We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dropped in for dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Portloe
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dropped in for dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

wife really enjoyed her seafood cocktail and lamb mine was okay but could have den much better - the crab soup was soooo strong it left a taste fr 24 hours and really ruined the main course.
Service was great really friendly. Was busy so you need to book to get a table on the weekend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    108
    37
    26
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good food and excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed in Port Loe for a few days and this became our "local". Excellent. Try the steak and ale pie.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul1333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,112 reviews
690 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3,290 helpful votes
“Lovely pub yards from our hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

Another little nugget of joy during an excellent weekend in Portloe. We stayed at the little hotel down by the beach. We walked a good deal and just did some resting. We needed a foil to the hotel's successful but self contained formula and three lubricated hours in the pub were near perfect. Small scale friendly and well run. Laid back although once or twice I did get the impression that one or more of the pub staff seemed slightly guarded as if they thought that any non local was sizing the place up, expecting too much or likely to judge. Whether I read that wrong or not, it didn't matter a jot to me, particularly after the second pint.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HillyCirencester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Let themselves down with a bad attitude”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Started off ok. Bit lacking in atmosphere but nice enough. Ordered food, I had fish pie which had no fish in. I did ask the waiter if it was mixed in with the potato as i just had a bowl of mash really, he said it is flaked but it should be there, and asked if i wanted another one. By this time my partner had eaten so i said no thanks can you just take it off the bill. After this their manner cooled compleatly and although we hadnt made a fuss or a big complaint were made to feel like we had done something wrong. The manager who had started off serving us didnt speak to us for the rest of the eve, neither did the waiter, and then when we asked for the bill held it out from the bar for us to go and get. He did say as we were leaving "dont know what happened with the fish pie, we buy a pie mix in"!! Anyway, we decided not to go back for our other 3 nights visit and spent the rest of the time at the lovely New Inn instead.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sleepykittenpaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

We had dinner at the Ship Inn tonight: I had a delicious breaded plaice served with chunky chips, a beautifully prepared salad and a serving of tartare sauce with whole capers. My partner had baked hake served with asparagus, carrots and new potatoes. Both meals were perfectly cooked, professionally presented and served hot. The drinks were good too but the only down side is the clique of animated regulars.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank berti5mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

Portloe, Roseland Peninsula
Veryan, Roseland Peninsula
 
Portscatho, Roseland Peninsula
Portscatho, Roseland Peninsula
 
Tregony, Roseland Peninsula
Veryan, Roseland Peninsula
 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing