We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lugger Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Nare(Veryan)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Driftwood Hotel(Trewithian)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Rosevine(Trewithian)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Llawnroc Hotel(Gorran Haven)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tremarne Hotel(Mevagissey)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Idle Rocks(St Mawes)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (985)
Filter reviews
985 results
Traveler rating
558
248
91
66
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
558
248
91
66
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot chocolatelittle touchesjourney homefishing boatsweather forecastthe main hotelcoastal pathturn down servicesmall hotelbottled watereggs benedictbiscuitscar parksmall harbourcornish fishing villageboth nightscakes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
833 - 838 of 985 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We have just come back from a 4 night break at The Lugger hotel and it really was an excellent hotel. The food was absolutely first class each evening, and the full English breakfast was the best we have had anywhere. The situation is just perfect, and the views from the dining room out to sea are superb. We stayed in the cottage which had it's own private terrace and amazing views of the little bay. DO not listen to any silly complaints about this hotel , It is really 1st class.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srb75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

I chose this hotel as a short break last November, but unfortunately they had alot of flood damage in the bad weather and had to close it for a while, so were lucky enough to rebook for March....all I can say is, if you want seclusion, a beautiful location and fine dining, you have found the right place. The staff are fantastic, very attentive, nothing is too much trouble and do everything to make your stay perfect. . . . . from the moment you arrive at reception and the lovely receptionist Penny showed us to our room, to when we left, and were given bottled water and home made cake to take on our journey home! Don't hesitate to experience this hotel, I promise you will not be disappointed!! We will DEFINATELY be returning!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 21Poshbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

We booked in for a meal at The Lugger after reading some good reviews. How disappointed we were. The atmosphere on arrival was quite relaxed, although on a chilly evening the fire was just smouldering out smoke into the lounge. Not one flame to be seen. It seems like they are trying to be something they most definitely are not. The waiter unnecessarily putting your napkin on your knee leads you to believe it's going to be a 'fine dining' experience. IT is NOT. I had the Butternut Squash Risotto which was the worst risotto i've ever had. Only about 5 tiny pieces of squash. Way way too much garlic. Strangely served with broccoli and carrots wedged into the edges! Completely bizarre! The Panacotta was awful too. My partner had the Lamb, which was just 'ok '. £4.50 FOR A PERONI AND £6.50 FOR A VODKA TONIC. All in all very disappointed. We won't be going there again. Such a shame, under different management i'm sure it could be a little gem. Full of middle aged people who think they're somewhere special because they're paying for it.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
3  Thank BarnOwl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2011

Thank you for your comments. We are disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your dining experience here at The Lugger. It is a shame that you did not mention on the evening that the food was not to your liking, as we would have been more than happy to replace it for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

Just spent a quick break in Cornwall at The Lugger. Lovely situation right on the beach - how wonderful to listen to the sea lapping the shore from our room. Beautiful food, impeccably presented and served by the hard-working staff. A perfect, sybaritic couple of nights - wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wurzeljocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

I treated my partner to a 2 night break. We had a fantastic time. The food was outstanding and the service wa delightful. The young man who was deputy manager was very nice and the young waitress who served was breakfast lovely. The room was bright and clean and very comfortable and we had one of the "cheaper rooms". Fresh fruit and cakes was a nice touch. The Eggs Benedict for breackfast was lovely. however be careful of the bar prices. They are not published and a bit steep.
And yes we will return

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dizzy1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews