so disappointed.I had heard rave reviews about this place and booked a deluxe room, dinner ,bed and breakfast.
The room 201, we had overloked the harbour, pretty views with a terrace at side but I was shocked at how rundown it all was, gutterings outside covered in green gunk,two windows that were broken, one the handle came off in my hands, walls that were scratched and tired by being bumped with luggage.The room was essentialy very small, and the doorway out onto the terrace required a serious stooping to get through.The wardrobe was almost useless, as they had fitted the small refrigerator in it , leaving little hanging space for clothes.The bathroom was tired and dowdy with old white towells.The products were not replenished in the bathroom when used up? and the biscuits that were put with the tea and coffee makings were wrapped in a bit of muslin to look home made, but I saw the house maids trolley and they were TESCO VALUE biscuits!!!!!
Dinner on both nights was very hit and miss, with sloppy slow service. On the second night I sent back a bouillabaisse twice!! first it arrived clap cold.They took it away but left my other half eating his main course.By the time it came back he had finished his main.I then tested it again and they had obviously not recooked it fresh, and it was tepid.So i sent it back again , having lost the will to eat any more.Since when does Bouillabaisse have a chunk of potatoe in the middle and it came with no rouille or croutons?? I know not what was going on but overall, it was hopeless.The next day at breakfast was also a disaster, we arrived promptly at 0800 to be told the chef had not arrived for work, the buffet was not laid out, there were no croissants or compote, the tea and coffee took 20 mins to arrive.On the day before at breakfast i had asked for eggs benedicte, which arrived on a rock hard mini bagel, when the menu said on a muffin, as it should be. So I carefully asked the waiter to check with the chef if this morning it would be on a muffin.I was assured that it was definately served on a muffin and guess what, it arrived on a rock hard bagel again! after 40 minutes of waiting. I did complain with all the issues to the manager , who was distraught and accordingly altered our bill, but it was simply awful and I would never go back.I am a very well travelled person and I this was one of the worst experiences i have had.

Room Tip: They sell DBB and get you trapped, not worth the money at all.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LADYRAWDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for posting. Unfortunately we failed on all levels with this booking for which we are truly sorry. As a Team we have discussed your feedback in detail, to ensure we learn from our mistakes and ensure that our usual high standards are maintained at all times so there is no re-occurence of your experiences. Please be assured we take all feedback seriously and make the necessary changes to the services, menus and the standards we offer so that all guest expectations are met and they leave us with lasting fond memories of The Lugger and we do hope our sincere apologies are accepted

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I was looking foraward to a relaxing and restful break,What I got was a very disturbed,sleepless two nights,I realise it is a very old building,but I am sure that modern day insulation could lessen,what is an unacceptable level of noise,especially from the floorboards.I was very conscientous,when getting up during the night of not disturbing those in the room above,as we could hear absolutely everything from their room(including snoring,conversation and breaking wind)it was obvious on the second evening a young couple had now moved into this room!.For little money,guests could have the restful break the hotel advertises.A door stay on the door leading into the bar/restaurant would stop the incessant door banging when customers leave.Huge amount of noise from the kitchen,as the windows are wide open and directly below this room,the noise continued late into the night,banging and crashing.Food was excellant,although on the expensive side,perhaps traditional english fayre could be included on the menu,as served by The Ship,just up the road,it was not only good value,but excellant wholesome food.I have to say though,the manager at The Lugger,was a brilliant,welcoming,warm host who seemed to be working there day and night,but always with a smile and word for the guest However the same cannot be said for some of waiting staff,who were starchey,and without warmth and smiles.All in all,lovely hotel,away from it all,but with easy access to so many places,just needs to address noise levels.

Room Tip: Rooms not situated within the main building,would definately benefit guests towards a better nights sleep
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for your feedback and please accept our apologies for the disturbed sleep. We have looked at the issue with the floorboards which hopefully will be rectified in the near future. Thanks again for posting, we do hope you will consider The Lugger again the next time you are visiting the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Spent two nights here as part of a travelzoo deal. It was fabulous. The room was great the little touches made it, the apples and water in the room, fresh milk for a drink and even the hot chocolate at night with marsh mallows.

The hotel was quiet, we couldn't get a mobile phone signal on either of our phones, DAB radio didn't work, WiFi only worked in the main building, we were in the annex and we LOVED it.

The food was very good wirh lots of fish options, the service was impeccable, things took a while but who cares it was in keeping with the hotel, we had no where to be and enjoyed our leisurely meals.

The hotel is remote down some very narrow country lanes, but you will need a car to get to places, roughly 10 miles in each direction from St Austell and Truro.

If you want a nice relaxing break and good food this is for you, if you want fast pace and in the middle of everything, dont come.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skellys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for posting your review of The Lugger, we are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay. Thanks again a hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

What a wonderful hotel the Lugger is. But if you are in a rush, don't come. Room was lovely, with beautiful bed linen, and fabulous shower. Lovely touches in the room, like the bowl of apples. We had a deal with Travel Zoo which had dinner on the first evening as part of the deal. The service was very slow, but the food was wonderful, beautifully presented and very good quality. But hey, if you go to Portloe, where quite frankly there isn't anything there, apart from the stunning coastal walks, then whats the rush!

Room Tip: Most of the rooms had a good aspect facing the sea.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CherryCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for your lovely comments, we hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I was expecting great things of the Lugger, especially with a mention of it being one of the best hotels in the world. The good news: the location is lovely; the rooms quite nice; the staff are pleasant enough, but one of the best hotels in the world it most definitely is not. I have stayed in more than 100 hotels in the past few years that are better than The Lugger. The bad news: the service in the restaurant/breakfast area is simply terrible. The staff are nearly entirely from the more eastern parts of Europe and their English is seemingly insufficient to understand the order. Consequently, the order is frequently wrong: coffee arrives instead of tea; a Cornish Breakfast arrives instead Benedict, or alternatively the order requested is not available, which is surprising considering the small but adequate number of options that would allegedly be available. However, worst of all is the amount of time it takes for the food to arrive: over an hour for our deserts to arrive, over an hour for the wrong breakfast to arrive, the delay and service combination are intolerable. If you want great service and great food go to The Old Coastguard in Mousehole. In summary: stay at The Lugger, just don't eat there, and be aware that if you don't eat there you will need some form of transportation to eat elsewhere due to the remoteness.

Stayed: September 2012
3  Thank dcs860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

We are very sorry to read of your disappointment and would like to offer our sincere apologies. As a Team we discuss all reviews and comments and act on them where necessary, so please be assured that re-training is carried out in areas where we have fallen short of our usual high standards of service and where a guest's expectations have not been met, which on this occassion would appear to be the case.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews